Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

MFA-MSA 2008 Announcement

Expand Messages
  • Oberhelman, D
    The Mythopoeic Society PRESS RELEASE: June 6, 2008 2008 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Goss, Theodora, In the Forest
    Message 1 of 1 , Jun 7, 2008
      The Mythopoeic Society
      PRESS RELEASE: June 6, 2008

      2008 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

      Goss, Theodora, In the Forest of Forgetting (Prime Books)

      Hopkinson, Nalo, The New Moon�s Arms (Grand Central Publishing)

      Kay, Guy Gavriel, Ysabel (Roc)

      Valente, Catherynne M., Orphan�s Tales, consisting of In the Night Garden (Spectra) and In the Cities of Coin and Spice (Spectra)

      Wright, John C., Chronicles of Chaos, consisting of Orphans of Chaos (Tor); Fugitives of Chaos (Tor); and Titans of Chaos (Tor)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children�s Literature

      Black, Holly, Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale (Simon & Schuster); Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faerie (Simon & Schuster); and Ironside: A Modern Faery�s Tale (Margaret K. McElderry)

      Landy, Derek, Skulduggery Pleasant (HarperCollins)

      Rowling, J.K., The Harry Potter series, consisting of Harry Potter and the Philosopher�s [Sorcerer�s] Stone (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Bloomsbury); Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Bloomsbury); and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Bloomsbury)

      Springer, Nancy, Dusssie (Walker Books for Young Readers)

      Thompson, Kate, The New Policeman (HarperTeen)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

      Burns, Marjorie, Perilous Realms: Celtic and Norse in Tolkien's Middle-earth (University of Toronto Press, 2005)

      Flieger, Verlyn, Interrupted Music: The Making of Tolkien's Mythology (Kent State University Press, 2005)

      Gilliver, Peter, Jeremy Marshall, and Edmund Weiner, The Ring of Words: Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press, 2006)

      Glyer, Diana Pavlac; appendix by David Bratman, The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community (Kent State University Press, 2007)

      Rateliff, John D., The History of the Hobbit, Part One, Mr Baggins; Part Two, Return to Bag-End (HarperCollins, 2007)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

      Butler, Charles, Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children's Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper (Children's Literature Association & Scarecrow Press, 2006)

      O�Donoghue, Heather, From Asgard to Valhalla: The Remarkable History of the Norse Myths (I.B. Tauris, 2007)

      Shippey, T.A., editor, The Shadow-Walkers: Jacob Grimm�s Mythology of the Monstrous (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2005)

      Tuerk, Richard Carl, Oz in Perspective: The Magic and Myth of the L. Frank Baum Books (McFarland & Co., 2007)

      Williamson, Milly, The Lure of the Vampire: Gender, Fiction and Fandom from Bram Stoker to Buffy (Wallflower, 2006)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2007 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2005�2007) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      The winners of this year's awards will be announced during Mythcon XXXIX, to be held from August 15-18, 2008, in New Britain, Connecticut. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:


      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section.

      For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator:
      David D. Oberhelman, awards@....

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.