Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Torchwood This Week - December 22, 2007

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin Elliott
    TORCHWOOD THIS WEEK December 22, 2007 - Vol 1, No 59 The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions. by Benjamin F. Elliott
    Message 1 of 1 , Dec 22, 2007
    • 0 Attachment
      TORCHWOOD THIS WEEK
      December 22, 2007 - Vol 1, No 59
      The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions.
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/torchwood
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho

      UK fans - we have a broadcast day/time for Torchwood Series 2 - Pre-
      watershed version. Thursdays at 7PM GMT on BBC Two from 17 January.
      Torchwood DeClassified (presumably with the language tamed down from
      the Series 1 versions) airs Thursdays at 7:50PM GMT. The Pre-
      watershed version will have edits to langauge, violence, and sexual
      content as needed. It will not be a *Family* version of the episodes,
      merely a version that can be aired at hours when younger viewers are
      awake.

      We do *not* have a finalized day for the main version of Torchwood.
      It will be on BBC Two - either Sundays at 9PM starting 13 January or
      Wednesdays at 9PM starting 16 January. Most guesses are for
      Wednesdays, but there is no confirmation yet. BBC HD will air the
      episodes as well, probably at the same time as BBC Two unless a
      bigger HD event is airing on BBC One. BBC Three will be repeating the
      episodes.

      BBC America http://www.bbcamerica.com launches Series 2 of Torchwood
      on Saturday 26 January 2008 at 9PM Eastern. The early launch is due
      to Torchwood's status as BBC America's most successful show ever.
      Expect BBC America to make their edited version of Torchwood based
      off the uncut version of Torchwood on the guidelines that they used
      for Series 1. Do not expect the UK's pre-watershed version on BBC
      America. Essentially full length (but with some content edits)
      versions of the episodes will go on BBC America On Demand a few days
      after they air on BBC America.

      HD Net http://www.hd.net will have a New Years Day marathon of
      Torchwood Series 1. All 13 uncensored and unedited episodes in high
      definition. 1PM to 2AM Eastern/10AM to 11PM Pacific. HD Net will be
      airing Series 2, but the start date is unknown (probably at least 9
      days after BBC America).

      Ten HD (high definition version of Australia's Ten) removed Torchwood
      from its lineup shortly before the scheduled premiere. It is instead
      airing Journeyman, a US drama removed from the main Ten. Several of
      the shows on Ten HD are shows that have not aired yet on Ten, and
      these *new* shows probably have priority over *repeats* like
      Torchwood, which did air in its entirety on the main Ten (albeit the
      last 6 episodes aired at Midnight). Presumably Torchwood will get to
      air on Ten HD at a later date. UKTV Australia is still airing
      Torchwood, with episodes resuming in January after a Christmas/New
      Years break.

      Ztele http://www.ztele.com in Canada will air Torchwood Series 1 in
      French Mondays at 8PM, Wednesdays at 5PM, and Fridays at 10PM from 7
      January. Ztele HD will air the episodes in high definition. CBC
      http://www.cbc.ca/television (English language broadcaster) airs
      Combat on 4 January, then airs the final 2 episodes (Captain Jack
      Harkness and End Of Days) from 8 to 10PM on Sunday 6 January. CBC has
      not scheduled Series 2. With their sports committments (Hockey
      playoffs - April to June, Olympics - August), I would not be
      surprised if Series 2 of Torchwood aired on CBC in Fall 08 or later.

      Doctor Who schedule information is in This Week In Doctor Who
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho .

      I am trying to find websites and station information for some of the
      more elusive Torchwood sales. If you spot it airing or getting ready
      to air in your country, and I've missed it, let me know so it gets
      into the next edition and more fans get informed.

      Corrections and updates are welcome at torchwood-
      owner@yahoogroups.com , TWIDW on AIM, and thebfe on Yahoo Messenger.

      Torchwood Website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/torchwood
      Australian Website - http://www.ten.com.au/ten/tv_torchwood.html

      UK Broadcasts:

      BBC Two http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbctwo http://www.radiotimes.com
      First broadcaster of Series Two. Pre-watershed episodes are noted
      with [pre-watershed]. Always assume episodes are post-watershed
      unless otherwise noted.
      16 January? 9PM GMT 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" (2nd Series World
      Premiere!)
      17 January 7PM GMT 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" [Pre-Watershed Edition]
      17 January 7:50PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.01
      23 January? 9PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper"
      24 January 7PM GMT 2-02 "Sleeper" [Pre-Watershed Edition]
      24 January 7:50PM GMT Torchwood DeClassified 2.02

      BBC Three http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree http://www.radiotimes.com
      Series 1 Repeat Run Completed. Expected to have same week repeats of
      Series 2.

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/hd http://www.radiotimes.com
      Expected to air Series 2 in HD along with BBC Two.

