Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

This Week In Doctor Who - December 11, 2002

Expand Messages
  • Benjamin F. Elliott
    THIS WEEK IN DOCTOR WHO - December 11, 2002 by Benjamin F. Elliott Vol 5, No 50 http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho
    Message 1 of 1 , Dec 11, 2002
    • 0 Attachment
      THIS WEEK IN DOCTOR WHO - December 11, 2002
      by Benjamin F. Elliott
      Vol 5, No 50
      http://groups.yahoo.com/group/thisweekindoctorwho
      thisweekindoctorwho-subscribe@yahoogroups.com

      Welcome to the weekly guide to Doctor Who TV & radio broadcasts worldwide.

      A big week for Doctor Who fans, and anyone who likes the comedies and dramas
      produced by BBC Radio for the past 70 years or so. BBC Radio 7 goes on the
      air this Sunday (15 December). Radio 7 is a digital radio station that can
      be heard on digital radios and digital TVs in Britain, and worldwide at
      http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbc7/ in RealPlayer format. It will air old and new
      comedies, dramas, etc. from 7AM to 1AM GMT 7 days a week (adjust for local
      time). Sci-fi programming (including some Doctor Who) will air twice a day,
      at 6PM and Midnight GMT. Doctor Who will feature on the launch party for
      Radio 7 Sunday at 8PM GMT, which will be simulcast on BBC Radio 4 and BBC
      Radio 4 LW. I am looking for a reliable website to use for Radio 7 schedule
      information. Digiguide seems reliable, but you have to subscribe to use it
      for more than a few weeks. The BBC's website indicates which types of
      programming airs at which times, but unlike other BBC stations it does not
      yet have detailed day to day listings. Hopefully better listings will become
      available once the station is on the air.

      It appears that Sky Digital in Britain now has a time-shifted version of UK
      Gold called UK Gold + 1. UK Gold
      s programming airs an hour later on the channel, but the channel only seems
      to be on the air part-time. Effective this week, we add UK Gold +1 to the
      column.

      Pledge drive season is winding down in the United States. Several stations
      were featuring Doctor Who in their pledge drives. WCET 48 Cincinnati, OH
      went first with a Doctor Who drive in late October. KTEH/KCAH 54,25 San
      Jose/Watsonville, CA had their pledge drive on November 24. Iowa Public TV
      had a very successful pledge event on December 7, airing clips of various
      sci-fi shows.* KBTC/KCKA/K65BU 28,15,65 was scheduled to have a Doctor Who
      pledge drive on December 7, but as of the 4th the main feature (The Dalek
      Invasion Of Earth) had not made it to the station. As of publication time I
      do not know if they managed to get a copy or if they had to run another
      feature. One Doctor Who pledge drive is still to come.

      December 14 - WSKG 46 Binghamton, NY http://www.wskg.org/ is giving Revenge
      Of The Cybermen an all evening party from 9PM to Midnight. This is the first
      Doctor Who pledge drive on WSKG since this run of the series began.

      *Originally, Iowa Public TV was having viewers vote on which sci-fi series
      they did *not* want to be picked up in 2003. This column passed along that
      information. IN A LATE CHANGE, they decided to have viewers vote on which
      show they *did* want to be picked up in 2003. Doctor Who won the poll in a
      landslide, with The Prisoner a very distant second. The Doctor Who clip
      aired during the pledge special was from part 1 of Robot.

      While I try to keep the column up to date, I do sometimes miss late changes
      to schedules. If you see TWIDW's information getting out of synch with what
      your local station is actually airing, let me know ASAP.

      Additions and corrections are welcome at
      thisweekindoctorwho-owner@yahoogroups.com , bfelliott@... ,
      bfelliott3 on AOL IM, or thebfe on Yahoo Messenger. And now, the listings:

      RADIO/INTERNET:

      BBC Radio 4 http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/
      Realplayer link on website.
      Sun 8PM GMT (3PM EST, Noon PST, Mon 7AM AEDT) "BBC Radio 7 Premiere Night"
      Simulcast of the launch of Radio 7. Will be on both the domestic Radio 4 and
      Radio 4 LW.

