Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Torchwood This Week - June 27, 2009

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin Elliott
    Torchwood This Week June 27, 2009 - Volume 3, Number 26 The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions. by Benjamin F. Elliott
    Message 1 of 1 , Jun 27, 2009
    • 0 Attachment
      Torchwood This Week
      June 27, 2009 - Volume 3, Number 26
      The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions.
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/torchwood
      http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho

      Torchwood: Children Of Earth - it is coming!
      UK Premiere - Monday 6 July 9PM BST on BBC One and BBC HD
      Australia premiere - Tuesday 7 July 8:30PM Australian Eastern on UKTV Australia
      USA Premiere - Monday 20 July 9PM EDT on BBC America
      Canada Premiere - Monday 20 July 10PM EDT on SPACE

      Torchwood Series 3 (Children Of Earth) has its world premiere Monday to Friday 6 July through 10 July at 9PM BST on BBC One and BBC HD. Great to have a date at last. UK audiences who miss the 9PM showing can catch late night repeats on BBC Three or BBC HD - time varies a few minutes each night, but around the Midnight hour. If you miss on TV, then you have iPlayer for a few days or the DVDs and Blu-Rays late in the month. No evidence of TV repeats after 10 July.

      While the concept of a worldwide premiere fell apart, UKTV in Australia will be airing the Torchwood episodes just hours after the premieres in the UK. Tuesday through Saturday 7 through 11 July at 8:30PM Australian Eastern Time, with repeats at 1:30AM that night and 11:30AM the next morning. UKTV then repeats the episodes over the following 5 weeks if you miss the premiere. BBC HD Australia was previously reported to be simulcasting the Torchwood episodes with UKTV - I cannot find evidence of those broadcasts yet. Crossing fingers - we will see what BBC HD Australia does. They are currently repeating Series 1 multiple times per week.

      BBC America in the USA and SPACE in Canada will air Children Of Earth on the same 5 days - Monday 20 July to Friday 24 July, two weeks after the UK and Australia airings. There are still holes in listings, but here is the current status.

      SPACE goes first cause this is easier:
      First showing - 10PM Eastern all 5 days (75 minutes including commercials)
      Second showing - 2:15AM Eastern all 5 days (75 minutes including commercials)

      BBC America:
      Inside The Hub special - Monday 20 July at 8PM Eastern
      Full length versions of episodes - weeknights at 9PM and Midnight Eastern (75 minutes including commercials)
      Edited versions of episodes - weeknights at 8PM and 11PM Eastern (60 minutes including commercials the next weekday)
      Marathon repeat - Sunday 26 July at 1PM Eastern (not known which version of episodes will air)

      Before this series airs, there are 3 new Torchwood radio plays on BBC Radio 4. 1, 2, and 3 July at 2:15PM BST each day. They can be heard around the world and will stay online for a week after broadcast.

      Doctor Who schedule information is in This Week In Doctor Who http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho .

      Corrections and updates are welcome at torchwood-owner@yahoogroups.com , TWIDW on AIM, http://www.twitter.com/bfelliott , and thebfe on Yahoo Messenger.

      Torchwood Website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/torchwood

      UK:

      BBC Radio 4 http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4
      can be heard live online worldwide with shows available for another 7 days through the listen again service
      Wednesday 2:15PM BST/3:15PM CET "Asylum" (premiere)
      Thursday 2:15PM BST/3:15PM CET "Golden Age" (premiere)
      Friday 2:15PM BST/3:15PM CET "The Dead Line" (premiere)
      3 Brand new Torchwood Plays in the Afternoon Play slot starring the regular cast and set before the Children Of Earth episodes. All episodes 45 minutes long.

      BBC One http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone http://www.radiotimes.com
      Series Three (Children Of Earth)
      6 July 9PM BST 3-01 "Day One" pt 1 of 5 (60 minutes)
      7 July 9PM BST 3-02 "Day Two" pt 2 of 5 (60 minutes)
      8 July 9PM BST 3-03 "Day Three" pt 3 of 5 (60 minutes)
      9 July 9PM BST 3-04 "Day Four" pt 4 of 5 (60 minutes)
      10 July 9PM BST 3-05 "Day Five" pt 5 of 5 (60 minutes)

