Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

2009 Mythopoeic Awards -- Call for Nominations

Expand Messages
  • Oberhelman, D
    2009 Mythopoeic Awards Announcement Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2009 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to
    Message 1 of 1 , Dec 1, 2008
      2009 Mythopoeic Awards Announcement

      Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2009 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 15, 2009; send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors or publishers may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      Winners of the 2009 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 40th Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon XL), to be held from July 17-20, 2009 at the UCLA DeNeve Plaza in Los Angeles, California.

      Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

      David Oberhelman
      306 Edmon Low Library
      Oklahoma State University
      Stillwater, OK 74078
      Email: awards@...<mailto:awards@...>

      For a list of previous winners and more information, please visit http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.