Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Base attackes and 2 handed fighting

Expand Messages
  • ylestos
    As a ranger I ve attained the 6th level allowing multiple attacks, but I have a question to what stats to use for the 2nd attach with the main hand (or can I
    Message 1 of 7 , Sep 29, 2003
    • 0 Attachment
      As a ranger I've attained the 6th level allowing multiple attacks,
      but I have a question to what stats to use for the 2nd attach with
      the main hand (or can I use the off hand instead of main hand for 2nd
      attack)

      If these are the stats:

      *Sword (Long) +1
      HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
      Primary S M 19-20/x2
      1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
      Hit +11/+6 +11/+6 +11/+6 +7/+2 +9/+4 +7
      Dam 1d8+4 1d8+2 1d8+5 1d8+4 1d8+4 1d8+2

      *Sword, Short
      HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
      Off-hand P S 19-20/x2
      1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
      Hit +10/+5 +10/+5 +10/+5 +6/+1 +8/+3 +8
      Dam 1d6+3 1d6+1 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+1

      Then I would get for my first attack (Main hand/LongSword) a bonus of
      +9
      and for my first attack (Off hand/Short Sword) a bonus of +8

      For the 2nd attack main hand I assume that the bonus would be either
      +6 (1H-P) or +4 (2W - P - (OL)). During the second attack the off
      hand is not used, so will the first bonus (1H - P one hand primary)
      be used or not?

      Ylestos
    • Andy Knight
      When you use the off hand attack, you take the two-weapon fighting penalties to ALL of your attacks with the primary weapon. That s why it has +9/+4 under
      Message 2 of 7 , Sep 29, 2003
      • 0 Attachment
        When you use the off hand attack, you take the two-weapon
        fighting penalties to ALL of your attacks with the primary
        weapon. That's why it has "+9/+4" under 2W-P-(OL). So,
        your second longsword attack is at +4.

        -----Original Message-----
        From: ylestos

        As a ranger I've attained the 6th level allowing multiple
        attacks,
        but I have a question to what stats to use for the 2nd
        attach with
        the main hand (or can I use the off hand instead of main
        hand for 2nd
        attack)

        If these are the stats:

        *Sword (Long) +1
        HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
        Primary S M 19-20/x2
        1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
        Hit +11/+6 +11/+6 +11/+6 +7/+2 +9/+4 +7
        Dam 1d8+4 1d8+2 1d8+5 1d8+4 1d8+4 1d8+2

        *Sword, Short
        HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
        Off-hand P S 19-20/x2
        1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
        Hit +10/+5 +10/+5 +10/+5 +6/+1 +8/+3 +8
        Dam 1d6+3 1d6+1 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+1

        Then I would get for my first attack (Main hand/LongSword) a
        bonus of
        +9
        and for my first attack (Off hand/Short Sword) a bonus of +8

        For the 2nd attack main hand I assume that the bonus would
        be either
        +6 (1H-P) or +4 (2W - P - (OL)). During the second attack
        the off
        hand is not used, so will the first bonus (1H - P one hand
        primary)
        be used or not?

        Ylestos
      • Hetter
        ... For your second attacks, you would use +4 (Primary hand, 2W-P-(OL) (just in case you didn t know, that means two weapons, primary hand, off-hand weapon is
        Message 3 of 7 , Sep 29, 2003
        • 0 Attachment
          ylestos wrote:

          >As a ranger I've attained the 6th level allowing multiple attacks,
          >but I have a question to what stats to use for the 2nd attach with
          >the main hand (or can I use the off hand instead of main hand for 2nd
          >attack)
          >
          >If these are the stats:
          >
          >*Sword (Long) +1
          >HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
          >Primary S M 19-20/x2
          > 1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
          >Hit +11/+6 +11/+6 +11/+6 +7/+2 +9/+4 +7
          >Dam 1d8+4 1d8+2 1d8+5 1d8+4 1d8+4 1d8+2
          >
          >*Sword, Short
          >HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
          >Off-hand P S 19-20/x2
          > 1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
          >Hit +10/+5 +10/+5 +10/+5 +6/+1 +8/+3 +8
          >Dam 1d6+3 1d6+1 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+1
          >
          >Then I would get for my first attack (Main hand/LongSword) a bonus of
          >+9
          >and for my first attack (Off hand/Short Sword) a bonus of +8
          >
          >For the 2nd attack main hand I assume that the bonus would be either
          >+6 (1H-P) or +4 (2W - P - (OL)). During the second attack the off
          >hand is not used, so will the first bonus (1H - P one hand primary)
          >be used or not?
          >
          >
          >
          For your second attacks, you would use +4 (Primary hand, 2W-P-(OL) (just
          in case you didn't know, that means two weapons, primary hand, off-hand
          weapon is light). You would not get an attack with your off hand for
          your second attack as 2W-OH (two weapons, off-hand) only has one attack
          listed.

