Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

500WVN ALERT: Election results

Expand Messages
  • waylandvoters1
    Apr 5, 2011
    • 0 Attachment
      Dear Wayland Voter,

      Wayland voters returned two selectmen and two School Committee members to office Tuesday, but turned out the School Committee chairman.

      A debt-exclusion measure to borrow $880,000 for school technology and new recreation fields was approved. Town Meeting, beginning at 7:30 p.m. on March 7, will make the final judgment.

      Ellen Grieco, a lawyer with children in elementary school, defeated Louis Jurist by 80 votes for a one-year term. Barb Fetcher and Beth Butler were elected to three-year Committee terms.

      Selectmen Steve Correia and Joe Nolan won re-election.

      Grieco was endorsed by School Committee member Shawn Kinney, who successfully pushed for an independent study of accounting procedures that became a campaign issue. Alexia Obar, also linked with Kinney, was defeated, coming within 118 votes of Fletcher.

      One voter consideration was experience in the job. Fletcher has six years on the Committee. Butler was appointed last year after a Committee resignation.

      In the only other contested race Russell Kopp defeated Steven Glovsky for a three-year term as a commissioner of trust funds.

      Voter turnout was 2434 -- 27% of registered voters.

      Unofficial results:

      QUESTION 1: Yes 1159 (54%), No 996

      BOARD OF SELECTMEN 3 years

      Steve Correia 1313

      Joe Nolan 1364

      Don Bustin 925

      SCHOOL COMMITTEE 3 years

      Barbara Fletcher 1274

      Beth Butler 1411

      Alexia Obar 1156


      Louis Jurist 1123

      Elllen Grieco 1203
    • Show all 3 messages in this topic