Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Torchwood This Week - June 19/20, 2009

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin Elliott
    Torchwood This Week June 19/20, 2009 - Volume 3, Number 25 The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions. by Benjamin F. Elliott
    Message 1 of 1 , Jun 19, 2009
    View Source
    • 0 Attachment
      Torchwood This Week
      June 19/20, 2009 - Volume 3, Number 25
      The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions.
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/torchwood
      http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho

      Well, we're a day early, so apologies if there are further developments before the regular publication time.

      We have a premiere week for Torchwood Series 3 - Children Of Earth. The episodes will air the week of 4 July to 10 July. They will air over 5 consecutive days, so for scheduling purposes the expectation is that the episodes will air either 5 July to 9 July or 6 July to 10 July. No official broadcast time yet, though 9PM BST is the assumption. BBC HD would simulcast programming like this.

      Before this series airs, there are 3 new Torchwood radio plays on BBC Radio 4. 1, 2, and 3 July at 2:15PM BST each day. They can be heard around the world and will stay online for a week after broadcast.

      We do not have an Australian or Canadian airdate yet. SPACE (Canada) had schedules up through the 19th of July, with no sign of Torchwood Series 3. SPACE does start providing episodes online (for people in Canada) starting this Tuesday with Everything Changes.

      The UK start date is approximately 2 weeks before BBC America's start date of 20 July, dashing hopes of a simultaneous broadcast. BBC America is doing more and more advertising for Children Of Earth. All 26 episodes of Torchwood Series 1 and 2 will air on 18 and 19 July. The Children Of Earth 5 parter will repeat on Sunday 26 July as a marathon. We do not know yet if BBC America will air the full episodes in extended slots or edit them to the standard broadcast time. Due to BBC America's broadcasting standards, nudity, some sex, and some (but not all) profanities will be cut even in a full length broadcast. The uncut DVDs and Blu-Rays of this series hit US store shelves on Tuesday 28 July, 1 day after the UK DVD and Blu-Ray releases. At the current time we do not know which companies will offer BBC America HD for their premiere week (including Torchwood).

      Doctor Who schedule information is in This Week In Doctor Who http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho .

      Corrections and updates are welcome at torchwood-owner@yahoogroups.com , TWIDW on AIM, http://www.twitter.com/bfelliott , and thebfe on Yahoo Messenger.

      Torchwood Website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/torchwood

      UK:

      BBC Radio 4 http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4
      can be heard live online worldwide with shows available for another 7 days through the listen again service
      1 July 2:15PM BST/3:15PM CET "Asylum" (premiere)
      2 July 2:15PM BST/3:15PM CET "Golden Age" (premiere)
      3 July 2:15PM BST/3:15PM CET "The Dead Line" (premiere)
      3 Brand new Torchwood Plays in the Afternoon Play slot starring the regular cast and set before the Children Of Earth episodes. All episodes 45 minutes long.

      BBC One http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone http://www.radiotimes.com
      World premiere broadcaster of Series 3 (Children Of Earth)! 5 episodes in a 5 night strip.
      At press time, BBC One was scheduled to air Torchwood during the week of 4 to 10 July. 5 nights in a row, presumably at 9PM BST. It remained to be seen if the episodes would air from Sunday 5 July to Thursday 9 July or Monday 6 July to Friday 10 July.

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbchd http://www.radiotimes.com
      Expected to simulcast the new Torchwood episodes with BBC One. Unknown if they will repeat the episodes later.

      BBC Three http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree http://www.radiotimes.com
      BBC Three is the likely home for repeats of the new 5 episodes. As the final schedule is not firmed up yet, we do not know if BBC Three will be involved.

      MILITARY:

      BFBS http://bfbs-tv.com
      While it is too far out to see BFBS' schedule for the week of 4 to 10 July at press time, they usually air mainline BBC One shows the day of or the day after first broadcast for the benefit of military outside the UK. Torchwood would likely air on BFBS One, BFBS Two, or both, along with BFBS Navy and BFBS One Day Later. We should have a much clearer view next week.