      BBC Radio 7 http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbc7/
      Realplayer link on website
      Digital radio station, also available through UK digital TV.
      Sun 8PM GMT (3PM EST, Noon PST, Mon 7AM AEDT) "BBC Radio 7 Premiere Night"
      During the 8PM GMT hour, there will be a clip from The Paradise Of Death, a
      1993 Jon Pertwee Doctor Who radio drama. Also expect a Doctor Who themed
      Dead Ringers clip.
      BBC Radio 7 will air sci-fi programming 7 nights a week at 6PM and Midnight
      GMT. 30 minutes weeknights, 60 minutes weekends. Doctor Who is expected to
      be a feature on the station, but was not on the listings through 28 December
      according to Digiguide.

      Fri 7PM EST "Interstellar Transmissions"
      http://www.interstellartransmissions.com
      WWNN AM1470 Pompano Beach/Boca Raton, FL (Miami/West Palm Beach, FL)
      http://www.wnnhealthtalkradio.com
      Joey Reynolds' weekly radio show for sci-fi news and interviews, which can
      be heard online worldwide. Doctor Who news usually discussed during the
      show. This week's guests - ?.

      TV:

      UK:

      UK Gold http://www.onthebox.com/partner/otb
      http://www.telewest.co.uk/flextech/ukgold.htm
      Late Fri 1:35-3:20AM, Sat 7:15-9AM GMT "Revelation Of The Daleks" movie
      Late Sat 1-2:50AM, Sun 7:10-9AM GMT "Trial Of A Time Lord: The Mysterious
      Planet" movie

      UK Gold +1
      Late Fri 2:35-4:20AM GMT "Revelation Of The Daleks" movie
      Late Sat 2-3:50AM GMT "Trial Of A Time Lord: The Mysterious Planet" movie

      Homechoice http://www.homechoice.co.uk
      Video On Demand. Now playing:
      "Robot" all 4 pts
      "The Ark In Space" all 4 pts
      "The Sontaran Experiment" both pts

      CANADA/USA:

      BBC Kids http://www.bbckids.ca
      Weeknights 7:30PM, 10:30PM, 2AM, 4AM EST (4:30PM, 7:30PM, 11PM, 1AM PST)
      Wed "Genesis Of The Daleks" pt 6 of 6
      Thu-Fri "Revenge Of The Cybermen" pts 1 - 2 of 4
      Late Sat 2AM EST (1AM CST, Mid MST, 11PM PST, 3AM AST, 3:30AM Newfoundland)
      "Horror Of Fang Rock" all 4 pts
      Late Sun 2AM EST (1AM CST, Mid MST, 11PM PST, 3AM AST, 3:30AM Newfoundland)
      "The Invisible Enemy" all 4 pts
      Mon-Tue "Revenge Of The Cybermen" pts 3 - 4 of 4
      Nightly late night Doctor Who marathons begin 21 December.

      Channel numbers in brackets ( ) indicate a digital station that is not on
      the air. Low power stations do not currently have digital assignments.

      SCIFI http://www.scifi.com/
      "Doctor Who" 1996 TV-Movie
      EAST & SATELLITE FEED - Late Sun 3-5AM EST (2-4AM CST, 1-3AM MST, 12-2AM
      PST, 11PM-1AM Alaska, 10PM-Midnight Hawaii)
      WEST FEED - Late Sun 4-6AM MST (3-5AM PST, 2-4AM Alaska, 1-3AM Hawaii, 6-8AM
      EST, 5-7AM CST)

      NHPTV New Hampshire http://www.nhptv.org
      analog 11,49,52
      digital 57,48,(49) - not on digital schedule yet
      Pre-empted by pledge specials.

      WCNY/W59AU Syracuse/Utica, NY http://www.wcny.org
      analog 24,59
      digital 25-1
      Pre-empted by pledge specials. Doctor Who returns December 29.

