Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Torchwood This Week - January 19, 2008

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin Elliott
    TORCHWOOD THIS WEEK January 19, 2008 - Vol 2, No 3 The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions. by Benjamin F. Elliott http://groups.yahoo.com/group/torchwood
    Message 1 of 1 , Jan 19, 2008
    • 0 Attachment
      TORCHWOOD THIS WEEK
      January 19, 2008 - Vol 2, No 3
      The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions.
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/torchwood
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho

      Doctor Who schedule information is in This Week In Doctor Who
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho .

      Congratulations to Torchwood. Ratings estimates for 16 January had
      Torchwood's Series 2 premiere getting 3.7 million viewers in the
      overnight charts on BBC Two, BBC Two's best performance for that day.

      BBC Radio Wales http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/radiowales aired the first
      episode of Torchwood All Access today, an occasional behind the
      scenes interview show about Torchwood akin to Radio Wales' "Doctor
      Who Back In Time". Like that show, it was hosted by Julian Carey. The
      column has gone out after the episode was due to air, but you can
      hear it through the listen again feature on the Radio Wales website
      for the next 7 days.

      For most UK residents, here is how the Torchwood schedule will work
      out in coming days:
      Wednesday 23 January 7PM GMT BBC Two - Torchwood Series 2 Episode 1
      Pre-Watershed (special day)
      Wednesday 23 January 7:50PM GMT BBC Two - Torchwood DeClassified
      Series 2 Episode 1 (special day)
      Wednesday 23 January 9PM GMT BBC Two/BBC HD - Torchwood Series 2
      Episode 2 (regular day and time)
      Wednesday 23 January 11:25PM GMT BBC Three - Torchwood Series 2
      Episode 2 (start time is not fixed, will bounce around in 11PM hour
      week to week)
      Thursday 24 January 7PM GMT BBC Two - Torchwood Series 2 Episode 2
      Pre-Watershed (regular day and time)
      Thursday 24 January 7:50PM GMT BBC Two - Torchwood DeClassified
      Series 2 Episode 2 (regular day and time)
      Saturday 26 January 7:55PM GMT BBC HD - Torchwood Series 2 Episodes 1
      and 2 (see below)

      Scotland and Northern Ireland versions of BBC Two will NOT air the
      Pre-Watershed repeat of Torchwood and Torchwood DeClassified with the
      network beginning with episode 2 (Sleeper). Both BBC Two variants are
      airing regional programming until 8PM on Thursdays. Viewers in these
      regions who can see a BBC Two from a different region or who have Sky
      Digital (look in the upper regions of the 900s for various BBC Twos
      from the UK in your case) will still be able to see the Pre-Watershed
      Torchwood and DeClassified. It is not known at this time how long
      Scotland and Northern Ireland will be waiting for these programmes.
      All regions and variants are getting the full episodes on BBC Two and
      BBC HD and BBC Three on Wednesday nights. Episode 1 of Torchwood Pre-
      Watershed will air in Scotland and Northern Ireland on 23 January due
      to it being a Wednesday and no regional opt out scheduled.

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/hd has the first 2 Series 2 episodes of
      Torchwood scheduled to repeat on Saturday 26 January at 7:55PM and
      8:45PM respectively. Since these times are before 9PM (UK Watershed)
      and BBC HD is not simulcasting the Pre-Watershed showings on BBC Two
      on the 23rd and 24th, my guess is that these are Pre-Watershed
      versions, just in HD.

      Viewers in the USA have 1 more week to wait for Series 2. January 26
      on BBC America (with time and content edits). February 11 on HD Net
      (commercial free, uncut, even if you watch the BBC America version -
      watch this one too if you have HD Net).

      I am trying to find websites and station information for some of the
      more elusive Torchwood sales. If you spot it airing or getting ready
      to air in your country, and I've missed it, let me know so it gets
      into the next edition and more fans get informed.

      Corrections and updates are welcome at torchwood-
      owner@yahoogroups.com , TWIDW on AIM, and thebfe on Yahoo Messenger.

      Torchwood Website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/torchwood
      Australian Website - http://www.ten.com.au/ten/tv_torchwood.html

      UK Broadcasts:

      BBC Radio Wales http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/radiowales
      Saturday 1:33PM GMT Torchwood All Access 1 (already aired, available
      on website through Listen Again for 1 week)
      Torchwood equivalent of BBC Radio Wales' irregular series "Doctor Who
      Back In Time". Like that one, this is hosted by Julian Carey.