      CANADA:

      CBC TV http://www.cbc.ca/television
      HD on CBC HD, 16:9 Letterbox analog, co-producer on Torchwood.
      This week - pre-empted for Christmas movies
      4 January 9PM (9:30PM Newfoundland) 1-11 "Combat"
      6 January 8PM (8:30PM Newfoundland) 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      (special day and time)
      6 January 9PM (8:30PM Newfoundland) 1-13 "End Of Days" (special day,
      end of Series 1)

      Ztele http://www.ztele.com/index.jsp
      HD on Ztele HD, Dubbed in French.
      Mondays 8PM, Wednesdays 5PM, Fridays 10PM starting 7 January

      HONG KONG:

      ATV World http://www.hkatv.com/world/05
      Thursday 10PM 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"

      FINLAND:

      TV 2 http://www.yle.fi/tv2
      Christmas Eve 11:20PM EET 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      New Years Eve 10:05PM EET 1-05 "Small Worlds"

      USA:

      BBC America http://www.bbcamerica.com
      DirecTV 264 Dish 135
      16:9 Letterbox format. Series 1 Repeat Run.
      Saturday 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      Saturday 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, Sunday 1PM EST/10AM PST
      1-06 "Countrycide"
      29 December 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST, 30 December 1PM EST/10AM
      PST 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      29 December 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 1-08 "They Keep
      Killing Suzie"
      5 January 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      5 January 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      12 January 8 and 11PM EST/5 and 8PM PST 1-11 "Combat"
      12 January 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST, 13 January 1PM
      EST/10AM PST 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      26 January 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 2-01 "Kiss Kiss, Bang
      Bang" (2nd Series Premiere!)
      2 February 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 2-02 "Sleeper"

      HD Net http://www.hd.net
      DirecTV 79
      Dish 9422 (5510 Alaska and Hawaii only)
      High Definition 16:9 format. Series 1 Repeat Run.
      Christmas Eve 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EST/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PST 1-
      02 "Day One"
      New Years Eve - pre-empted by marathon of HD Net's best concerts of
      2007
      New Years Day Series 1 Marathon:
      1PM EST/10AM PST 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      2PM EST/11AM PST 1-02 "Day One"
      3PM EST/Noon PST 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      4PM EST/1PM PST 1-04 "Cyberwoman"
      5PM EST/2PM PST 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      6PM EST/3PM PST 1-06 "Countrycide"
      7PM EST/4PM PST 1-07 "Greeks Bearing Gifts"
      8PM EST/5PM PST 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie"
      9PM EST/6PM PST 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      10PM EST/7PM PST 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      11PM EST/8PM PST 1-11 "Combat"
      Midnight EST/9PM PST 1-12 "Captain Jack Harkness"
      1AM EST/10PM PST 1-13 "End Of Days"

      FRANCE:

      NRJ 12 http://www.nrj12.fr
      Series 1 repeats, episodes dubbed in French, expect slight cuts on
      bloodshed
      Sunday 6:50PM CET 1-07 "Cadeau Grec"
      Sunday 7:45PM CET 1-08 "Ils Tuent Encore Suzie"
      Sunday 8:40PM CET 1-09 "Chassures En Vrac" (looks like the end of
      current repeat run)

      AUSTRALIA:

      UKTV Australia http://www.uktv.com.au
      Saturday 10:30PM AEDT 1-02 "Day One"
      5 January 10:30PM, 15 January 8:30PM, 19 January 10:30PM AEDT 1-
      04 "Cyberwoman"
      8 January 8:30PM, 12 January 10:30PM AEDT 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      22 January 8:30PM, 26 January 10:30PM AEDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      29 January 8:30PM AEDT 1-06 "Countrycide"

      Network Ten HD http://www.ten.com.au http://www.sfsa.org.au
      Series 1 repeats on the new HD channel.
      Shelved for now. Premiere date TBA.

      ITALY:

      Jimmy http://www.jimmy140.it
      http://www.jimmy140.it/contenuti/serie/torchwood/1
      Dubbed into Italian. Series 1 repeats.
      Late 1 January 1AM, 30 January 9PM and 2:15AM CET 1-02 "Primo Giorno"
      23 January 9PM and 2:05AM, Late 24 January 1:10AM, 26 January 8:35AM
      and 5:50PM and (late) 2:45AM, 27 January 6:35AM, Late 29 January
      1:50AM CET 1-01 "Tutto Cambia"

      Stations That Will/Have Aired Torchwood:

      NEW ZEALAND - TV2 http://www.tvnz.co.nz - Coming in 2008
      UKRAINE - ICTV
      TURKEY - TRT
      SOUTH KOREA - KNN
      Israel - Yes Stars 2 http://www.yes.co.il - Series 1 completed.
      Sweden - TV4 Plus http://www.tv4.se - Series 1 completed.
      SPAIN - Cuatro http://www.cuatro.com - Series 1 completed.
      AUSTRALIA - Network Ten http://www.ten.com.au http://www.sfsa.org.au -
      Series 1 completed.
      There are exclusive interviews and clips on the Ten website as well
      as Torchwood De-Classified - as of this writing, you have to be in
      Australia to view the clips.
      Southern Cross Ten
      http://www.mytalk.com.au/Stations/TV/SCTEN/Pages/Default.aspx
      (Regional service that carries portions of Network Ten's lineup) -
      Series 1 completed.
      Imparja http://www.imparja.com
      (Regional service airing Torchwood) - Series 1 completed.
      MEXICO - Canal 22 http://www.canal22.org.mx/main.html
      Episodes air as 2 parters. Series 1 completed?
      LATIN AMERICA - People + Arts http://www.tupeople.com - Series 1
      completed.

      And other countries who I haven't seen identified yet

      Series 2 - coming early 2008. 13 episodes, premieres on BBC Two.

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2007.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.