Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Torchwood This Week - January 26, 2008

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin Elliott
    TORCHWOOD THIS WEEK January 26, 2008 - Vol 2, No 4 The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions. by Benjamin F. Elliott http://groups.yahoo.com/group/torchwood
    Message 1 of 1 , Jan 26, 2008
    • 0 Attachment
      TORCHWOOD THIS WEEK
      January 26, 2008 - Vol 2, No 4
      The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions.
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/torchwood
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho

      Doctor Who schedule information is in This Week In Doctor Who
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho .

      The premiere of Sleeper, Episode 2 of Torchwood Series 2, averaged
      3.4 million overnight viewers on BBC Two on 23 January. Top BBC Two
      show for the night again.

      While it is nice to see Torchwood DeClassified in a fixed time slot
      this time around (immediately after the Pre-Watershed showing of
      Torchwood on BBC Two - Thursdays approximately 7:48PM), it does seem
      like this schedule was not well thought through. DeClassified seems
      to be discussing the Post-Watershed version of Torchwood, including
      scenes and references that were specifically CUT OUT of the Pre-
      Watershed version. Whether the bits are appropriate or not Pre-
      Watershed, you largely defeat the purpose of having an edited version
      when some of the very stuff you cut is airing on a documentary tie-in
      show just minutes later on the exact same channel while most of that
      younger audience will still be watching. If you want this to work,
      you either need to re-edit Torchwood DeClassified to tie in with the
      7PM version of Torchwood (doubt the DeClassified audience wants that)
      or run DeClassified where it is not tied in with the Pre-Watershed
      version (maybe, say, 9:50PM after the full length version?).

      Scotland and Northern Ireland versions of BBC Two are not airing the
      Pre-Watershed repeats of Torchwood and Torchwood DeClassified. Both
      BBC Two variants are airing regional programming until 8PM on
      Thursdays. No evidence so far of a delayed showing on either region
      at a later date - will let you know if it happens. Viewers in these
      regions who can see a BBC Two from a different region either over the
      air, via Sky Digital, or via certain Digital Cable companies will
      still be able to see the Pre-Watershed Torchwood and DeClassified.
      Just remember to tune to a version of BBC Two that is airing the
      programming. All regions and variants are getting the full episodes
      on BBC Two and BBC HD and BBC Three on Wednesday nights.

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/hd has the first 2 Series 2 episodes of
      Torchwood scheduled to repeat on Saturday 26 January at 7:55PM and
      8:45PM respectively. Since these times are before 9PM (UK Watershed)
      and BBC HD did not simulcast the Pre-Watershed showings on BBC Two on
      the 23rd and 24th, my guess is that these are Pre-Watershed versions,
      just in HD. A repeat of episode 3 airs on Saturday 2 February at
      8:10PM GMT.

      USA - Torchwood premieres tonight (26 January) if you have BBC
      America http://www.bbcamerica.com . The schedule:
      Saturdays 8PM and 11PM EST/5PM and 8PM PST - Last week's Torchwood
      episode - starts 2 February
      Saturdays 9PM and Midnight EST/6PM and 9PM PST - This Week's
      Torchwood episode - starts 26 January
      Sundays 1PM EST/10AM PST - This Week's Torchwood episode - starts 3
      February (2PM EST/11AM PST on 27 January)
      with additional sporadic airings

      BBC America is expected to edit the episodes to 46 minutes. Certain
      language, violence, time, and nudity edits may occur - the same
      editing they did in Series 1, which leaves in some content that other
      networks would cut. Basically - everything good and everything bad
      about their presentation of Series 1. BBC America On Demand aired
      full length episodes (content was still edited) during Series 1 - we
      do not have a start date for this for Series 2 yet.

