Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Fwd = [MeteorShowers] The Quadrantids

Expand Messages
  • Frits Westra
    Forwarded by: fwestra@hetnet.nl Originally from: Starparty@tnx.com Original Subject: [MeteorShowers] The Quadrantids Original Date: Tue, 02 Jan 2001
    Message 1 of 3 , Jan 2, 2001
    • 0 Attachment
      Forwarded by: fwestra@...
      Originally from: Starparty@...
      Original Subject: [MeteorShowers] The Quadrantids
      Original Date: Tue, 02 Jan 2001 05:53:36 -0000

      ========================== Forwarded message begins ======================

      January has one major meteor shower, the Quadrantids. The Quadrantids
      peak on Jan 3 at around 12:00 UT (06:00 AM EST, 05:00 AM CST, 04:00
      MST and 03:00 PST) so those in the central and western parts of North
      America are favored, but some Quadrantids may be seen nightly through
      January 6th.

      This shower is one of the best with peak hourly rates in excess of
      100 possible and the moon will offer no interference this year, so
      observing should be quite rewarding. This is the best Quadrantids
      observing opportunity for North American observers until 2009 so try
      to catch this one if you can.

      ========================== Forwarded message ends ========================
    • Frits Westra
      Forwarded by: fwestra@hetnet.nl (Frits Westra) Originally from: starwanderer.geo Original Subject: [MeteorShowers] The Quadrantids
      Message 2 of 3 , Jan 2, 2002
      • 0 Attachment
        Forwarded by: fwestra@... (Frits Westra)
        Originally from: "starwanderer.geo" <Starparty@...>
        Original Subject: [MeteorShowers] The Quadrantids
        Original Date: Wed, 02 Jan 2002 08:07:19 -0000

        ========================== Forwarded message begins ======================


        The Quadrantids peak on Jan 3 at around 18:00 UT (01:00 PM EST, NOON
        CST, 11:00 AM MST and 10:00 AM PST) so those in North America and
        Europe are not favored for the peak this year, but some Quadrantids
        may be seen through January 6th.

        Observers in eastern Asia are favored as the peak will occur during
        the early morning hours there. This shower is one of the best with
        peak hourly rates in excess of 100 possible, but the 86% illuminated
        moon will offer considerable interference this year, so observing
        will not be at its best for anyone.


        Community email addresses:
        Post message: MeteorShowers@yahoogroups.com
        Subscribe: MeteorShowers-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
        Unsubscribe: MeteorShowers-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
        List owner: MeteorShowers-owner@yahoogroups.com


        Shortcut URL to this page:
        http://groups.yahoo.com/group/MeteorShowers

        ========================== Forwarded message ends ========================
      • Frits Westra
        Forwarded by: fwestra@hetnet.nl (Frits Westra) Originally from: starwanderer.geo
        Message 3 of 3 , Jan 3, 2003
        • 0 Attachment
          Forwarded by: fwestra@... (Frits Westra)
          Originally from: "starwanderer.geo <t6m1lb68li3vmyf001@...>" <t6m1lb68li3vmyf001@...>
          Original Subject: [MeteorShowers] The Quadrantids
          Original Date: Fri, 03 Jan 2003 13:01:56 -0000

          ========================== Forwarded message begins ======================

          The Quadrantids peak on Jan 3/4 at around 00:00 UT on the 4th (07:00
          PM EST, 06:00 PM CST, 05:00 PM MST and 04:00 PM PST on the 3rd) so
          those of us in North America are not quite as well favored for the
          peak this year as we might be, but we're certainly better placed than
          we were last year. Europe and Western Asia are more favored as the
          peak will occur during the early morning hours there. This shower is
          one of the best with peak hourly rates in excess of 100 possible and
          the moon will offer no interference this year, so observing will be
          at its best.

          You'll want to view upward toward the darkest, least obstructed
          portion of your sky. With most meteor showers, the view is best
          between midnight and when the sky starts to brighten at dawn and the
          Quadrantids shower is no exception. You should view between midnight
          and dawn on the morning of the 4th. Get something comfortable to sit
          or lie upon in an area away from skyglow of urban areas if possible.
          Don't forget to dress appropriately and have a blanket handy if
          you're in a cold weather area.


          Best of luck in observing the Quadrantids and I'd like to take this
          opportunity to wish you a safe, happy, and prosperous 2003.

          John


          Community email addresses:
          Subscribe: MeteorShowers-subscribe@yahoogroups.com
          Unsubscribe: MeteorShowers-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
          List owner: MeteorShowers-owner@yahoogroups.com


          Shortcut URL to the group page:
          http://groups.yahoo.com/group/MeteorShowers

          Shortcut URL to the Meteor Showers in 2002 page:
          http://www.geocities.com/~starwanderer/meteor.htm

          ========================== Forwarded message ends ========================
        Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.