RE: [patriotzip] Rule clarification on Completion to Mankins
If his arm was coming forward then the ball would have tumbled in front of Brady unless it struck something which could possibly cause it to be redirected, possibly backwards, but up and back 27 feet? I watched the replay closely and I saw his arm hit while it was moving back not forward. But its all meaningless now, as officially it is a forward pass and illegally touched by Mankins though I doubt he is being told by the coaching staff to not do it again. I still feel that it was a good call on Mankins part.
From: firstname.lastname@example.org [mailto:email@example.com] On Behalf Of sean carmichael
Sent: Tuesday, October 02, 2007 5:31 PM
Subject: Re: [patriotzip] Rule clarification on Completion to Mankins
Brady was hit as he was brining his arm forward for a pass, ala the "tuck rule", instead of going down, the ball went up, Mankins stepped forward and caught the ball to keep it from being caught by a Bengal, then took a knee to keep from being stripped of it, it was ruled a forward pass, so it was an illegal touch