      ASIA (Regional Channel):

      BBC Entertainment http://asia.bbcentertainment.com
      All times Korean - adjust for local time zone. Subtitles available in Chinese and Korean.
      Sunday 5:20PM 2-10 "From Out Of The Rain"
      Tuesday 9:10PM and 12:40AM and 4:50AM, Wednesday 9:55AM and 1:40PM, 28 June 5:20PM 2-11 "Adrift"
      30 June 9:10PM and 12:40AM and 4:50AM 2-12 "Fragments"

      GERMANY:

      RTL2 http://www.rtl2.de
      Series 1 and 2, 65 minute time slot
      Wednesday 10:05PM and 3:55AM CET 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      1 July 10:05PM and 3:55AM CET 2-04 "Meat"

      POLAND:

      BBC Entertainment http://poland.bbcentertainment.com
      dubbed in Polish. First run episodes:
      Tuesday 10PM and 1:15AM CET 2-04 "Meat"
      30 June 10PM and 1:15AM CET 2-05 "Adam"

      NETHERLANDS:

      SciFi http://www.scifi-tv.nl
      Series 2 firstrun:
      Sunday 6:40PM CET 2-02 "Sleeper"
      Wednesday 8:20PM, Friday 10PM, 28 June 6:40PM CET 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      1 July 8:20PM, 3 July 10PM, 5 July 6:40PM CET 2-04 "Meat"
      8 July 8:20PM, 10 July 10PM, 12 July 6:40PM CET 2-05 "Adam"
      15 July 8:20PM, 17 July 10PM, 19 July 6:40PM CET 2-06 "Reset"
      22 July 8:20PM, 24 July 10PM, 26 July 6:40PM CET 2-07 "Dead Man Walking"
      29 July 8:20PM, 31 July 10PM, 2 August 6:40PM CET 2-08 "A Day In The Death"

      SCANDINAVIAN COUNTRIES (Northern Europe):

      BBC Entertainment http://scandinavia.bbcentertainment.com
      Monday 10PM and 2:20AM CET 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      29 June 10:05PM and 2:05AM CET 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      6 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      13 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-06 "Countrycide"
      20 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      27 July 10PM and 2:35AM CET 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"

      AUSTRALIA:

      UKTV Australia http://www.uktv.com.au
      Will have Australian premiere of Series 3 (Children Of Earth) in July. All times 2 hours later on UKTV +2. Times listed are Australian Eastern.
      Next Torchwood airdate unknown.

      BBC HD Australia http://australia.bbchd.com http://www.foxtel.tv/tvguide.aspx
      Repeat run/Expected to simulcast Series 3 with UKTV Australia. Times listed are Australian Eastern.
      -Sunday 5:50PM, Monday 2PM, Tuesday 8:30AM, Wednesday 5AM 1-02 "Day One"
      -Sunday 7:30PM, Monday 3:50PM, Wednesday 10:15AM, Late Wednesday 3:20AM, Saturday 27 June 9:30PM and 1:30AM, 28 June 5:50PM and 11:30PM, 29 June 1:30PM 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      -28 June 7:30PM, 29 June 3:30PM 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      More repeats have appeared on the schedule for 29 June onwards, but there is not enough time to fill them in due to early publication.
      July - Series 3 of Torchwood

      ABC2 Australia http://www.abc.net.au/tv
      Series 1 and 2 - now on the ABC.
      Friday 8:30PM 1-02 "Day One"
      3 July 8:30PM 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      10 July 8:30PM 1-04 "Cyberwoman"

      RUSSIA:

      SciFi Russia http://www.scifichannel.ru
      All times Moscow (website newly remodeled, station is adding advertising)
      Late 27 June 12:25AM, 28 June 9PM 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      Late 27 June 1:10AM, 28 June 9:55PM 1-02 "Day One"

      UK:

      Watch http://www.uktv.co.uk http://www.justwatch.co.uk
      One hour later on Watch +1.
      Saturday 8PM BST 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      Saturday 9PM, Late Saturday 1AM BST 1-11 "Combat"
      Saturday 10PM BST 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      Saturday 11PM BST 1-13 "End Of Days"
      Late Saturday Midnight BST 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      27 June 9:10PM BST 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      4 July 11:20PM BST 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      Late 18 July 12:15AM BST 1 episode
      25 July 10:50PM BST 1 episode
      27 July 7PM BST 1 episode
      28 July 7PM BST 1 episode
      29 July 7PM BST 1 episode
      30 July 7PM BST 1 episode

      CANADA:

      Ztele http://www.ztele.com/index.jsp
      HD on Ztele HD, Dubbed in French. Now in repeats.
      Tuesday 10PM, Thursday 8PM EDT 2-05 "Adam" (Adam)
      30 June 10PM, 2 July 8PM EDT 2-06 "Reset" (Reset)
      7 July 10PM, 9 July 8PM EDT 2-07 "Le Gant De La Resurrection" (Dead Man Walking)
      14 July 10PM, 16 July 8PM EDT 2-08 "La Vie Apres La Mort" (A Day In The Death)
      21 July 10PM, 23 July 8PM EDT 2-09 "La Mere Porteuse" (Something Borrowed)
      28 July 10PM, 30 July 8PM EDT 2-10 "Le Dernier Souffle" (From Out Of The Rain)
      4 August 10PM, 6 August 8PM EDT 2-11 "Envers Et Contre Tours" (Adrift)
      11 August 10PM, 13 August 8PM EDT 2-12 "Adrift" (Adrift)
      18 August 10PM, 20 August 8PM EDT 2-13 "La Faille" (Exit Wounds)