      USA - HD Net http://www.hd.net also has rights to air Series 2 in the
      USA starting Monday 11 February. HD Net will air the episodes in
      1080i High Definition (great if you have a high def or at least
      widescreen TV). More importantly, HD Net is airing the episodes full
      length, no content edits of any kind, and commercial free. Only a
      small transparent HD Net bug in the lower right of the screen, no
      other on screen graffiti. HD Net aired Series 1, and still has
      repeats of Countrycide (28 January) and Greeks Bearing Gifts (4
      February) before Series 2 begins. If you have the channel, you should
      tune in to see how Torchwood is handled. It starts roughly on time,
      airs full length including the BBC's next time trailer and legible
      closing credits. After a commercial for the next show, you see a 90
      second HD Net produced trailer for the next Torchwood episode.
      Episodes air Mondays at 7PM, 10PM, and 1AM EST (4PM, 7PM, and 10PM
      PST). New episodes might rerun on Wednesdays - this is not yet
      confirmed. They reran on Wednesdays during Series 1.

      To get HD Net, you need to have satellite or digital cable and
      subscribe to a high definition programming package. Different
      companies place HD Net in different HD programming tiers. Most
      Comcast systems do not carry HD Net at all :( . As long as your
      provider's box can translate the signals to your TV's standard, you
      do not have to have a high definition TV, but you will have to pay
      for the high definition level programming as if you did.

      Hong Kong - ATV World airs End Of Days on Thursday at 10PM,
      completing Series 1 of Torchwood. Hope you have enjoyed the ride and
      that ATV World gets Series 2 soon.

      I am trying to find websites and station information for some of the
      more elusive Torchwood sales. If you spot it airing or getting ready
      to air in your country, and I've missed it, let me know so it gets
      into the next edition and more fans get informed.

      Corrections and updates are welcome at torchwood-
      owner@yahoogroups.com , TWIDW on AIM, and thebfe on Yahoo Messenger.

      Torchwood Website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/torchwood
      Australian Website - http://www.ten.com.au/ten/tv_torchwood.html

      UK Broadcasts:

      BBC Two http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbctwo http://www.radiotimes.com
      First broadcaster of Series Two. Pre-watershed episodes are noted
      with [pre-watershed]. Always assume episodes are post-watershed
      unless otherwise noted.
      Wednesday 9PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      Thursday 7PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man" [Pre-Watershed Edition] (NOT
      AIRING on BBC Two Scotland or BBC Two Northern Ireland)
      Thursday approx7:50PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.03 (NOT AIRING on
      BBC Two Scotland or BBC Two Northern Ireland)
      6 February 9PM GMT 2-04 "Meat"
      7 February 7PM GMT 2-04 "Meat" [Pre-Watershed Edition] (NOT AIRING on
      BBC Two Scotland or BBC Two Northern Ireland)
      7 February approx7:50PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.04
      13 February 9PM GMT 2-05 "Adam"
      20 February 2-06 "Reset"
      27 February 2-07 "Death Comes To Torchwood"
      5 March 2-08 "Day In The Death Of ..."
      12 March 2-09 "Wedding"
      19 March 2-10 "From Out Of The Rain"
      26 March 2-11 "Adrift"
      2 April 2-12 "Prequel"
      9 April 2-13 "Spaceship Under Bay"

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/hd http://www.radiotimes.com
      Saturday 7:55PM GMT 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" [Pre-Watershed
      Edition?]
      Saturday 8:45PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper" [Pre-Watershed Edition?]
      Wednesday 9PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      2 February 8:10PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man" [Pre-Watershed Edition?]
      6 February 9PM GMT 2-04 "Meat"

      BBC Three http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree http://www.radiotimes.com
      BBC Three repeats Series Two after episodes air on BBC Two. Full
      versions unless otherwise noted.
      Wednesday 11PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      6 February 11PM GMT 2-04 "Meat"

      MILITARY:

      BFBS http://www.ssvc.com/bfbs/tv/bfbs1listing/Look_Ahead_Frameset.htm
      BFBS 1:
      Friday 9:10PM CET 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      BFBS 2:
      Thursday 9:25PM CET Torchwood DeClassified 2.02
      BFBS Navy:
      Late Thursday 3:25AM CET Torchwood DeClassified 2.02
      Friday 9:10PM CET 2-03 "To The Last Man"

      USA:

