Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Re: [mythsoc] 2011 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced

Expand Messages
  • Doug Kane
    Congratulations to all the finalists! From: Oberhelman, D Sent: Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:54 AM To: mythsoc@yahoogroups.com Subject: [mythsoc] 2011 Mythopoeic
    Message 1 of 2 , May 17, 2011
    View Source
    • 0 Attachment
      Congratulations to all the finalists!

      Sent: Tuesday, May 17, 2011 6:54 AM
      Subject: [mythsoc] 2011 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced

       

      The Mythopoeic Society

      PRESS RELEASE:  May 17, 2011

      2011 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

      Guy Gavriel Kay, Under Heaven (Roc)

      Karen Lord, Redemption in Indigo (Small Beer Press)

      Patricia A. McKillip, The Bards of Bone Plain (Ace)

      Devon Monk, A Cup of Normal (Fairwood Press)

      Sharon Shinn, Troubled Waters (Ace)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

      Catherine Fisher, Incarceron and Sapphique (Dial)

      Terry Pratchett, I Shall Wear Midnight (HarperCollins)

      Polly Shulman, The Grimm Legacy (Putnam Juvenile)

      Heather Tomlinson, Toads and Diamonds (Henry Holt)

      Megan Whalen Turner, The Queen’s Thief series, consisting of The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings (Greenwillow Books)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

      Bradford Lee Eden, ed., Middle-earth Minstrel: Essays on Music in Tolkien (McFarland, 2010)

      Verlyn Flieger and Douglas A. Anderson, eds., Tolkien on Fairy-stories: Expanded Edition, with Commentary and Notes (HarperCollins, 2008)

      Douglas Charles Kane, Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion (Lehigh Univ. Press, 2009)

      Steve Walker, The Power of Tolkien’s Prose: Middle-earth’s Magical Style (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)

      Michael Ward, Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis (Oxford Univ. Press, 2008)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

      Don W. King, ed., Out of my Bone: The Letters of Joy Davidman (Eerdmans Pub., 2009)

      Ursula K. Le Guin, Cheek by Jowl (Aqueduct Press, 2009)

      Farah Mendlesohn, Rhetorics of Fantasy (Wesleyan Univ. Press, 2008)

      Leslie A. Sconduto, Metamorphoses of the Werewolf: A Literary Study from Antiquity through the Renaissance (McFarland, 2008)

      Caroline Sumpter, The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2010 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2008–2010) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibilit y is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XLII, to be held from July 15-18, in Albuquerque, New Mexico. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site: http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator: David D. Oberhelman, awards@...


      No virus found in this message.
      Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
      Version: 10.0.1321 / Virus Database: 1509/3642 - Release Date: 05/16/11

    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.