Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Linux Audio Conference #6 (LAC2008): Call for Papers, Music, etc.

Expand Messages
  • Frank Barknecht
    Dear all, we are happy to announce the call for papers, music and installations for the 6th International Linux Audio Conference (LAC2008). LAC2008 will take
    Message 1 of 1 , Oct 1, 2007
    • 0 Attachment
      Dear all,

      we are happy to announce the call for papers, music and installations
      for the 6th International Linux Audio Conference (LAC2008). LAC2008
      will take place in Cologne (Germany) Feb 28th to March 2nd 2008.

      The Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, is proud to host the 2008 issue of
      this event, where once a year programmers and artists, musicians,
      composers and practioneers gather to discuss and explore new and
      important developments in making music and sounds with Linux and Open
      Source software.

      The Linux Audio Conference is both a meeting of developers writing
      audio software for Linux as it is a music festival, where artists from
      all over the world show how free software can create fresh and
      exciting new sounds.

      Find the various calls for papers, music and installations attached to
      this mail. Further informations and an overview over all calls can be
      found at

      http://lac.linuxaudio.org

      As mentioned in the calls in detail, the deadline for both paper and
      music submissions is December 1st 2007, while the deadline for
      installations is already October 19th 2007.

      We are looking forward to many interesting submissions for the 6th
      International Linux Audio Conference 2008 and we hope to see you in
      Cologne 2008!

      Please feel free to forward this e-mail to anybody who might be
      interested.

      On behalf of the LAC2008 organisation team,
      --
      Frank Barknecht and Martin Rumori

      ----------

      Linux Audio Conference 2008 Cologne, Germany
      28.02.--02.03.2008

      Call for Installation Proposals
      ===============================
      http://lac.linuxaudio.org/download/lac2008_callforinstallations.txt

      The conference will include an exhibition of sound art or mixed media
      art with a substantial sound portion. This exhibition will consist of
      works by students of the Academy of Media Arts (KHM) Cologne and
      artists from outside the KHM. We are looking for installation
      projects with a substantial sound portion which have been entirely or
      mostly produced under Linux and/or with open source software for
      inclusion in the abovementioned exhibition.

      Installation proposals may be designed for a specific presentation
      space and/or reflect certain aspects of the exhibition venue. In
      order to give some impressions of the venue, photos of the different
      spaces available for the exhibition along with some notes are provided
      for download at

      http://lac.linuxaudio.org/download/lac2008_exhibition_info.tar.gz

      Proposals for entirely self-contained and non-site-specific projects
      are also welcome. The submission of proposals for previously
      unrealised installations is encouraged, though installations which
      already have been shown may also get selected.

      The artistic and technical realisation of the selected proposals is
      completely up to the artists. Basic technical support for the
      exhibition (electricity, standard network access, limited basic
      assistance) is provided by the conference organisers.

      Out of all submitted proposals, two projects will be selected for
      funded realisation by a jury. To each of the two selected projects, a
      scholarship of EUR 2.000,00 will be granted. This fee should cover
      the entire realisation of the project, material expenses, travel,
      accomodation and all further expenses in conjunction with the
      realisation of the project. The selected artists are invited to use
      the school's facilities (e.g. laboratories, studios) free of charge
      for realising the work. In case a selected proposal has been
      submitted by more than one artist, one person has to be elected by the
      team for being responsible for the project, signing the contract and
      receiving the money due to legal issues.

      IMPORTANT NOTE: Due to legal issues, the scholarships for the projects
      can only be given to non-germans, i.e. to anybody whose nationality is
      NOT german.

      Further projects might be invited for inclusion in the exhibition but
      whithout granting any funding from the conference.

      For submission, please use the form provided with the photo material.
      Submission is via e-mail to:

      lac@...

      Deadline: Friday, October 19, 2007, 24:00:00 CEST (+2)

      THIS IS EQUAL TO (all winter times from now on):
      October 20, 2007, 08:00:00 AEST (+10)
      October 20, 2007, 07:00:00 JST (+9)
      October 20, 2007, 01:00:00 MSK (+3)
      October 20, 2007, 00:00:00 EET (+2)
      October 19, 2007, 23:00:00 CET (+1)
      October 19, 2007, 22:00:00 UTC (GMT, 0)
      October 19, 2007, 18:00:00 AST (-4)
      October 19, 2007, 17:00:00 EST (-5)
      October 19, 2007, 16:00:00 CST (-6)
      October 19, 2007, 15:00:00 MST (-7)
      October 19, 2007, 14:00:00 PST (-8)

      This is a HARD deadline which will NOT be extended under any
      circumstances. You have been warned.

