Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Republicans reach magic number, House to flip to GOP control

Expand Messages
  • Greg Cannon
    http://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/127133-gop-get-first-house-pickups Republicans reach magic number, House to flip to GOP control By Emily Goodin -
    Message 1 of 1 , Nov 2, 2010

      Republicans reach magic number, House to flip to GOP control
      By Emily Goodin - 11/02/10 11:59 PM ET

      Republicans have won several critical House seats, triggering projections from TV networks that they will win control of the lower chamber.

      The GOP have won 43 Democratic-held seats while Democrats picked up two GOP seats, which gives the Republicans a net gain of 41 seats so far.

      Polling by The Hill over the last month revealed that Republicans would win more than 50 House seats.

      In one of the biggest loses for Democrats, House Budget Committee Chairman John Spratt (D-S.C.) lost in a tough relection. He was a heavy GOP target and criticized for his ties to the Speaker and his votes for cap-and-trade, the stimulus and healthcare reform.
      Armed Services Committee Chairman Ike Skelton (D-Mo.), a 17-term incumbent, lost to Republican Vicky Hartzler.

      In Mississippi, Blue Dog Rep. Gene Taylor (D), the Democrat who declared he voted for John McCain for president and wouldn't support Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) for speaker, lost. Republican Steven Palazzo will represent the district.

      In North Dakota, Rep. Earl Pomeroy (D) lost to Republican Rick Berg. Pomeroy was a top GOP target and each party spent over a $1 million to try to win this seat.

      In New Mexico, former Rep. Steve Pearce (R) won his seat back over from freshman Rep. Harry Teague (D).

      In Pennsylvania, freshman Rep. Kathy Dahlkemper (D) lost to Republican Mike Kelly. Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-Pa.), who led the charge in the House to change the Pentagon's "Don't ask, don't tell" policy, lost to former Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.). And 13-term Rep. Paul Kanjorski (D) lost to Republican Lou Barletta. Barletta had challenged Kanjorski twice before and lost.

      In Ohio, Rep. Zack Space (D) lost to Republican Bob Gibbs. Space infuriated unions when he voted against the healthcare bill. Union support was divided because of his vote. The AFL-CIO campaigned for him but the Service Employees International Union told their members to not vote for him. Rep. Mary Jo Kilroy (D) lost a tough reelection battle to Steve Stivers, who she beat last cycle. And freshman Rep. Steve Driehaus (D) lost to Republican Steve Chabot. Driehaus defeated Chabot in a close race last cycle.

      In North Carolina, Rep. Bob Etheridge (D), who gained national attention after a video confrontation with two college students went viral, lost.

      In Texas, 10-term Rep. Chet Edwards (D), a perennial GOP target, lost to Republican Bill Flores. Edwards was discussed as a vice presidential candidate in 2008. His district houses former President George W. Bush's Crawford ranch.

      Other Democrats who have lost their reelection bid include Reps. John Hall (N.Y.), Michael Arcuri (N.Y.), John Adler (D-N.J.), Bill Foster (Ill.), Sanford Bishop (Ga.), Debbie Halvorson (Ill.), Phil Hare (D-Ill.), John Boccieri (Ohio), Frank Kratovil (Md.), Chris Carney (Pa.), Charlie Wilson (Ohio) and Travis Childers (Miss.).

      Republicans also won former Rep. Eric Massa's (D-N.Y.) seat. Massa resigned after allegations he acted inappropriately with his congressional staff.

      In New Hampshire, Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (D-N.H.), a two-term lawmaker, lost to Republican Frank Guinta. And former Rep. Charlie Bass (R) won his old seat over liberal favorite Ann Kuster. Bass lost his seat to Paul Hodes (D), who ran for Senate this cycle and lost.

      Five-term Rep. Baron Hill (D-Ind.) was defeated by Republican Todd Young. Rep. Jim Marshall (D-Ga.), who is in his fourth term, also lost.

      Republicans also won retiring Reps. Bart Stupak's (D-Mich.) and Dennis Moore's (D-Kan.) seats as well as Rep. Charlie Melancon's (D-La.) seat. Melancon launched an unsuccessful bid for the Senate.

      In Florida, seven-term Rep. Allen Boyd (D-Fla.) lost to Republican Steve Southerland. Boyd was a top GOP target this cycle. Sandy Adams defeated freshman Rep. Suzanne Kosmas (D-Fla.) and Republican Daniel Webster defeated freshman Rep. Alan Grayson (D-Fla.), who attracted national attention when he said on the House floor that Republicans want people to die quickly.

      And in Virginia, Democratic Reps. Rick Boucher, Tom Perriello, and Glenn Nye lost. Boucher's loss was a major setback for Democrats. He is serving his 14th term and is a subcommittee chairman on the Energy and Commerce Committee.

      In Indiana, Republican Larry Bucshoon defeated Democrat Trent Van Haaften to win Rep. Brad Ellsworth's (D-Ind.) seat. Ellsworth ran for the Senate and lost.

      In Tennessee, four-term Rep. Lincoln Davis (D) lost to Republican Scott DesJarlias. And Republicans picked up retiring Rep. Bart Gordon's (D-Tenn.) seat. Republican Diane Black defeated Democrat Brett Carter. Republicans also won retiring Rep. John Tanner's (D-Tenn.). Republican Stephen Fincher will now represent the district.

      Not all the news is bad for Democrats. As expected, Democrat John Carney picked up Rep. Mike Castle's seat (R-Del.) and Democrats also captured Rep. Joseph Cao (R-La.). President Obama won Cao's district in 2008 by a three-to-one margin over Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.).

      Castle ran for the Senate but lost in the GOP primary to Christine O'Donnell.

      NBC and CNN have declared Republicans will take over the House, but polls are still open in several West Coast states.

      Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee Chairman Chris Van Hollen (Md.) said of NBC's call: "I think that's a mistake ... way too early."

      Republicans need a net gain of 39 seats to take control of the lower chamber and most non-partisan analysts believe the GOP will get that and might even top the 52 House seats Republicans won in 1994. 


— Russell Berman, Michael O’Brien, Kevin Bogardus, Bob Cusack, Shane D'Aprile, and Mike Lillis contributed to this article.

      -- This story was originally posted at 8:32 p.m. and last updated at 11:40 p.m., 11:48 p.m., 11:56 p.m., and 11:59 p.m.
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.