Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Torchwood This Week - September 8, 2007

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin Elliott
    TORCHWOOD THIS WEEK by Benjamin F. Elliott September 8, 2007 Volume 1, Number 44 The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions.
    Message 1 of 1 , Sep 8, 2007
    • 0 Attachment
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      September 8, 2007
      Volume 1, Number 44
      The weekly guide to Torchwood transmissions.

      Torchwood comes to US viewers tonight with the BBC America premiere.
      A quick reminder of the viewing options:

      A - BBC America
      Episodes premiere Saturdays at 9PM and Midnight Eastern (6PM and 9PM
      Pacific) starting today, with multiple repeats, including at 8PM and
      11PM Eastern the following Saturday. First airing of the episodes in
      the USA. Episodes will be edited to match BBC America's standard
      commercial load - usually 46 minutes of show and closing credits in
      60 minutes of time. (SciFi cuts shows to 44 minutes in the hour, some
      networks cut further.) Edits will be only based on time, not content.
      Certain profanities that start in "f" will be silenced - most other
      profanities will remain intact.
      Pros - First broadcaster, part of most digital cable packages,
      virtually all DirecTV subscriptions, and most mid to upper level Dish
      Network subscriptions, so "comparitively" easy to get the channel.
      Cons - Edits for time, partial profanity edits. (Not a con if you are
      a parent whose kids are watching - though Torchwood isn't intended
      for very young viewers.)

      B - HD Net (US Schedule)
      Episodes premiere Mondays at 7PM, 10PM, and 1AM Eastern (4PM, 7PM,
      and 10PM Pacific) starting on the 17th, with more repeats during the
      week. Torchwood is made in High Definition, so HD Net will be
      showcasing it at the highest quality. Episodes air commercial free
      with no content cuts at all. Available in high definition packages
      for DirecTV, Dish Network, and most cable networks (notable
      exception - Comcast).
      Pros - best the episodes will look ever, since no high definition DVD
      release is currently planned. No edits at all.
      Cons - if you want to see the shows unedited first time through, you
      have to wait 9 days after most of the folks who will watch saw the
      episodes on BBC America. And you have to pay the money for a high
      definition programming package.

      C - BBC America On Demand
      Episodes go on the service the Monday after they air on BBC America.
      Full versions of episodes - no time edits. The same language edits
      that occur on BBC America occur on the On Demand service. Episodes
      can be seen for up to 4 weeks, whenever you want. Currently
      unavailable on DirecTV and Dish Network. Availability on Digital
      Cable varies depending on where you live.
      Pros - full length episodes whenever you want to see them, 1 week
      before HD Net.
      Cons - if you want the full experience, this version still has words

      CBC TV Canada http://www.cbc.ca/television has listed the premiere of
      Torchwood as Friday October 5 at 9PM all time zones (9:30PM
      Newfoundland). Delighted to see it scheduled on the network listed as
      the co-producer at the end of the closing credits.

      Network Ten Australia http://www.ten.com.au finishes Series 1 this
      late Tuesday at Midnight.

      BBC Three http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree begins an encore run of
      Series 1 and Torchwood Declassified Friday at 9PM, getting viewers
      caught up before BBC Two starts Series 2 in January.

      We finally have a proper schedule for Torchwood on People + Arts, a
      cable network stretching from Mexico down through Latin and South
      America - see exact times in the listings.

      Doctor Who schedule information is in This Week In Doctor Who
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho .

      I am trying to find websites and station information for some of the
      more elusive Torchwood sales. If you spot it airing or getting ready
      to air in your country, and I've missed it, let me know so it gets
      into the next edition and more fans get informed.

      Corrections and updates are welcome at torchwood-
      owner@yahoogroups.com , TWIDW on AIM, and thebfe on Yahoo Messenger.

      Torchwood Website - http://www.bbc.co.uk/torchwood
      Australian Website - http://www.ten.com.au/ten/tv_torchwood.html


      Network Ten http://www.ten.com.au http://www.sfsa.org.au
      There are exclusive interviews and clips on the Ten website as well
      as Torchwood De-Classified - as of this writing, you have to be in
      Australia to view the clips.
      Late Tuesday Midnight 1-13 "End Of Days" (end of run)

      Southern Cross Ten
      (Regional service that carries portions of Network Ten's lineup)
      Late Tuesday Midnight 1-13 "End Of Days"


      Canal 22 http://www.canal22.org.mx/main.html
      Episodes air as 2 parters.
      Monday 10:30PM 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie" pt 1?
      Wednesday 10:30PM 1-08 "They Keep Killing Suzie" pt 2?
      Canal 22's website is not particularly helpful in determining what
      episodes are airing, unfortunately.