          Hetter
          TM Gibbon
        • ylestos
          Message 4 of 7 , Sep 30, 2003
          • 0 Attachment
            --- In pcgen@yahoogroups.com, "Andy Knight" <kofspain@s...> wrote:
            > When you use the off hand attack, you take the two-weapon
            > fighting penalties to ALL of your attacks with the primary
            > weapon. That's why it has "+9/+4" under 2W-P-(OL). So,
            > your second longsword attack is at +4.
            >
            > -----Original Message-----
            > From: ylestos
            >
            > As a ranger I've attained the 6th level allowing multiple
            > attacks,
            > but I have a question to what stats to use for the 2nd
            > attach with
            > the main hand (or can I use the off hand instead of main
            > hand for 2nd
            > attack)
            >
            > If these are the stats:
            >
            > *Sword (Long) +1
            > HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
            > Primary S M 19-20/x2
            > 1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
            > Hit +11/+6 +11/+6 +11/+6 +7/+2 +9/+4 +7
            > Dam 1d8+4 1d8+2 1d8+5 1d8+4 1d8+4 1d8+2
            >
            > *Sword, Short
            > HAND TYPE SIZE CRITICAL
            > Off-hand P S 19-20/x2
            > 1H-P 1H-O 2H 2W-P-(OH) 2W-P-(OL) 2W-OH
            > Hit +10/+5 +10/+5 +10/+5 +6/+1 +8/+3 +8
            > Dam 1d6+3 1d6+1 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+3 1d6+1
            >
            > Then I would get for my first attack (Main hand/LongSword) a
            > bonus of
            > +9
            > and for my first attack (Off hand/Short Sword) a bonus of +8
            >
            > For the 2nd attack main hand I assume that the bonus would
            > be either
            > +6 (1H-P) or +4 (2W - P - (OL)). During the second attack
            > the off
            > hand is not used, so will the first bonus (1H - P one hand
            > primary)
            > be used or not?
            >
            > Ylestos
          • ylestos
            All, Apparentely my previous reply did not come through ... but with the ... Message: 5 Date: Mon, 29 Sep 2003 15:38:07 -0500 From: Andy Knight
            Message 5 of 7 , Oct 1, 2003
            • 0 Attachment
              All,

              Apparentely my previous reply did not come through ... but with the
              responses so far that:
              >>>>>>>>>>
              Message: 5
              Date: Mon, 29 Sep 2003 15:38:07 -0500
              From: "Andy Knight" <kofspain@...>
              Subject: RE: Base attackes and 2 handed fighting

              When you use the off hand attack, you take the two-weapon
              fighting penalties to ALL of your attacks with the primary
              weapon. That's why it has "+9/+4" under 2W-P-(OL). So,
              your second longsword attack is at +4.
              ___________________
              For your second attacks, you would use +4 (Primary hand, 2W-P-(OL)
              (just in case you didn't know, that means two weapons, primary hand,
              off-hand weapon is light). You would not get an attack with your off
              hand for your second attack as 2W-OH (two weapons, off-hand) only has
              one attack listed.

              <<<<<<<<<<

              I have the additional question that during that second attack, the
              off hand is not used , meaning that you do not need to take the
              penalty of using that hand (you can use it to keep your balance ..)

              Ylestos
            • ovka
              ... No. Once you use the off-hand, the penalty applies to all attacks made with the primary hand until the next round. Cheers, Sir George Anonymous
              Message 6 of 7 , Oct 1, 2003
              • 0 Attachment
                --- In pcgen@yahoogroups.com, "ylestos" <ylestos@t...> wrote:
                >I have the additional question that during that second attack, the
                >off hand is not used , meaning that you do not need to take the
                >penalty of using that hand (you can use it to keep your balance ..)

                No. Once you use the off-hand, the penalty applies to all attacks
                made with the primary hand until the next round.

                Cheers,

                Sir George Anonymous
              • Vance
                ... Just a couple comments/clarifications: 1) The Two-Weapon fighting penalties apply to ALL attacks made that turn, not just the ones made after you use the
                Message 7 of 7 , Oct 1, 2003
                • 0 Attachment
                  >
                  > No. Once you use the off-hand, the penalty applies to all attacks
                  > made with the primary hand until the next round.

                  Just a couple comments/clarifications:
                  1) The Two-Weapon fighting penalties apply to ALL attacks made that turn,
                  not just the ones made after you use the Off-Hand weapon.
                  So, if your normak attacks were +6/+1, they would now be +0/-5 for the
                  Primary hand and -4 for the Off-Hand (feats and light weapons will change
                  this) no matter what order you swung your weapons. If you take a swing with
                  your Primary weapon at +6, then you cannot swing your off-hand weapon.

                  2) Since the only attacks you can make "until the next round" other than
                  your turn are attacks of opportunity. Page 137 of the PHB says "You make
                  your attack of opportunity, however, at your NORMAL attack bonus-----even if
                  you've already attacked in the round."
                  VR
                Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.