      ----------

      Linux Audio Conference 2008 Cologne, Germany
      28.02.-02.03.2008

      Call for Music
      ==============
      http://lac.linuxaudio.org/download/lac2008_callformusic.txt

      The conference will include several concerts. We are looking for music
      that has been produced completely or mostly under Linux and/or with
      open source software from every genre: compositions, Electronica,
      Chill-Out, Ambient, etc.

      If you want to participate, either send your composition(s) to this
      address:

      LAC2008 - Call for Music
      Kunsthochschule f�r Medien
      Martin Rumori
      Peter-Welter-Platz 2
      D-50676 K�ln
      Germany

      or send your submission via email to: lac@...

      Please do not attach any media files to email submissions, only
      provide a URL to where the piece can be downloaded.

      Make use of one of the following media formats:

      * Media: Audio-CD, DVD, DVD-R, CD-R, Website download
      * File formats: aiff, wav, flac, ogg, mp3
      * Samplerate: 44.1 or 48 kHz
      * Resolution: 16 or 24 bit
      * Number of channels: 1 to 8 channels
      * Channel format: multi-channel interleaved, multi-mono

      Include the following items with your submission (in English):

      * A filled-out and signed printout of the form available here:

      http://lac.linuxaudio.org/download/lac2008_musicagreement.pdf

      The form can be filled out with a computer and printed out afterwards
      for signing.

      For the printed program and to be published online and on the
      conference CD, in continuous text (no table or list please):

      * short commentary on the composition(s) (each ca. 150 words)
      * short Curriculum Vitae (ca. 100 words)

      Deadline for submissions is 01 Dec 2007

      A jury will select the compositions that will be performed/played.

      Besides artistic criteria and technical reasons, these criteria apply
      for the selection:

      Tape pieces or pieces which are performed by the composers themselves
      will generally have more chances to get included. If we get more
      pieces than we can include in the program, composers who are attending
      the conference are preferred.

      Terms and conditions for participation can be found in the form
      mentioned above. This form includes among other things:

      I will receive no fees whether my composition is played or not. GEMA
      fees (in case of performance) will be paid by the organizer. The
      material I send to the LAC organisation team will not be returned.

      Important Dates
      ----------------

      01 Dec 2007: Music submission deadline
      28 Feb - 2 Mar 2008: Linux Audio Conference in Cologne

      ----------

      Linux Audio Conference 2008 Cologne, Germany
      28.02.-02.03.2008

      Call for Papers
      ===============
      http://lac.linuxaudio.org/download/lac2008_callforpapers.txt

      We invite submissions of papers addressing all areas of audio
      processing based on Linux and open source software. Papers can focus
      on technical, artistic or scientific issues and can target developers
      or users. This includes (but is not limited to) the following
      categories:

      * Computer Music
      * Music Production
      * Instruments
      * Drivers and Sound Architecture
      * Audio Distributions
      * Generic (Usage, Documentation etc.)

      The conference is held in English.

      Length of a paper is 4-8 pages. Papers have to include an abstract
      (50-100 words). The abstract will be published separately on the
      conference website once the paper has been accepted. Also, papers
      should include up to 5 keywords.

      In general talks should take 20-30 minutes followed by 5 minutes
      discussion.

      Please notify us if you need a special technical setup. The technical
      standard setup will be:

      * microphone/head set
      * projector with XVGA input (resolution 1024x768)
      * stereo speaker setup with mini jack input

      If you are not able to bring your laptop along with you, please notify
      us in advance.

      How to submit
      --------------

      * Do not send papers via email as with the past LAC conferences!

      * Instead papers will be submitted via the online form that opens
      on the Linux Audio Conference website in mid/end october at

      http://lac.linuxaudio.org

      A separate reminder will be sent out when the submission form is
      open.

      * File format is PDF, formatted for A4 paper. Make use of the
      templates for paper formatting available at:

      http://lac.linuxaudio.org/download/lac2008_templates.tar.gz

      * Authors of papers selected to be included in the printed
      conference proceedings will also have to supply supplemental
      material like illustrations needed to layout the printed
      proceedings separately.

      * Deadline for paper submission is 1 Dec 2007

      Important Dates
      ----------------

      01 Dec 2007: Paper submission deadline
      28 Feb - 2 Mar 2008: Linux Audio Conference in Cologne


      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.