Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.
 

Re: [pcgen] Re: [BUG] or [RULES] with Int bonus items

Expand Messages
  • Terry FitzSimons
    ... If you want you can put the additional skill points in the box and spend them. You will just have a negative number the next turn, but you will still have
    Message 1 of 8 , Jul 27, 2006
      On Thu, 27 Jul 2006 11:38:48 -0000, you wrote:

      >--- In pcgen@yahoogroups.com, Susan Dittmar <Susan.Dittmar@...> wrote:
      >>
      >> > At this point, he got some lab time and made a headband of intellect
      >> > +6, making his effective int 28, +9 bonus.
      >> > The next level rolls around and I'm still on 9 skill points, not 12 as
      >> > I (and my DM) expected.
      >> >
      >> > My question is, have I missed something about Int conferred from items
      >> > not counting towards skill points gained (ie PCGen is correct), or is
      >> > this a bug?
      >>
      >> I can't quote the rules right now, but I am very very sure that PCGen is
      >> correct.
      >>
      >> If you gained additional skill points from that headband, you would
      >> have to keep track of those, so you can loose them whenever you remove the
      >> headband (i.e. whenever you go to sleep, wash your hair, ...)
      >>
      >> Susan
      >>
      >
      >Thanks for the responses.
      >
      >I realise completely why you'd want that interpretation. We operate on
      >a more trusting basis (ie trust players not to abuse their magic). If
      >you wear an item that boosts your intellect for months or years at a
      >time, your capacity for learning is increased over that period. If you
      >subsequently remove said item you don't forget those skills, you
      >certainly lose any Int bonus to skills you have already learned, but
      >the skills and knowledges you have mastered are still yours.
      >
      >Each to their own and, as I said, I'm happy to modify my own LSTs and
      >rebel against the majority :-)
      >
      If you want you can put the additional skill points in the box and spend
      them. You will just have a negative number the next turn, but you will
      still have the next turns skill points (plus headband if you add it) to
      spend either on your skills or reducing the negative number, or both.

      Terry
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.