Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Re: [mythsoc] Mythopoeic Awards 2008 -- Call for Nominations and Committee Volunteers

Expand Messages
  • Diane Joy Baker
    I d like to be on the Adult Awards Committee; I ve sent in membership $, but haven t yet gotten acknowledgement. ... From: Oberhelman, D To:
    Message 1 of 2 , Jan 9, 2008
      I'd like to be on the Adult Awards Committee; I've sent in membership $, but haven't yet gotten acknowledgement.

      ----- Original Message -----
      From: Oberhelman, D
      To: mythsoc@yahoogroups.com
      Sent: Thursday, January 03, 2008 11:25 AM
      Subject: [mythsoc] Mythopoeic Awards 2008 -- Call for Nominations and Committee Volunteers

      Happy Tolkien's birthday to all, and with that, I wanted to pass along
      the call for nominations and for committee member volunteers for the
      2008 Mythopoeic Fantasy and Scholarship Awards. The details are below,
      along with guidelines for eligibility. Please send all correspondence
      to me off-list or to awards@....

      After February 15 I will be in touch with the committee members and we
      will begin our process. The awards will be announced at Mythcon in
      Connecticut this summer. I will send a few reminders on the list, so
      please give me your nominations and let me know which committee(s) you
      would like to serve on this year. Previous award winners and finalists
      are listed at http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/.


      David Oberhelman

      (He Who Is Trying to Fill Ellie Farrell's Most Wonderful Shoes for the

      2008 Mythopoeic Awards Announcement

      Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate
      books for the 2008 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on
      any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make
      nominations.) Deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations
      (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 15, 2008;
      send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below)
      via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors or publishers may not
      nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the
      Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society
      does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies "the
      spirit of the Inklings". Books not selected as finalists in the year
      after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series
      are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes
      eligible the year its final volume appears.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for
      younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning
      readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia.
      Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature
      award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for
      will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make
      significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books
      first published during the previous three years are eligible, including
      finalists for previous years.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to
      scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or
      to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of
      eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      Winners of the 2008 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 39th
      Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 39), to be held from August 15-18,
      2007, at Central Connecticut State University in New Britain,

      Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate
      books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic
      Awards process.

      David Oberhelman

      306 Edmon Low Library

      Oklahoma State University

      Stillwater, OK 74078

      Email: awards@...


      David D. Oberhelman

      Associate Professor

      Humanities-Social Sciences Division

      Oklahoma State University Library

      Stillwater, OK 74078

      Phone: (405) 744-9773

      Fax: (405) 744-7579

      Email: d.oberhelman@...

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.