Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Call for Nominations for Mythopoeic Awards Extended to Feb. 28

Expand Messages
  • Oberhelman, D
    Greetings, The call for nominations and for committee volunteers for the Mythopoeic Fantasy Awards (Adult and Children s Literature) and the Mythopoeic
    Message 1 of 1 , Feb 12, 2010

      The call for nominations and for committee volunteers for the Mythopoeic Fantasy Awards (Adult and Children's Literature) and the Mythopoeic Scholarship Awards (Inklings and Myth and Fantasy Studies) has been extended to February 28, 2010. Guidelines for eligibility are listed below. Thank you,

      David Oberhelman


      Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2010 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) Deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 28, 2010; send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors or publishers may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      Winners of the 2010 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 41st Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon XLI), to be held July 9-12, 2010 at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas.

      Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

      David Oberhelman
      306 Edmon Low Library
      Oklahoma State University
      Stillwater, OK 74078
      Email: awards@...
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.