Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

This Week In Doctor Who - July 13, 2001

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin F. Elliott
    THIS WEEK IN DOCTOR WHO - July 13, 2001 by Benjamin F. Elliott Vol 4, No 28 http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho/
    Message 1 of 1 , Jul 13, 2001
    • 0 Attachment
      THIS WEEK IN DOCTOR WHO - July 13, 2001
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      Vol 4, No 28

      Well, today This Week In Doctor Who turns 3 years old, if anyone can believe
      it. I had planned a little surprise for this edition, however plans did not
      quite work out. Hopefully next week. Until then, enjoy this edition.

      Additions and corrections are welcome at bfelliott@... ,
      bfelliott@... , bfelliott3 on AOL IM, or thebfe on Yahoo!
      Groups. And now, the listings:


      *world premiere*
      "Death Comes To Time" real audio broadcast - 30 minutes in 6 segments
      Sylvester McCoy, Sophie Aldred, Stephen Fry, and a British all-star cast in
      the pilot for an abandoned radio series. Supposed to be very good. The BBC
      is counting the number of listeners, so alert your friends who might want to
      hear it. Should be online by Noon UK Time on the 13th.
      *world premiere*
      "Fury From The Deep" episode 6 of 6 (photonovel)
      The final episode of Fury From The Deep gets a photonovel presentation. The
      previous 5 episodes are still up and available. The Abominable Snowmen
      begins next Friday.



      UK Gold http://www.sceneone.co.uk/s1/tv/listings
      Sat 9:05-11AM BST "The Pirate Planet" movie
      The first story written by the late Douglas Adams to be used for Doctor Who.
      A marauding planet has taken the place of Calufrax, the place where the
      Doctor and Romana were heading to in order to locate the second segment of
      the Key To Time.
      Sun 9:05-11AM BST "The Stones Of Blood" movie
      Romana has trouble seeing the Doctor's attachment towards Earth. Meanwhile,
      eccentric professor Amelia Rumford helps the Doctor investigate an ancient
      stone circle, which seems to have an ever-changing number of stones.


      BBC Prime http://www.bbcprime.com/
      Late Fri 1AM*, Sat 3:30PM, Sun 11:30AM CET "The King's Demons" ep 1 of 2
      Late Thu 12:30AM CET "The King's Demons" ep 2 of 2
      *Not seen in all regions. Proclaimed to be demons by King John, the Doctor,
      Tegan, and Turlough suspect all is not well in the year 1215. But no one
      will trust them.


      UKTV Australia http://www.varos.com/drwho/uktv/ http://www.uktv.com.au/
      Sun 7AM, Late Sun 1AM AEST "The Power Of Kroll" all 4 eps
      An enormous octopus worshiped by swamp people threatens a gas refinery that
      humans run. Is the octopus just being a spoilsport, or is something else
      going on. Something confusing.
      Mon-Wed 11:30PM AEST "Meglos" eps 2 - 4 of 4
      Meglos frames the Doctor for a daring crime. Now the Doctor could pay the
      ultimate price - 7 pounds and sixpence! Or maybe he'll just be killed
      Thu-Fri 11:30PM AEST "Full Circle" eps 1 - 2 of 4
      Trapped in a pocket universe, the Doctor and Romana come across a world on
      the verge of Mistfall, when the monsters come out to kill. But are they


      SCI-FI Channel http://www.scifi.com/
      East Feed Sun 9PM EDT (8PM CDT, 7PM MDT, 6PM PDT, 5PM Alaska, 3PM Hawaii)
      West Feed Sun 9PM PDT (10PM MDT, 8PM Alaska, 6PM Hawaii)
      "DOCTOR WHO" 1996 movie - 2 hours
      First USA airing since the FOX premiere in 1996. The Master has been
      exterminated by the Daleks for his evil deeds. Before he died, he requested
      that the 7th Doctor (Sylvester McCoy) take his remains back to Gallifrey.
      But when the mission goes awry, the Doctor is forced to land in San
      Francisco, where his existence and Earth itself are thrown into peril. With
      Paul McGann, Daphne Ashbrook, and Eric Roberts. Pilot for a revival of the
      TV series which fizzled when the US ratings on FOX came in under
      expectations. Maybe we can get great ratings this time and embarrass FOX.

      NHPTV New Hampshire 11,49,52 http://www.nhptv.org/
      Late Sat Mid EDT "Destiny Of The Daleks" eps 3+4 of 4
      The Daleks have returned to Skaro to unearth their creator, Davros, who they
      left for dead millennia ago. Why do they suddenly need the help of an
      *inferior* creature? For that matter, why are the Movellans searching for
      him too?
      Late Thu Mid EDT "City Of Death" eps 1+2 of 4
      The Doctor and Romana finally take a vacation. Destination - Paris in 1979.
      Beautiful city, many nooks and crannies, and a slightly splintered timeline.
      Perfect place for a holiday. No time-space dimensions were harmed in the
      production of this story.