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbchd http://www.radiotimes.com
      Series Three (Children Of Earth). First showings are a simulcast of BBC One.
      6 July 9PM and 12:05AM BST 3-01 "Day One" pt 1 of 5
      7 July 9PM and Midnight BST 3-02 "Day Two" pt 2 of 5
      8 July 9PM and Midnight BST 3-03 "Day Three" pt 3 of 5
      9 July 9PM and Midnight BST 3-04 "Day Four" pt 4 of 5
      10 July 9PM and 12:05AM BST 3-05 "Day Five" pt 5 of 5

      BBC Three http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree http://www.radiotimes.com
      Series Three (Children Of Earth) is repeating in late night on this station in case you miss the BBC One showings and don't have HD.
      6 July 11:45PM BST 3-01 "Day One" pt 1 of 5
      7 July 11:45PM BST 3-02 "Day Two" pt 2 of 5
      Late 8 July 12:15AM BST 3-03 "Day Three" pt 3 of 5
      9 July 11:45PM BST 3-04 "Day Four" pt 4 of 5
      Late 10 July 12:15AM BST 3-05 "Day Five" pt 5 of 5

      Watch http://www.uktv.co.uk http://www.justwatch.co.uk
      One hour later on Watch +1.
      Saturday 9:10PM BST 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      4 July 11:20PM BST 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      Late 18 July 12:15AM BST 1-06 "Countrycide"
      25 July 10:50PM BST 1 episode
      27 July 7PM BST 1 episode
      28 July 7PM BST 1 episode
      29 July 7PM BST 1 episode
      30 July 7PM BST 1 episode

      AUSTRALIA:

      UKTV Australia http://www.uktv.com.au
      All times 2 hours later on UKTV +2. Times listed are Australian Eastern.
      Series 3 has the subtitle "Children Of Earth". Episodes premiere just hours after the UK premieres.
      6 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 7 July 11:30AM 2-13 "Exit Wounds"
      7 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 8 July 11:30AM, 14 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 15 July 10:30AM 3-01 "Day One" pt 1 of 5 (Australian premiere)
      8 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 9 July 11:30AM, 21 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 22 July 10:30AM 3-02 "Day Two" pt 2 of 5
      9 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 10 July 11:30AM, 28 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 29 July 10:30AM 3-03 "Day Three" pt 3 of 5
      10 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 11 July 11:30AM 3-04 "Day Four" pt 4 of 5
      11 July 8:30PM and 1:30AM, 12 July 11:30AM 3-05 "Day Five" pt 5 of 5

      BBC HD Australia http://australia.bbchd.com http://www.foxtel.tv/tvguide.aspx
      Repeat run/Expected to simulcast Series 3 with UKTV Australia. Times listed are Australian Eastern. At press time, Children Of Earth has not appeared on the schedule, raising doubt on the simulcast with UKTV
      -Sunday 5:50PM and 7:30PM, Monday 1:35PM and 3:20PM, Tuesday 8:40AM and 10:20AM, Wednesday 5AM and 6:40AM, Thursday 7AM, 5 July 5:10AM 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      -Sunday 11:30PM, Wednesday 10:15AM, Saturday 4 July 9:30PM, 5 July 6:05AM, 6 July 5:10PM, 7 July 12:35PM, 8 July 8:40AM 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      -5 July 7:30PM and 3:15AM, 7 July 2:25PM, 8 July 10:35AM, 9 July 7:45AM 1-05 "Small Worlds"

      ABC2 Australia http://www.abc.net.au/tv
      Series 1 and 2 - now on the ABC.
      Friday 8:30PM 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      10 July 8:30PM 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      17 July 8:30PM 1-05 "Small Worlds"

      USA:

