Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Re: [mythsoc] 2012 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced

Expand Messages
  • Doug Kane
    Congratulations to all the finalists! From: Oberhelman, D Sent: Wednesday, May 23, 2012 8:20 AM To: mythsoc@yahoogroups.com Subject: [mythsoc] 2012 Mythopoeic
    Message 1 of 3 , May 23, 2012
    View Source
    • 0 Attachment
      Congratulations to all the finalists!
      Sent: Wednesday, May 23, 2012 8:20 AM
      Subject: [mythsoc] 2012 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced

       

      The Mythopoeic Society

      PRESS RELEASE:  May 22, 2012

      2012 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

      Lisa Goldstein, The Uncertain Places (Tachyon)

      Erin Morgenstern, The Night Circus (Doubleday)

      Richard Parks, The Heavenly Fox (PS Publishing)

      Catherynne M. Valente, Deathless (Tor)

      Jo Walton, Among Others (Tor)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

      Lisa Mantchev, Théâtre Illuminata series, consisting of Eyes Like Stars, Perchance to Dream, and So Silver Bright (Feiwel and Friends)

      Tamora Pierce, Beka Cooper trilogy, consisting of Terrier, Bloodhound, and Mastiff (Random House)

      Delia Sherman, The Freedom Maze (Big Mouth House)

      Maggie Stiefvater, The Scorpio Races (Scholastic)

      Catherynne M. Valente, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Feiwel and Friends)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

      Jason Fisher, ed.  Tolkien and the Study of His Sources: Critical Essays (McFarland, 2011)

      Wayne G. Hammond and Christina Scull, The Art of the Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (HarperCollins, 2011)

      Carl Phelpstead.  Tolkien and Wales: Language, Literature and Identity (Univ. of Wales Press, 2011)

      Sanford Schwartz.  C.S. Lewis on the Final Frontier: Science and the Supernatural in the Space Trilogy (Oxford Univ. Press, 2009)

      Steve Walker, The Power of Tolkien’s Prose: Middle-earth’s Magical Style (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

      Ruth B. Bottigheimer, Fairy Tales: A New History (SUNY Press, 2009)

      Bonnie Gaarden, The Christian Goddess: Archetype and Theology in the Fantasies of George MacDonald (Fairleigh Dickinson Univ. Press, 2011)

      Ursula K. Le Guin, Cheek by Jowl (Aqueduct Press, 2009)

      Darrell Schweitzer, The Fantastic Horizon: Essays and Reviews (Borgo Press, 2009)

      Jack Zipes, The Enchanted Screen: The Unknown History of Fairy-Tale Films (Routledge, 2011)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2011 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2009–2011) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XLIII, to be held from August 3-6, in Berkeley, California. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site: http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator: David D. Oberhelman, awards@...

      No virus found in this message.
      Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
      Version: 2012.0.2171 / Virus Database: 2425/5016 - Release Date: 05/22/12

      No virus found in this message.
      Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
      Version: 2012.0.2171 / Virus Database: 2425/5016 - Release Date: 05/22/12

    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.