      WQED/WQEX 13,16 Pittsburgh, PA http://www.wqed.org/
      Sat 11:30PM EDT "The Horns Of Nimon" eps 3+4 of 4
      Soldeed learns that the Nimon might not be as benevolent a blood sucker as
      he had previously claimed. Will he help the Doctor and Romana defeat this
      horned creature?

      WYBE 35 Philadelphia, PA http://www.wybe.org/
      Sat 4AM+5:30PM EDT "The Twin Dilemma" eps 1+2 of 4
      Sat 11PM EDT "The Twin Dilemma" eps 3+4 of 4
      The 6th Doctor, emotionally distressed after a problematic regeneration,
      battles his most dangerous enemy - his personality - to rescue two missing
      children and face an old friend who is helping an evil slug conquer the
      galaxy. A story to watch for the scenes between Colin Baker and Nicola
      Bryant, as the Doctor hits the lowest point he ever crashes to in the TV
      series mentally.

      MPT Maryland 22,28,31,36,62,67 http://www.mpt.org/
      Late Sat Mid EDT "The Chase" movie (The Executioners, The Death Of Time,
      Flight Through Eternity, Journey Into Terror, The Death Of Doctor Who, The
      Planet Of Decision)
      The 1st Doctor, Ian, Barbara, and Vicki wind up on the run, as a Dalek
      assassination squad decides to eliminate the TARDIS crew once and for all.
      Somehow, they have built their own equivalent to the TARDIS, and they aren't
      afraid to use it. Special guest starring William Shakespeare, Abraham
      Lincoln, the Beatles, the crew of the Marie Celeste, Frankenstein, and Count
      Dracula. A wild ride through time and space.

      WUSF 16 Tampa, FL http://www.wusftv.usf.edu/
      Sat 11:30PM EDT "The Curse Of Fenric" all 4 eps
      Next week (July 21st) is the end of WUSF's Doctor Who run. This time, Ace
      and the 7th Doctor visit a secret British naval base in 1943. Someone's
      unleashed a Viking curse, and everyone in the town, including Ace, seems to
      be linked to the approaching force of evil. Oh, and a Russian task force
      shows up as well. An interesting story, which had the misfortune to portray
      the Soviet Union in a positive light just a few months before the archives
      were opened and its true dark past came out. Oops! Still, good story.

      WCET 48 Cincinnati, OH http://www.wcet.org/
      Sat 11PM EDT "The Androids Of Tara" eps 2+3 of 4
      The Doctor is recruited against his will to help Prince Reynart be crowned
      King. Meanwhile, Romana is recruited against her will to help Count Grendel
      be crowned King. Poor K9 can't get anyone to recruit him, alas.

      WYIN 56 Gary, IN (Chicago, IL) http://www.wyin.org/
      Sat 10PM CDT "Nightmare Of Eden" eps 3+4 of 4

      WILL 12 Urbana, IL http://www.will.uiuc.edu/
      Sat 11:35PM CDT "The Android Invasion" ep 3 of 4

      TPT St. Paul, MN http://www.tpt.org/
      analog KTCA 2, digital 16-5 (2.5)
      Sat 11:30PM, Sun 5:30AM CDT "The Power Of Kroll" ep 2 of 4

      IPTV Iowa 11,12,21,24,27,32,32,36 http://www.sffn.com/ http://www.iptv.org/
      Fri 11:05PM CDT "Four To Doomsday" eps 3+4 of 4

      PPTV North Dakota 2,3,4,6,9,13,19 http://www.pptv.org/
      Fri 10:30PM CDT (9:30PM MDT) "City Of Death" ep 2 of 4
      See NHPTV New Hampshire for description.

      KERA 13 Dallas, TX http://www.kera.org/
      Late Fri Mid CDT "The Ambassadors Of Death" eps 2+3 of 7
      Black & White due to the 70s junkings.

      KBDI/K32EO 12,32 Denver/Colorado Springs, CO http://www.kbdi.org/
      Pre-empted this week. Returns July 20.

      KUED 7 Salt Lake City, UT http://www.kued.org/
      Sat 11PM, Late Sat 12:30AM MDT "The Invisible Enemy" ep 4 of 4

      KBTC/KCKA/K65BU 28,15,65 Tacoma/Centralia/Gray's River, WA
      Sat 7PM, Late Sat 12:30AM PDT "The Armageddon Factor" eps 5+6 of 6

      KTEH 54 San Jose, CA http://www.kteh.org/
      Sun 11:30PM PDT "Doctor Who and the Silurians" eps 1+2 of 7
      Color-restored version.

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2001.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.