      BBC America http://www.bbcamerica.com
      DirecTV 264 Dish 135,879 16:9 Letterbox format.
      Series 3 "Children Of Earth" airs the week of 20 to 24 July as part of the launch of BBC America HD. BBC America is the exclusive home for Torchwood's 3rd Series in the USA - HD Net US will not be able to show those episodes.
      In a late schedule change, BBC America has removed the Saturday 6PM EDT repeat of Torchwood, leaving just the 7PM repeat. The 7PM repeat is pre-empted this week only as shows get moved around for the new Doctor Who episode.
      -4 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT, 11 July 6PM EDT/3PM PDT, 19 July 6PM EDT/3PM PDT 2-12 "Fragments"
      -11 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT, 19 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 2-13 "Exit Wounds"
      -18 July 7AM EDT/4AM PDT 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      -18 July 8AM EDT/5AM PDT 1-02 "Day One"
      -18 July 9AM EDT/6AM PDT 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      -18 July 10AM EDT/7AM PDT 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      -18 July 11AM EDT/8AM PDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      -18 July Noon EDT/9AM PDT 1-06 "Countrycide"
      -18 July 1PM EDT/10AM PDT 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      -18 July 2PM EDT/11AM PDT 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"
      -18 July 3PM EDT/Noon PDT 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      -18 July 4PM EDT/1PM PDT 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      -18 July 5PM EDT/2PM PDT 1-11 "Countrycide"
      -18 July 6PM EDT/3PM PDT 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      -18 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-13 "End Of Days"
      -19 July 7AM EDT/4AM PDT 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang"
      -19 July 8AM EDT/5AM PDT 2-02 "Sleeper"
      -19 July 9AM EDT/6AM PDT 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      -19 July 10AM EDT/7AM PDT 2-04 "Meat"
      -19 July 11AM EDT/8AM PDT 2-05 "Adam"
      -19 July Noon EDT/9AM PDT 2-06 "Reset"
      -19 July 1PM EDT/10AM PDT 2-07 "Dead Man Walking"
      -19 July 2PM EDT/11AM PDT 2-08 "A Day In The Death"
      -19 July 3PM EDT/Noon PDT 2-09 "Something Borrowed"
      -19 July 4PM EDT/1PM PDT 2-10 "From Out Of The Rain"
      -19 July 5PM EDT/2PM PDT 2-11 "Adrift"
      schedule needs to be updated
      -20 July 8PM, 11PM, and 1AM EDT/5PM, 8PM, and 10PM PDT "Inside The Hub" (behind the scenes special)
      -20 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT 3-01 "Day One" pt 1 of 5 (75 minute version, USA premiere)
      -21 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-01 "Day One" pt 1 of 5 (60 minute abridged version)
      -21 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT 3-02 "Day Two" pt 2 of 5 (75 minute version)
      -22 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-02 "Day Two" pt 2 of 5 (60 minute abridged version)
      -22 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT 3-03 "Cay Three" pt 3 of 5 (75 minute version)
      -23 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-03 "Cay Three" pt 3 of 5 (60 minute abridged version)
      -23 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT 3-04 "Day Four" pt 4 of 5 (75 minute version)
      -24 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-04 "Day Four" pt 4 of 5 (60 minute abridged version)
      -24 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT 3-05 "Day Five" pt 5 of 5 (75 minute version)
      -26 July 1PM EDT/10AM PDT Series 3 encore - all 5 episodes

      CANADA:

      SPACE http://www.spacecast.com http://forums.spacecast.com
      16:9 letterbox. Repeat run. Series 3 (Children Of Earth) premieres in July.
      The Series 1 episodes are available to view online (in Canada) for one week after the broadcast courtesy the Spacecast website.
      Tuesday 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-02 "Day One"
      7 July 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      14 July 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      20 July 10PM and 2:15AM EDT/7PM and 11:15PM PDT 3-01 "Day One" pt 1 of 5 (75 minutes) (new episodes)
      21 July 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      21 July 10PM and 2:15AM EDT/7PM and 11:15PM PDT 3-02 "Day Two" pt 2 of 5 (75 minutes)
      22 July 10PM and 2:15AM EDT/7PM and 11:15PM PDT 3-03 "Day Three" pt 3 of 5 (75 minutes)
      23 July 10PM and 2:15AM EDT/7PM and 11:15PM PDT 3-04 "Day Four" pt 4 of 5 (75 minutes)
      24 July 10PM and 2:15AM EDT/7PM and 11:15PM PDT 3-05 "Day Five" pt 5 of 5 (75 minutes)

      HD Net Canada http://www.hd.net
      Complete, uncut episodes in High Definition (not the same schedule as HD Net US).
      Monday 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      Tuesday 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-02 "Day One"
      Wednesday 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      Thursday 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      Friday 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      6 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-06 "Countrycide"
      7 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      8 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"
      9 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      10 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-10 "Out Of Time"