      BBC America http://www.bbcamerica.com
      DirecTV 264 Dish 135
      16:9 Letterbox format. Series 2 First Run.
      *Saturday 9PM and Midnight and 3AM EST/6 and 9PM and Midnight PST,
      Sunday 2PM EST/11AM PST, 2 February 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST, 24
      February 3PM EST/Noon PST 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" (2nd Series
      Premiere!)
      2 February 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, 3 February 1PM
      EST/10AM PST, 9 February 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST, 24 February
      4PM EST/1PM PST 2-02 "Sleeper"
      9 February 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, 10 February 1PM
      EST/10AM PST, 16 February 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST, 24 February
      5PM EST/2PM PST 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      16 February 9PM and Midnight and 3AM EST/6 and 9PM and Midnight PST,
      17 February 1PM EST/10AM PST, 23 February 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM
      PST 2-04 "Meat"
      23 February 9PM and Midnight and 3AM EST/6 and 9PM and Midnight PST,
      24 February 1PM and 2AM EST/10AM and 11PM PST 2-05 "Adam"
      1 March 9PM EST/6PM PST 2-06 "Reset"
      8 March 9PM EST/6PM PST 2-07 "Death Comes To Torchwood"
      15 March 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 2-08 "Day In The Death Of ..."
      22 March 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 2-09 "Wedding"
      29 March 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 2-10 "From Out Of The Rain"
      5 April 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 2-11 "Adrift"
      12 April 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 2-12 "Prequel"
      19 April 9PM EDT/6PM PDT 2-13 "Spaceship Under Bay"

      BBC America On Demand
      Nothing scheduled yet.

      HD Net http://www.hd.net
      DirecTV 79
      Dish 9422 (5510 Alaska and Hawaii only)
      High Definition 16:9 format. Series 1 Repeat Run.
      Monday 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EST/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PST 1-
      06 "Countrycide"
      4 February 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EST/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PST 1-
      07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      11 February 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EST/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PST 2-
      01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" (2nd Series US HD Premiere)

      HONG KONG:

      ATV World http://www.hkatv.com/world/05
      Thursday 10PM 1-13 "End Of Days"

      FINLAND:

      TV 2 http://www.yle.fi/tv2
      Monday - pre-empted
      4 February 10:50PM EET 1-09 "Random Shoes" (new time)

      CANADA:

      Ztele http://www.ztele.com/index.jsp
      HD on Ztele HD, Dubbed in French.
      Monday 8PM, Tuesday 1PM, Wednesday 5PM, Friday 10PM EST 1-04 "Femme
      Cybernetique"
      4 February 8PM, 5 February 1PM, 6 February 5PM, 8 February 10PM EST 1-
      05 "Petits Mondes"
      11 February 8PM, 12 February 1PM, 13 February 5PM, 15 February 10PM
      EST 1-06 "La Recolte"
      18 February 8PM, 19 February 1PM, 20 February 6AM and 5PM, 22
      February 10PM, 23 February 5 and 6AM? EST 1-07 "Cadeaux Grecs"
      25 February 8PM, 26 February 1PM, 27 February 6AM and 5PM, 29
      February 10PM, 1 March 5 and 6AM? EST 1-08 "Ils Tuent Encore Suzie"
      3 March 8PM, 4 March 1PM, 5 March 6AM and 5PM, 7 March 10PM, 8 March
      5 and 6AM? EST 1-09 "Chaussures En Vrac"

      NETHERLANDS:

      SciFi http://www.sci-fi.tv/nl
      Saturday 10:30PM and 2:10AM, Sunday 8:30PM CET 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      Tuesday 9:30PM and 1:10AM, 2 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 3 February
      8:30PM CET 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      5 February 9:30PM and 1:30AM, 9 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 10
      February 8:30PM CET 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      12 February 9:30PM and 1:10AM, 16 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 17
      February 8:30PM CET 1-06 "Countrycide"
      19 February 9:30PM and 1:30AM, 23 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 24
      February 8:30PM CET 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      26 February 9:30PM and 1:10AM CET 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"

      AUSTRALIA:

      UKTV Australia http://www.uktv.com.au
      Saturday 10:30PM AEDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      Tuesday 8:30PM, 2 February 10:30PM? AEDT 1-06 "Countrycide"
      5 February 8:30PM? AEDT 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"?