      BBC America http://www.bbcamerica.com
      Saturday 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT, Sunday 5PM and 1AM EDT/2
      and 10PM PDT, 15 September 3, 8, and 11PM EDT/Noon, 5PM, and 8PM PDT,
      22 September 2PM EDT/11AM PDT 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      15 September 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT, 22 September 3, 8,
      and 11PM EDT/Noon, 5, and 8PM PDT, 29 September 2PM EDT/11AM PDT, 30
      September 3PM EDT/Noon PDT 1-02 "Day One"
      22 September 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM, 29 September 3, 8, and
      11PM EDT/Noon, 5, and 8PM PDT, 30 September 4PM EDT/1PM PDT, 6
      October 2PM EDT/11AM PDT 1-03 "Ghost Machine"
      29 September 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT, 30 September 5PM
      EDT/2PM PDT, 6 October 3, 8, and 11PM EDT/Noon, 5, and 8PM PDT 1-
      04 "Cyberwoman"
      6 October 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT, Late 7 October 1AM
      EDT/10PM PDT 1-05 "Small Worlds"
      13 October 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT 1-06 "Countrycide"
      20 October 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT 1-07 "Greeks Bearing
      27 October 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT 1-08 "They Keep Killing
      3 November 9PM and Midnight EDT/6 and 9PM PDT 1-09 "Random Shoes"
      10 November 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 1-10 "Out Of Time"
      17 November 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 1-11 Combat"
      24 November 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 1-12 "Captain Jack
      1 December 9PM and Midnight EST/6 and 9PM PST 1-13 "Out Of Time"

      BBC America On Demand (certain digital cable systems, not on
      Now playing:
      Preview - Welcome To Torchwood
      1-01 "Everything Changes" (first 35 minutes only)
      Starting Monday:
      1-01 "Everything Changes" (full version, BBC America On Demand airs
      shows unedited for time. Language edits will be the same as on BBC
      Starting 17 September:
      1-02 "Day One"
      Starting 24 September:
      1-03 "Ghost Machine"

      HD Net http://www.hd.net
      17 September 7PM and 10PM and 1AM EDT/4PM and 7PM and 10PM PDT, 19
      September 11PM and 3AM EDT/8PM and Midnight PDT 1-01 "Everything


      People + Arts http://www.tupeople.com
      Tuesday 10PM, Wednesday 4AM and 4PM, Friday 7PM 1-03 "Ghost Machine"


      Jimmy http://www.jimmy140.it
      Dubbed into Italian
      Saturday 4:50PM, Sunday 1:25PM CET 1-01 "Tutto Cambia" (Italian
      Monday 9:50PM, Tuesday 10:35PM, Wednesday 8:05AM and 10:40AM and
      2:50AM (late night), Late Thursday Midnight, Saturday 15 September
      5PM, 16 September 1:40PM CET 1-02 "Primo Giorno"
      17 September 9:50PM, 18 September 11:40PM, 19 September 8:20AM and
      10:30AM and 3:30AM (late night), 20 September 11:50PM, 22 September
      4:50PM, 23 September 12:55PM CET 1-03 "La Machina Dei Fantasmi"
      24 September 9:50PM, Late 25 September 12:35AM, 26 September 8:30AM
      and 10:40AM, 27 September 4:20AM and 12:15AM (late night), 29
      September 4:30PM, 30 September 12:50PM CET 1-04 "La Donna Cybernetica"

      UK Broadcasts:

      BBC Three http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcthree http://www.radiotimes.com
      Series 1 Repeat Run
      Friday 9PM and 2:40AM BST 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      Friday 9:50PM BST Declassified 1-01 "Jack's Back"
      21 September 9PM BST 1-02 "Day One"
      21 September 9:50PM BST Declassified 1-02 "Bad Day At The Office"

      BBC HD http://www.bbc.co.uk/hd http://www.radiotimes.com
      No repeats scheduled in next 2 weeks.

      CANADA - CBC TV http://www.cbc.ca/television
      HD on CBC HD, 16:9 Letterbox analog, co-producer on Torchwood.
      Friday 5 October 9PM (9:30PM Newfoundland) 1-01 "Everything Changes"
      (Canadian Premiere!)

      Stations That Will/Have Aired Torchwood:

      CANADA - Ztele (in French) - not on Fall 2007 schedule, probably
      premieres in 2008
      NEW ZEALAND - TV2 http://www.tvnz.co.nz
      FRANCE - NRJ 12 http://www.nrj12.fr
      TURKEY - TRT
      CANADA - Ztele http://www.ztele.com/index.jsp
      Israel - Yes Stars 2 http://www.yes.co.il - Series 1 completed.
      Sweden - TV4 Plus http://www.tv4.se - Series 1 completed.
      SPAIN - Cuatro http://www.cuatro.com - Series 1 completed.
      And other countries who I haven't seen identified yet

      Series 2 - coming early 2008. 13 episodes, premieres on BBC Two.

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care. Vote Saxon.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2007.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.