      Ztele http://www.ztele.com/index.jsp
      HD on Ztele HD, Dubbed in French. Now in repeats.
      Tuesday 10PM, Thursday 8PM EDT 2-06 "Reset" (Reset)
      7 July 10PM, 9 July 8PM EDT 2-07 "Le Gant De La Resurrection" (Dead Man Walking)
      14 July 10PM, 16 July 8PM EDT 2-08 "La Vie Apres La Mort" (A Day In The Death)
      21 July 10PM, 23 July 8PM EDT 2-09 "La Mere Porteuse" (Something Borrowed)
      28 July 10PM, 30 July 8PM EDT 2-10 "Le Dernier Souffle" (From Out Of The Rain)
      4 August 10PM, 6 August 8PM EDT 2-11 "Envers Et Contre Tours" (Adrift)
      11 August 10PM, 13 August 8PM EDT 2-12 "Adrift" (Adrift)
      18 August 10PM, 20 August 8PM EDT 2-13 "La Faille" (Exit Wounds)

      MILITARY:

      BFBS http://bfbs-tv.com
      BFBS normally airs popular UK shows very soon after UK broadcast for the military services abroad. It does not look like they will simulcast Torchwood with the UK airings at this time. No episodes scheduled through 10 July.

      ASIA (Regional Channel):

      BBC Entertainment http://asia.bbcentertainment.com
      All times Korean - adjust for local time zone. Subtitles available in Chinese and Korean.
      Sunday 5:20PM 2-11 "Adrift"
      Tuesday 9:10PM and 12:40AM and 4:50AM, Wednesday 9:55AM and 1:40PM, 5 July 5:20PM 2-12 "Fragments"
      7 July 9:10PM and 12:40AM and 4:50AM, 8 July 9:55AM and 1:40PM, 12 July 5:25PM 2-13 "Exit Wounds"

      GERMANY:

      RTL2 http://www.rtl2.de
      Series 1 and 2, 65 minute time slot
      Wednesday 10:05PM CET 2-04 "Meat"
      8 July 10:05PM and 3:30AM CET 2-05 "Adam"

      POLAND:

      BBC Entertainment http://poland.bbcentertainment.com
      dubbed in Polish. First run episodes:
      Tuesday 10PM and 1:15AM CET 2-05 "Adam"
      7 July 10PM and 1:15AM CET 2-06 "Reset"
      14 July 10PM and 1:15AM CET 2-07 "Dead Man Walking"
      21 July 10PM and 1:15AM CET 2-08 "A Day In The Death" (recheck the times)
      28 July 10PM and 1:15AM CET 2-09 "Something Borrowed" (recheck the times)

      NETHERLANDS:

      SciFi http://www.scifi-tv.nl
      Series 2 firstrun:
      Sunday 6:40PM CET 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      Wednesday 8:20PM, Friday 10PM, 5 July 6:40PM CET 2-04 "Meat"
      8 July 8:20PM, 10 July 10PM, 12 July 6:40PM CET 2-05 "Adam"
      15 July 8:20PM, 17 July 10PM, 19 July 6:40PM CET 2-06 "Reset"
      22 July 8:20PM, 24 July 10PM, 26 July 6:40PM CET 2-07 "Dead Man Walking"
      29 July 8:20PM, 31 July 10PM, 2 August 6:40PM CET 2-08 "A Day In The Death"

      SCANDINAVIAN COUNTRIES (Northern Europe):

      BBC Entertainment http://scandinavia.bbcentertainment.com
      Monday 10:05PM and 2:05AM CET 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      6 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      13 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-06 "Countrycide"
      20 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      27 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"

      RUSSIA:

      SciFi Russia http://www.scifichannel.ru
      All times Moscow (website newly remodeled, station is adding advertising)
      Late Saturday 12:25AM, Sunday 9PM 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      Late Saturday 1:10AM, Sunday 9:55PM 1-02 "Day One"

      SWEDEN:

      TV4 Science Fiction http://tvplaneten.se
      Series 1 and 2 repeats now on the dedicated SciFi Channel
      Sunday 10:50PM 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      Wednesday 9PM, 5 July 11:20PM 1-05 "Small Worlds"

      MEXICO/LATIN AMERICA/SOUTH AMERICA:

      BBC Entertainment http://latinamerica.bbcentertainment.com
      Saturday 5PM, Early Sunday 5AM, Sunday Noon 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      Tuesday 11PM and 2AM, Early Wednesday 5AM, Wednesday 3PM, 4 July 5PM, Early 5 July 5AM, 5 July Noon 1-11 "Combat"
      7 July 11PM and 2AM, Early 8 July 5AM, 8 July 3PM, 11 July 5PM, Early 12 July 5AM, 12 July Noon 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      14 July 11PM and 2AM, Early 15 July 5AM, 15 July 3PM, 18 July 5PM, Early 19 July 5AM, 19 July Noon 1-13 "End Of Days"
      21 July 11PM and 2AM, Early 22 July 5AM, 22 July 3PM, 25 July 5PM, Early 26 July 5AM, 26 July Noon 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      28 July 11PM and 2AM, Early 29 July 5AM, 29 July 3PM, 1 August 5PM, Early 2 August 5AM, 2 August Noon 1-02 "Day One"

      ITALY:

      Jimmy http://www.jimmy.tv
      Repeat run, Series 1 and 2. Two episode block airing multiple times each week.
      -Saturday 6:15PM and 1:30AM, Sunday 6:15AM and 1:30PM CET 1-11 "Combattimento" (Combat)
      -Saturday 7:05PM and 2:20AM, Sunday 7:05AM and 2PM CET 1-12 "Il Capitano Jack Harkness" (Captain Jack Harkness)
      -Sunday 10:40PM and 3:40AM, Late Monday 2:55AM, Late Tuesday 2AM, Saturday 4 July 11:10AM and 6:15PM and 2:30AM, 5 July 6:10AM and 1PM CET 1-13 "La Fine Dei Giorni" (End Of Days)
      -Sunday 11:30PM and 4:30AM, Late Monday 3:45AM, Late Tuesday 2:50AM, Saturday 4 July 12PM and 7:05PM and 3:20AM, 5 July 7AM and 1:50PM CET 2-01 "Il Ritorno" (Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang)
      hopefully July airings will be up to date by next week

      FINLAND

      TV 2 http://www.yle.fi/tv2
      Repeat Run.
      Sunday 11:50PM EET 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      5 July 11PM EET 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      12 July 11:06PM EET 1-06 "Countrycide"
      19 July 11:35PM EET 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      26 July 11:05PM EET 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"

      Stations That Will/Have Aired Torchwood:

      UKRAINE - ICTV
      TURKEY - TRT
      Israel - Yes Stars 2 http://www.yes.co.il - Series 1 completed.
      MEXICO - Canal 22 http://www.canal22.org.mx/main.html
      Episodes air as 2 parters. Series 1 completed?
      FRANCE - Jimmy http://www.jimmy.fr - Series 1 completed.
      NRJ 12 http://www.nrj12.fr - Series 1 and 2 repeats completed, episodes dubbed in French, expect slight cuts on bloodshed
      Sci-Fi France http://www.scifitv.fr - Series 1 and 2 repeats completed.
      USA - BBC America On Demand - available on better digital cable systems
      Full length episodes (no cuts for time). Content edits made for BBC America TV broadcasts (language, violence, nudity) will be present in this version. - No episodes on schedule.
      CROATIA - HRT1/HRT2 http://www.hrt.hr - current run finished.
      SWEDEN - TV4 Plus http://www.tv4.se - current run finished
      GREECE: - Skai TV http://www.skai.gr - current run finished.
      HONG KONG - ATV World http://www.hkatv.com/v3/world/world.html -Series 1 repeats completed. Next airdate unknown.
      SPAIN - Cuatro http://www.cuatro.com - Repeat run completed.
      MEXICO/LATIN AMERICA/SOUTH AMERICA - People + Arts http://www.tudiscovery.com - Series 1 repeats concluded.
      ROMANIA: - TVR3 http://www.tvr.ro Series 1 completed.
      PORTUGAL - SIC Radical http://sicradical.pt Series 1 completed.
      NEW ZEALAND - TV2 http://www.tvnz.co.nz http://nzdwfc.tetrap.com - Series 1 and 2 completed.
      INDIA - BBC Entertainment http://india.bbcentertainment.com - Series 1 completed.
      SOUTH AFRICA - BBC Entertainment South Africa http://southafrica.bbcentertainment.com http://www.dstv.com
      Series 1 completed (Has Purchased Series 2 and 3):

      And other countries who I haven't seen identified yet.

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2009.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.