      BBC Two http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbctwo http://www.radiotimes.com
      First broadcaster of Series Two. Pre-watershed episodes are noted
      with [pre-watershed]. Always assume episodes are post-watershed
      unless otherwise noted.
      Wednesday 7PM GMT 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" [Pre-Watershed Edition]
      Wednesday 7:50PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.01 "Jack's Back"
      Wednesday 9PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper"
      Thursday 7PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper" [Pre-Watershed Edition] (regular day
      and time, NOT AIRING on BBC Two Scotland or BBC Two Northern Ireland)
      Thursday 7:50PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.02
      30 January 9PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man"
      31 January 7PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man" [Pre-Watershed Edition]
      31 January 7:50PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.03
      6 February 9PM GMT 2-04
      7 February 9:50?PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.04

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/hd http://www.radiotimes.com
      Wednesday 9PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper"
      26 January 7:55PM GMT 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" [Pre-Watershed
      Edition]
      26 January 8:45PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper" [Pre-Watershed Edition]
      30 January 9PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man"

      BBC Three http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree http://www.radiotimes.com
      BBC Three repeats Series Two after episodes air on BBC Two. Full
      versions unless otherwise noted.
      Wednesday 11:25PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper"
      30 January 11 or 11:15PM GMT 2-03 "To The Last Man"

      MILITARY:

      BFBS http://www.ssvc.com/bfbs/tv/bfbs1listing/Look_Ahead_Frameset.htm
      BFBS 1:
      Friday 9:10PM CET 2-02 "Sleeper"
      BFBS Navy:
      Friday 9:10PM CET 2-02 "Sleeper"

      HONG KONG:

      ATV World http://www.hkatv.com/world/05
      Thursday 10PM 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"

      FINLAND:

      TV 2 http://www.yle.fi/tv2
      Monday 10:05PM EET 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"
      28 January - pre-empted

      CANADA:

      Ztele http://www.ztele.com/index.jsp
      HD on Ztele HD, Dubbed in French.
      Monday 8PM, Tuesday 1PM, Wednesday 5PM, Friday 10PM EST 1-03 "Machine
      a Fantomes"
      28 January 8PM, 29 January 1PM, 30 January 5PM, 1 February 10PM EST 1-
      04 "Femme Cybernetique"
      4 February 8PM, 5 February 1PM, 6 February 5PM, 8 February 10PM EST 1-
      05 "Petits Mondes"
      11 February 8PM, 12 February 1PM, 13 February 5PM, 15 February 10PM
      EST 1-06 "La Recolte"
      18 February 8PM, 19 February 1PM, 20 February 6AM and 5PM, 22
      February 10PM, 23 February 5 and 6AM? EST 1-07 "Cadeaux Grecs"
      25 February 8PM, 26 February 1PM, 27 February 6AM and 5PM, 29
      February 10PM, 1 March 5 and 6AM? EST 1-08 "Ils Tuent Encore Suzie"
      3 March 8PM, 4 March 1PM, 5 March 6AM and 5PM, 7 March 10PM, 8 March
      5 and 6AM? EST 1-09 "Chaussures En Vrac"

      NETHERLANDS:

      SciFi http://www.sci-fi.tv/nl
      Saturday 10:10PM and 1:40AM, Sunday 8:30PM CET 1-02 "Day One"
      Tuesday 9:30PM and 1:30AM, 26 January 10:30PM and 2:10AM, 27 January
      8:30PM CET 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      29 January 9:30PM and 1:10AM, 2 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 3
      February 8:30PM CET 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      5 February 9:30PM and 1:30AM, 9 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 10
      February 8:30PM CET 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      12 February 9:30PM and 1:10AM, 16 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 17
      February 8:30PM CET 1-06 "Countrycide"
      19 February 9:30PM and 1:30AM, 23 February 10:10PM and 1:50AM, 24
      February 8:30PM CET 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      26 February 9:30PM and 1:10AM CET 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"

      USA:

      BBC America http://www.bbcamerica.com
      DirecTV 264 Dish 135
      16:9 Letterbox format. Series 1 Repeat Run.
      Saturday 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, Sunday 7PM and 2AM EST/4
      and 11PM PST 1-13 "End Of Days"
      Sunday 1PM EST/10AM PST 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      Sunday 2PM EST/11AM PST 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"
      Sunday 3PM EST/Noon PST 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      Sunday 4PM EST/1PM PST 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      Sunday 5PM EST/2PM PST 1-11 "Combat"
      Sunday 6PM EST/3PM PST 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      26 January 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, 27 January 2PM
      EST/11AM PST, 2 February 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST 2-01 "Kiss
      Kiss, Bang Bang" (2nd Series Premiere!)
      2 February 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, 3 February 1PM
      EST/10AM PST, 9 February 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST 2-02 "Sleeper"
      9 February 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, 10 February 1PM
      EST/10AM PST 2-03 "To The Last Man"

      BBC America On Demand
      Nothing scheduled yet.

