Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

phd opportunities (sorry for cross-postings)

Expand Messages
  • Neil Carr
    Are you considering undertaking a PhD in Tourism, Hospitality, or Leisure studies? Consider the Tourism Department at the University of Otago, New Zealand The
    Message 1 of 1 , Apr 14, 2010
    • 0 Attachment

      Are you considering undertaking a PhD in Tourism, Hospitality, or Leisure studies?


       

      Consider the Tourism Department at the University of Otago, New Zealand

      The Tourism Department at the University of Otago is one of the world’s leading research institutes in the field of tourism, hospitality, and leisure studies. The department is home to an array of leading, internationally recognised researchers and a highly active multinational postgraduate program. The following staff are actively seeking PhD students in the areas mentioned. You should contact these staff directly if you are interested in working on a project that matches their interests. If you are unsure whether your proposed topic fits any of these research areas please contact the departmental PhD coordinator (Associate Professor Hazel Tucker - hazel.tucker@...) in the first instance who will put you in touch with a potential supervisor:

       

      Professor James Higham (james.higham@...)

      ·         Tourism and the Rugby World Cup 2011 (New Zealand)

      ·         Tourism and Climate Change

      Associate Professor Neil Carr (neil.carr@...)

      ·         Tourism and leisure behaviour

      ·           Sex, drugs, or alcohol in leisure, tourism, or hospitality

      Associate Professor Hazel Tucker (hazel.tucker@...)

      ·         Representation and identity; ethics; socio-cultural change; gender; entrepreneurship

      Dr Anna Thompson-Carr (anna.thompson@...) Centre for Recreation Research

      ·         Nature tourism and indigenous community development

      ·         Wilderness and adventure tourism management

      ·         Cultural tourism entrepreneurs – adding value to destination brands

      ·         Familial relationships with the outdoors and nature based recreation

      ·         Theoretical dimensions of ecotourism

      Dr Tara Duncan (tara.duncan@...)

      ·         Current debates on mobilities in tourism and hospitality.

      ·         Backpacker/Gap Year/ (Young) budget travellers studies

      Dr Richard Mitchell (richard.mitchell@...)

      ·         Social and cultural dimensions of food and drink

      ·         The business of wine (including, but not limited to tourism, marketing & business network)

      Dr Brent Lovelock (brent.lovelock@...)

      ·         Consumptive wildlife tourism (hunting, fishing)

      ·         Ethical travel

       

      All PhD students based in New Zealand during their candidature pay domestic fees irrespective of their nationality. The University of Otago offers approximately 150 PhD scholarships that are open to both domestic and international applicants. The Tourism Department at the University of Otago provides financial support to all students to attend domestic and international conferences and to undertake fieldwork pertinent to their studies. All students are provided with a personal computer and a workspace in a shared office. More details of the Tourism Department, its PhD program and application process, and the research interests of other potential PhD supervisors are available at http://www.business.otago.ac.nz/tourism/


    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.