RE: [patriotzip] Question for rules geeks - DPI in EZ when LOS inside the 1?
Actually, I think it stays at the one yard line as the announcement is ‘By rule, the ball is placed at the one yard line’.
It’s not really punishing the offense since you get a new set of downs. If you can’t get it in from the one yard on 3-4 (or more tries) you probably don’t deserve the 6 points anyhow.
in that case the ball would be spotted half the distance to the goal, or essentially at the same spot and a new first down
From: Rich Carreiro <rich@...>
To: patriots@...; Zip Patriots List <firstname.lastname@example.org>
Sent: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 9:45 PM
Subject: [patriotzip] Question for rules geeks - DPI in EZ when LOS inside the 1?
If the offense has the ball at the defense's 1-foot line and there's DPI
in the endzone, what's the spot? Refs always say "Defensive pass
interference in the endzone. By rule the ball will be placed at the one
yard line." But that would be punishing the offense in this case. Is it
actually the closer-to-goalline of the 1 or the previous spot? Or is it
really the 1 yard line?
Rich Carreiro rich@...