      SPACE http://www.spacecast.com http://forums.spacecast.com
      16:9 letterbox. Repeat run. Series 3 (Children Of Earth) premieres in July.
      The Series 1 episodes will be available to view online (in Canada) for one week after the broadcast courtesy the Spacecast website.
      Tuesday 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-01 "Everything Changes" (Series 1 premieres on SPACE - CBC's rights have expired)
      30 June 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-02 "Day One"
      7 July 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      14 July 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 1-04 "Cyberwoman"

      SWEDEN:

      TV4 Science Fiction http://tvplaneten.se
      Series 1 and 2 repeats now on the dedicated SciFi Channel
      Sunday 11PM CET 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      Wednesday 9PM, 28 June 10:50PM 1-04 "Cyberwoman"

      MEXICO/LATIN AMERICA/SOUTH AMERICA:

      BBC Entertainment http://latinamerica.bbcentertainment.com
      Saturday 5PM, Early Sunday 5AM, Sunday Noon 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      Tuesday 11PM and 2AM, Early Wednesday 5AM, Wednesday 3PM, 27 June 5PM, Early 28 June 5AM, 28 June Noon 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      30 June 11PM and 2AM, Early 1 July 5AM, 1 July 3PM, 4 July 5PM, Early 5 July 5AM, 5 July Noon 1-11 "Combat"

      USA:

      BBC America http://www.bbcamerica.com
      DirecTV 264 Dish 135,879 16:9 Letterbox format.
      Series 3 "Children Of Earth" airs the week of 20 to 24 July as part of the launch of BBC America HD. BBC America is the exclusive home for Torchwood's 3rd Series in the USA - HD Net US will not be able to show those episodes.
      -Saturday 6PM EDT/3PM PDT, 19 July Noon EDT/9AM PDT 2-06 "Reset"
      -Saturday 7PM EDT/4PM PDT, 27 June 6PM EDT/3PM PDT, 4 July 6PM EDT/3PM PDT, 19 July 2PM EDT/11AM PDT 2-08 "A Day In The Death"
      -4 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT, 11 July 6PM EDT/3PM PDT, 19 July 6PM EDT/3PM PDT 2-12 "Fragments"
      -11 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT, 19 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 2-13 "Exit Wounds"
      -18 July 7AM EDT/4AM PDT 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      -18 July 8AM EDT/5AM PDT 1-02 "Day One"
      -18 July 9AM EDT/6AM PDT 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      -18 July 10AM EDT/7AM PDT 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      -18 July 11AM EDT/8AM PDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      -18 July Noon EDT/9AM PDT 1-06 "Countrycide"
      -18 July 1PM EDT/10AM PDT 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      -18 July 2PM EDT/11AM PDT 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"
      -18 July 3PM EDT/Noon PDT 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      -18 July 4PM EDT/1PM PDT 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      -18 July 5PM EDT/2PM PDT 1-11 "Countrycide"
      -18 July 6PM EDT/3PM PDT 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      -18 July 7PM EDT/4PM PDT 1-13 "End Of Days"
      -19 July 7AM EDT/4AM PDT 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang"
      -19 July 8AM EDT/5AM PDT 2-02 "Sleeper"
      -19 July 9AM EDT/6AM PDT 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      -19 July 10AM EDT/7AM PDT 2-04 "Meat"
      -19 July 11AM EDT/8AM PDT 2-05 "Adam"
      -19 July 1PM EDT/10AM PDT 2-07 "Dead Man Walking"
      -19 July 3PM EDT/Noon PDT 2-09 "Something Borrowed"
      -19 July 4PM EDT/1PM PDT 2-10 "From Out Of The Rain"
      -19 July 5PM EDT/2PM PDT 2-11 "Adrift"
      -20 July 8PM, 11PM, and 1AM EDT/5PM, 8PM, and 10PM PDT "Inside The Hub" (behind the scenes special)
      -20 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT, 21 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-01 "Children Of Earth, pt 1"
      -21 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT, 22 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-02 "Children Of Earth, pt 2"
      -22 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT, 23 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-03 "Children Of Earth, pt 3"
      -23 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT, 24 July 8PM and 11PM and 1AM EDT/5PM and 8PM and 10PM PDT 3-04 "Children Of Earth, pt 4"
      -24 July 9PM and Midnight and 2AM EDT/6PM and 9PM and 11PM PDT 3-05 "Children Of Earth, pt 5"
      -26 July 1PM EDT/10AM PDT Series 3 encore - all 5 episodes

