Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Re: [patriotzip] Question for rules geeks - DPI in EZ when LOS inside the 1?

Expand Messages
  • sean carmichael
    in that case the ball would be spotted half the distance to the goal, or essentially at the same spot and a new first down ________________________________
    Message 1 of 3 , Nov 14, 2012
    • 0 Attachment

      in that case the ball would be spotted half the distance to the goal, or essentially at the same spot and a new first down

      From: Rich Carreiro <rich@...>
      To: patriots@...; Zip Patriots List <patriotzip@yahoogroups.com>
      Sent: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 9:45 PM
      Subject: [patriotzip] Question for rules geeks - DPI in EZ when LOS inside the 1?

       
      If the offense has the ball at the defense's 1-foot line and there's DPI
      in the endzone, what's the spot? Refs always say "Defensive pass
      interference in the endzone. By rule the ball will be placed at the one
      yard line." But that would be punishing the offense in this case. Is it
      actually the closer-to-goalline of the 1 or the previous spot? Or is it
      really the 1 yard line?

      --
      Rich Carreiro rich@...


    • Gary Whitten
      Actually, I think it stays at the one yard line as the announcement is ‘By rule, the ball is placed at the one yard line’. It’s not really punishing the
      Message 2 of 3 , Nov 15, 2012
      • 0 Attachment

        Actually, I think it stays at the one yard line as the announcement is ‘By rule, the ball is placed at the one yard line’.

         

        It’s not really punishing the offense since you get a new set of downs.   If you can’t get it in from the one yard on 3-4 (or more tries) you probably don’t deserve the 6 points anyhow.

         

        From: patriotzip@yahoogroups.com [mailto:patriotzip@yahoogroups.com] On Behalf Of sean carmichael
        Sent: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 10:12 PM
        To: patriotzip@yahoogroups.com
        Subject: Re: [patriotzip] Question for rules geeks - DPI in EZ when LOS inside the 1?

         




         

        in that case the ball would be spotted half the distance to the goal, or essentially at the same spot and a new first down


        From: Rich Carreiro <rich@...>
        To: patriots@...; Zip Patriots List <patriotzip@yahoogroups.com>
        Sent: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 9:45 PM
        Subject: [patriotzip] Question for rules geeks - DPI in EZ when LOS inside the 1?

         

         

        If the offense has the ball at the defense's 1-foot line and there's DPI
        in the endzone, what's the spot? Refs always say "Defensive pass
        interference in the endzone. By rule the ball will be placed at the one
        yard line." But that would be punishing the offense in this case. Is it
        actually the closer-to-goalline of the 1 or the previous spot? Or is it
        really the 1 yard line?

        --
        Rich Carreiro rich@...

         




      Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.