      WSKG Binghamton, NY http://www.wskg.com
      analog 46
      digital (42) - under construction
      Sat 9PM to Midnight EST "Revenge Of The Cybermen" all 4 pts
      Episodes airing in production order. Genesis Of The Daleks begins next week.

      WQED/WQEX Pittsburgh, PA http://www.wqed.org
      analog 13,16
      digital 38-1,(26)
      DirecTV 13,947 Dish 8136,13
      Pre-empted by pledge specials. Next currently scheduled episode is December
      21.

      WYBE Philadelphia, PA http://www.wybe.org
      analog 35
      digital (34) - coming December 2002?
      DirecTV 35,909 Dish 8162,35
      Sat 11PM EST "The Pirate Planet" pt 4 of 4
      Sat 11:30PM EST "The Stones Of Blood" pt 1 of 4

      MPT Maryland http://www.mpt.org
      analog 22,67,28,31,62,36
      digital 42,(29),(62),(44),(28),(56) - simulcast of analog begins in 2003
      DirecTV 22,980
      Late Sat Mid EST "State Of Decay" movie
      Time approximate after pledge special.

      WCET Cincinnati, OH http://www.wcet.org
      analog 48
      digital 34-1
      DirecTV 48,909 Dish 8356,48
      Pre-empted by pledge special. Doctor Who returns December 21.

      WILL Urbana, IL http://www.will.uiuc.edu
      analog 12
      digital (33) - under construction
      Pre-empted by pledge special. Next episode airs December 28.

      KAWE/KAWB Bemidji/Brainerd, MN http://www.lakelandptv.org
      analog 9,22
      digital (18),(28) - under construction
      Sat 4AM CST "The Masque Of Mandragora" pt 3 of 4
      Special very early time due to pledge programming. Next episode airs at the
      regular times (Sat 8PM and 11PM) on the weekend of December 28.

      IPTV Iowa http://www.sffn.com http://www.iptv.org
      analog 11,12,21,24,27,32,32,36,36
      digital 50-1,(45),(25),(18),(28),(33),(35),(35),(34)
      Des Moines Dish 9116,11
      Sat 11:35PM CST "Battlefield" pts 1+2 of 4

      KERA/K44FI Dallas/Wichita Falls, TX http://www.kera.org
      analog 13,44
      digital 14-1
      DirecTV 13,889 Dish 8406,13
      Pre-empted by pledge special. Stories are airing in production order.
      Destiny Of The Daleks airs next, on December 20.

      KBDI/K32EO Denver/Colorado Springs, CO http://www.kbdi.org
      analog 12,32
      digital (38) - under construction
      DirecTV 12,910 Dish 8211,12
      Pre-empted by pledge drives. Doctor Who returns December 20.

      KUED/KUES Salt Lake City/Richfield, UT http://www.kued.org
      analog 7,19
      digital 42-1,(19)
      DirecTV 7,982 Dish 8536,7
      Sat 11PM MST "The Horns Of Nimon" pt 1 of 4

      KBTC/KCKA/K65BU 28,15,65 Tacoma/Centralia/Gray's River, WA
      http://www.kbtc.org
      analog 28,15,65
      digital (27),(19) - under construction
      DirecTV 12,910 Dish 8620,28
      Sat 7PM, Late Sat 12:30AM PST "The Two Doctors" 6 pt version, pts 3+4

      KTEH/KCAH San Jose/Watsonville, CA http://www.kteh.org
      analog 54,25
      digital (50),(58) - under construction
      DirecTV 54,903
      Pre-empted by pledge drives. Doctor Who returns December 22.

      CENTRAL & SOUTH AMERICA:

      Uniseries http://www.uniseries.com.ar
      Sun 9:30PM, Mon 4:30AM "" 1 episode
      The 4th Doctor and Leela are in action. English with Spanish subtitles.

      Thanks for reading. Until next week, take care.

      Doctor Who is a BBC Trademark. Copyright 2002.


      ---
      Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
      Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
      Version: 6.0.427 / Virus Database: 240 - Release Date: 12/06/2002
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.