      ITALY:

      Jimmy http://www.jimmy.tv
      Repeat run, Series 1 and 2. Two episode block airing multiple times each week.
      -Saturday 10:15AM and 6:15PM and 1:30AM, Sunday 6:05AM and 1:15PM CET 1-09 "L'occhio alieno" (Random Shoes)
      -Saturday 11:10AM and 7:05PM and 2:25AM, Sunday 7:05AM and 2:10AM 1-10 "Fuori del tempo" (Out Of Time)
      -Sunday 10:40PM and 3:45AM, Late Monday 3:05AM, Late Tuesday 2:10AM, Late Wednesday 3AM, Late Thursday 2:05AM, Late Friday 3AM, Saturday 27 June 10:10AM and 6:15PM and 1:30AM, 28 June 6:15AM and 1:30PM CET 1-11 "Combattimento" (Combat)
      -Sunday 11:30PM and 4:40AM, Late Monday 3:55AM, Late Tuesday 3AM, Late Wednesday 3:50AM, Late Thursday 2:55AM, Late Friday 3:50AM, Saturday 27 June 11AM and 7:05PM and 2:20AM, 28 June 7:05AM and 2PM CET 1-12 "Il Capitano Jack Harkness" (Captain Jack Harkness)
      -28 June 10:40PM and 3:40AM, Late 29 June 2:55AM, Late 30 June 2AM, 4 July 11:10AM and 6:15PM and 2:30AM, 5 July 6:10AM and 1PM CET 1-13 "La Fine Dei Giorni" (End Of Days)
      -28 June 11:30PM and 4:30AM, Late 29 June 3:45AM, Late 30 June 2:50AM, 4 July 12PM and 7:05PM and 3:20AM, 5 July 7AM and 1:50PM CET 2-01 "Il Ritorno" (Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang)
      hopefully July airings will be up to date by next week

      FINLAND

      TV 2 http://www.yle.fi/tv2
      Repeat Run.
      Late Sunday 12:45AM EET 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      28 June 11:50PM EET 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      5 July 11PM EET 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      12 July 11:06PM EET 1-06 "Countrycide"
      19 July 11:35PM EET 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"

      Stations That Will/Have Aired Torchwood:

      UKRAINE - ICTV
      TURKEY - TRT
      Israel - Yes Stars 2 http://www.yes.co.il - Series 1 completed.
      MEXICO - Canal 22 http://www.canal22.org.mx/main.html
      Episodes air as 2 parters. Series 1 completed?
      FRANCE - Jimmy http://www.jimmy.fr - Series 1 completed.
      NRJ 12 http://www.nrj12.fr - Series 1 and 2 repeats completed, episodes dubbed in French, expect slight cuts on bloodshed
      Sci-Fi France http://www.scifitv.fr - Series 1 and 2 repeats completed.
      USA - BBC America On Demand - available on better digital cable systems
      Full length episodes (no cuts for time). Content edits made for BBC America TV broadcasts (language, violence, nudity) will be present in this version. - No episodes on schedule.
      CROATIA - HRT1/HRT2 http://www.hrt.hr - current run finished.
      SWEDEN - TV4 Plus http://www.tv4.se - current run finished
      GREECE: - Skai TV http://www.skai.gr - current run finished.
      HONG KONG - ATV World http://www.hkatv.com/v3/world/world.html -Series 1 repeats completed. Next airdate unknown.
      SPAIN - Cuatro http://www.cuatro.com - Repeat run completed.
      MEXICO/LATIN AMERICA/SOUTH AMERICA - People + Arts http://www.tudiscovery.com - Series 1 repeats concluded.
      ROMANIA: - TVR3 http://www.tvr.ro Series 1 completed.
      PORTUGAL - SIC Radical http://sicradical.pt Series 1 completed.
      NEW ZEALAND - TV2 http://www.tvnz.co.nz http://nzdwfc.tetrap.com - Series 1 and 2 completed.
      INDIA - BBC Entertainment http://india.bbcentertainment.com - Series 1 completed.
      SOUTH AFRICA - BBC Entertainment South Africa http://southafrica.bbcentertainment.com http://www.dstv.com
      Series 1 completed (Has Purchased Series 2 and 3):
      CANADA - HD Net Canada http://www.hd.net Complete, uncut episodes in High Definition (not the same schedule as HD Net US).
      Torchwood apparently off the schedule now.

      And other countries who I haven't seen identified yet.

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2009.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.