      HD Net http://www.hd.net
      DirecTV 79
      Dish 9422 (5510 Alaska and Hawaii only)
      High Definition 16:9 format. Series 1 Repeat Run.
      Monday 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EST/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PST 1-05 "Small
      Worlds"
      28 January 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EST/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PST ?
      11 February 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EST/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PST 2-
      01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" (2nd Series US HD Premiere)

      AUSTRALIA:

      UKTV Australia http://www.uktv.com.au
      Saturday 10:30PM AEDT 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      Tuesday 8:30PM, 26 January 10:30PM AEDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      29 January 8:30PM AEDT 1-06 "Countrycide"

      Network Ten HD http://www.ten.com.au http://www.sfsa.org.au
      Series 1 repeats on the new HD channel.
      Shelved for now. Premiere date TBA.

      ITALY:

      Jimmy http://www.jimmy140.it
      http://www.jimmy140.it/contenuti/serie/torchwood/1
      Dubbed into Italian. Series 1 repeats.
      Wednesday 9PM and 2:05AM, Late Thursday 1:10AM, Saturday 26 January
      8:35AM and 5:50PM and (late) 2:45AM, 27 January 6:35AM, Late 29
      January 1:50AM CET 1-01 "Tutto Cambia"
      30 January 9PM and 2:15AM, 2 February 10AM and 6:25PM and (late)
      2:55AM, 3 February 6:50AM and 1:55PM and (late) 12:50AM, Late 4
      February 3:40AM CET 1-02 "Primo Giorno"
      6 February 9PM and 2:10AM, Late 7 February 1AM, Late 8 February
      2:10AM, 9 February 10:15AM and 6:25PM and (late) 2:45AM, 10 February
      7:30AM and 2:05PM and (late) 1:45AM, Late 11 February 12:50AM, Late
      12 February 3:35AM CET 1-03 "La Macchina dei fantasmi"
      13 February 9PM and 2:10AM, Late 14 February 12:55AM, Late 15
      February 2:05AM, 16 February 10:20AM and 6:20PM and (late) 1:35AM, 17
      February 6:20AM and 1:35PM and (late) 2:25AM, Late 18 February
      12:50AM, Late 19 February 4AM CET 1-04 "La Donna Cybernetica"
      20 February 9PM and 3:10AM, Late 21 February 12:55M, Late 22 February
      2:55AM, 23 February 11:10AM and 6:25PM and (late) 2:15AM, 24 February
      7:10AM and 2:10PM and (late 3:35AM, Late 25 February 12:50AM, Late 26
      February 2:25AM CET 1-05 "Le Fate Cattive"
      27 February 9PM, Late 28 February 12:55AM, Late 29 February 1:5AM CET
      1-06 "Il Villaggio Degli Orrori"

      Stations That Will/Have Aired Torchwood:

      NEW ZEALAND - TV2 http://www.tvnz.co.nz - Coming in 2008
      UKRAINE - ICTV
      TURKEY - TRT
      SOUTH KOREA - KNN
      Israel - Yes Stars 2 http://www.yes.co.il - Series 1 completed.
      Sweden - TV4 Plus http://www.tv4.se - Series 1 completed.
      SPAIN - Cuatro http://www.cuatro.com - Series 1 completed.
      AUSTRALIA - Network Ten http://www.ten.com.au http://www.sfsa.org.au -
      Series 1 completed.
      There are exclusive interviews and clips on the Ten website as well
      as Torchwood De-Classified - as of this writing, you have to be in
      Australia to view the clips.
      Southern Cross Ten
      http://www.mytalk.com.au/Stations/TV/SCTEN/Pages/Default.aspx
      (Regional service that carries portions of Network Ten's lineup) -
      Series 1 completed.
      Imparja http://www.imparja.com
      (Regional service airing Torchwood) - Series 1 completed.
      MEXICO - Canal 22 http://www.canal22.org.mx/main.html
      Episodes air as 2 parters. Series 1 completed?
      LATIN AMERICA - People + Arts http://www.tupeople.com - Series 1
      completed.
      FRANCE - NRJ 12 http://www.nrj12.fr - Series 1 repeats completed,
      episodes dubbed in French, expect slight cuts on bloodshed
      CANADA - CBC TV http://www.cbc.ca/television - HD on CBC HD, 16:9
      Letterbox analog, co-producer on Torchwood. Series 1 completed.

      And other countries who I haven't seen identified yet

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2008.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.