Re: Error PC Gen 5.17.7
- Life to you, Andrew. And everlasting glory.
Thanks for clearing up the Martial Weapon Proficiency Feat. As for the
Metamagic feats, they are listed as Type Metamagic.Wizard, and unless
you can cast spells they are absolutely useless to you, as they all
increase the level of the spell being cast. So you can't use them with
any magical device, unless you have it added during the creation of the
device. And as for your example of a Fighter/Wizard, you've selected a
spell caster you qualify to use the feats in question and they may prove
--- In firstname.lastname@example.org, Andrew <drew0500@...> wrote:
> Yes, we aren't granting the Martial Weapon Proficiency Feat, we've
altered how we are doing that.
> That would be me, and there was a very good reason for doing it - The
code had changed requiring
> that you SELECT the proficiency granted... And since the number of
martial proficiencies fluctuates
> based upon the sets you load, I took steps to fix it so we wouldn't
have to worry about it, and show
> that the character does have the "feat" if need be. As long as nothing
has changed and it works,
> there shouldn't be an issue. You'll see the Martial Weapon Proficiency
listed on the character sheet
> if you export it.
> Doug already answered the Metamagic Feats, unless there is a reason
they shouldn't qualify, i.e. the
> feat says must be x, then I agree, it's working as expected and
nothing needs to be done.
> After all, what if you're playing a Fighter/Wizard?
> On 7/2/2011 4:42 AM, distant_scholar wrote:
> > Martial Weapon Proficiencies: I do know that there's been a change
in how the classes proficient in all martial weapons are handled between
5.16.4 and 5.17.7 (I'm not quite sure when the change happened). That
might be part of the first item.
> > As for metamagic feats, I can't see any reason why a fighter (et
al.) would not qualify for a metamagic feat. They wouldn't get any use
out of it, but there's no "must be a spellcaster" or the like listed in
> > --- In email@example.com, "stepson_nikodemos" stepson.nikodemos@
> >> Life to you, Data Monkeys. And everlasting glory.
> >> I'm using PC Gen 5.17.7, and the 3.5 RSRD Campaign Set I and the
> >> complete 3.5 RSRD. I've noticed two things that Martial Weapon
> >> Proficiency do not show in the Ability section of the Feats &
> >> tab, for the Barbarian, Fighter, Ranger and the class i'm copying
> >> Thieves' World Player's Manual. Yet you can still pick the martial
> >> weapons from the equipment list as you qualify to use them due to
> >> All Martial Weapons Proficiency code in the classes.lst.
> >> The other thing i've noticed is that the Barbarian, Fighter, Monk,
> >> and the class i'm copying from Thieves' World Player's Manual. All
> >> these classes have access too Metamagic Feats, even
> >> Feats.
> >> Yours Niko
> >> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
> > ------------------------------------
> > Related Lists
> > PCGen's release site: http://pcgen.sourceforge.net
> > PCGen's Wiki: http://wiki.pcgen.org/
> > PCGen's Roadmap: http://wiki.pcgen.org/index.php?title=Roadmap
> > PCGen's alpha build: http://pcgen.sourceforge.net/07_autobuilds.php
> > PCGen's Online Docs:
> > PCGen's Backup Autobuilds and Docs:
> > PCGen List File Help:
> > (for assistance in creating new homebrew or official list files)
> > PCGen Experimental:
> > (for new official data source development)
> > Yahoo! Groups Links
> Andrew Maitland (LegacyKing)
> Admin Silverback - PCGen Board of Directors
> Data 2nd, Docs Tamarin, OS Lemur
> Unique Title "Quick-Silverback Tracker Monkey"
> Unique Title "The Torturer of PCGen"
> [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
- The program is set up to allow "legal" choices, not necessarily "smart" choices. I bet one could give a character Weapon Specialization (Net) for all the good it would do.
The Metamagic TYPE just means the feat counts as a Metamagic feat (for prerequisite purposes). The Wizard TYPE just means the feat can be taken as a Wizard Bonus Feat. Neither is a restriction on who can take it.
As far as the Fighter/Wizard goes, I can imagine someone planning a Fighter/Wizard starting with Fighter and wanting to take (say) Still Spell as the 1st-level feat, before any spellcasting is available. The rules don't stop it.
--- In firstname.lastname@example.org, "stepson_nikodemos" <stepson.nikodemos@...> wrote:
> Life to you, Andrew. And everlasting glory.
> Thanks for clearing up the Martial Weapon Proficiency Feat. As for the
> Metamagic feats, they are listed as Type Metamagic.Wizard, and unless
> you can cast spells they are absolutely useless to you, as they all
> increase the level of the spell being cast. So you can't use them with
> any magical device, unless you have it added during the creation of the
> device. And as for your example of a Fighter/Wizard, you've selected a
> spell caster you qualify to use the feats in question and they may prove
> Yours Niko