      Network Ten HD http://www.ten.com.au http://www.sfsa.org.au
      Series 1 repeats on the new HD channel.
      Shelved for now. Premiere date TBA.

      ITALY:

      Jimmy http://www.jimmy140.it
      http://www.jimmy140.it/contenuti/serie/torchwood/1
      Dubbed into Italian. Series 1 repeats.
      Saturday 8:35AM and 5:50PM and (late) 2:45AM, Sunday 6:35AM, Late
      Tuesday 1:50AM CET 1-01 "Tutto Cambia"
      Wednesday 9PM and 2:15AM, Saturday 2 February 10AM and 6:25PM and
      (late) 2:55AM, 3 February 6:50AM and 1:55PM and (late) 12:50AM, Late
      4 February 3:40AM CET 1-02 "Primo Giorno"
      6 February 9PM and 2:10AM, Late 7 February 1AM, Late 8 February
      2:10AM, 9 February 10:15AM and 6:25PM and (late) 2:45AM, 10 February
      7:30AM and 2:05PM and (late) 1:45AM, Late 11 February 12:50AM, Late
      12 February 3:35AM CET 1-03 "La Macchina dei fantasmi"
      13 February 9PM and 2:10AM, Late 14 February 12:55AM, Late 15
      February 2:05AM, 16 February 10:20AM and 6:20PM and (late) 1:35AM, 17
      February 6:20AM and 1:35PM and (late) 2:25AM, Late 18 February
      12:50AM, Late 19 February 4AM CET 1-04 "La Donna Cybernetica"
      20 February 9PM and 3:10AM, Late 21 February 12:55M, Late 22 February
      2:55AM, 23 February 11:10AM and 6:25PM and (late) 2:15AM, 24 February
      7:10AM and 2:10PM and (late 3:35AM, Late 25 February 12:50AM, Late 26
      February 2:25AM CET 1-05 "Le Fate Cattive"
      27 February 9PM, Late 28 February 12:55AM, Late 29 February 1:50AM
      CET 1-06 "Il Villaggio Degli Orrori"

      Stations That Will/Have Aired Torchwood:

      NEW ZEALAND - TV2 http://www.tvnz.co.nz - Coming in 2008
      UKRAINE - ICTV
      TURKEY - TRT
      SOUTH KOREA - KNN
      Israel - Yes Stars 2 http://www.yes.co.il - Series 1 completed.
      Sweden - TV4 Plus http://www.tv4.se - Series 1 completed.
      SPAIN - Cuatro http://www.cuatro.com - Series 1 completed.
      AUSTRALIA - Network Ten http://www.ten.com.au http://www.sfsa.org.au -
      Series 1 completed.
      There are exclusive interviews and clips on the Ten website as well
      as Torchwood De-Classified - as of this writing, you have to be in
      Australia to view the clips.
      Southern Cross Ten
      http://www.mytalk.com.au/Stations/TV/SCTEN/Pages/Default.aspx
      (Regional service that carries portions of Network Ten's lineup) -
      Series 1 completed.
      Imparja http://www.imparja.com
      (Regional service airing Torchwood) - Series 1 completed.
      MEXICO - Canal 22 http://www.canal22.org.mx/main.html
      Episodes air as 2 parters. Series 1 completed?
      LATIN AMERICA - People + Arts http://www.tupeople.com - Series 1
      completed.
      FRANCE - NRJ 12 http://www.nrj12.fr - Series 1 repeats completed,
      episodes dubbed in French, expect slight cuts on bloodshed
      CANADA - CBC TV http://www.cbc.ca/television - HD on CBC HD, 16:9
      Letterbox analog, co-producer on Torchwood. Series 1 completed.

      And other countries who I haven't seen identified yet

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2008.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.