>I have been lurking in the shadows for some time just waiting to get
>my first Man o War games in. Well a buddy of mine and myself finally
>got a handful of games of Dark Elf vs Dwarfs and and we both love the
>game. During our run of about five games though we had some questions
>that I was hoping to receive clarification on. Most I already have an
>answer for using "logic" (does that exist in the minaiture world?) but
>you know how that sometimes opens the door for debate. I was just
>looking to see if these questions have come up in your gaming group or
>on the boards here and what the outcome was.
Welcome! As you were lurking in the shadows, you had the Dark Elves ;) ?
>1) When you destory the Doomreaver via a failed save on the '6'
location, does that leave a wrecakage marker? My friend feels that
since it states on the ship template the monster dives "taking the
Doomreaver with it" that no wreckage would be left over. I feel that
it is no different than a sunk ship and should leave a wreckage
marker. I guess the same question as well for the Death Fortress when
you destroy the '5'.
Logically there should be nothing left (at least not enough to block the
path/shooting line), but I think we played both ways.
>2) On the critical damage Captian Chart there is an outcome where the
Captian falls overboard (Roll of a '4') and the ship is forced to move
to pick him up...What happens if that ship is immobolized? There is no
mention on that outcome on that roll if you are immobolized; It just
states that the ship moves to pick him up. I would guess that the
result from '3' would then apply where the captian was shot and it
takes a turn to elect a new captian.
I would say so, too. I hate this 4 anyway, as there are a lot of ships,
which cannot do the required turn.
>3) Can you target a suburged Nautalis with spells? I know it can't be
shot at or targeted, but it doesn't mention anything about casting a
spell on it. I would say that you couldn't, but my opponent
dissagreed. Would seascape wide spells effect a submurged Nautalis
where a direct target spell does not while submurged? That is how I'm
MoW does not require a line of sight for spells. However, we always deal
the Nautilus as invisible when submerged, and all players pretend to NOT
know where it is. It is pretty immune while submerged, but not against
all things, e.g. heavy storms would still affect it, as it is not that
deep down anyway. I think diving and rules was a lot discussed in
relation to the Dwarf Goliath draft (search in the message archive)
4) When the Chaos vortex spell lands on a ship and damage is resolved.
That ship then actives to move during that turn, does it take a
further two hits since it is moving through the vortex? Or is that
already accounted for when the vortex lands on the ship?
I would say, it is accounted for already. But that is only IMHO, as all
answers I gave here.