Re: Rules Question
I was wondering about this rule myself. I am starting a Skaven fleet
and haven't played with them yet, but personally I dissagree with
saying that option #1 is the correct way to do it and feel that option
#2 is the correct way.
Here is my reasoning:
1) A range is mentioned. Why would a range be mentioned without the
intention of the template being placed some distance from the ship?
Why not just say, "Place the template at the tip of the ship"?
2) Comparing this weapon to the warp-fire thrower in WFB at the time
MoW was in print, didn't that template (which had the same tear-drop
shape) have a range of an Artillery Dice with the tip of that template
being placed a certian distance out and then flare out from there? I
would think that the MoW version would work in a similar way.
3) I also think there is an association gamers have with a tear-drop
template having to be placed in contact with the model. As I mention
above that isn't always the case. If the template was a circular
shape, how would you read the rule?
Those are just my thoughts...It seems that this rule and how it is
read could greatly help or hurt the Skaven player. I could be
completely wrong in my assesment and it has been clarified elsewhere,
if so could you tell me where?
Also is there anyone out there who has played both ways? Does one way
over/under-power the Skaven? I would try myself, but my only MoW
gaming buddies are a few states away (anyone in the NW Burbs of
--- In firstname.lastname@example.org, manowarplayer <no_reply@...> wrote:
> #1 is correct, the template is placed in front of the miniature and
> the first ship that falls under the template is hit.
> --- In email@example.com, Brad Maynes <Brad.Maynes@g...>
> > Under the rules for Skaven Warp-raiders, it states that:
> > "The Warpfire-thrower has a range of 4" and uses the Warpfire-
> > template"
> > How does everyone construe this to work? I have at least three
> > constructions.
> > 1) The template itself is a little under 4". You simply place the
> > at the front of the Warp-raider. This is its shot.
> > 2) The range of 4" means that you may place the template with the
> short end
> > anywhere along a straight line from the Warp-raider. The short end
> must be
> > placed within 4" of the Warp-raider.
> > 3) (slightly different from 2) The template is placed as in #1
> and moved
> > four inches in a straight line forward. The first ship contacted
> like this
> > takes the three hits.
> > Any of these seem fair (less so for #1). I just wanted to see
> what folks
> > thought.
> > Thanks,
> > BLM
> > [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]