Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

2007 MFA/MSA Finalists announced

Expand Messages
  • Eleanor Farrell
    The Mythopoeic Society PRESS RELEASE: June 9, 2007 2007 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Peter S. Beagle, The Line
    Message 1 of 1 , Jun 9, 2007
    • 0 Attachment
      The Mythopoeic Society
      PRESS RELEASE: June 9, 2007
      2007 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

      Peter S. Beagle, The Line Between (Tachyon Publications)
      Susanna Clarke, The Ladies of Grace Adieu (Bloomsbury USA)
      Keith Donohue, The Stolen Child (Nan A. Talese)
      Patricia A. McKillip, Solstice Wood (Ace Books)
      Susan Palwick, The Necessary Beggar (Tor)
      Tim Powers, Three Days to Never (William Morrow)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children s Literature
      Catherine Fisher, Corbenic (Greenwillow)
      Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Spirits That Walk in Shadow (Viking)
      Diana Wynne Jones, The Pinhoe Egg (Greenwillow)
      Martine Leavitt, Keturah and Lord Death (Front Street)
      Terry Pratchett, Wintersmith (HarperTeen)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies
      Marjorie Burns, Perilous Realms: Celtic and Norse in Tolkien's
      Middle-earth (University of Toronto Press, 2005)
      Verlyn Flieger, Interrupted Music: The Making of Tolkien's Mythology
      (Kent State University Press, 2005)
      Peter Gilliver, Jeremy Marshall and Edmund Weiner, The Ring of Words:
      Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University Press,
      Christina Scull and Wayne G. Hammond, The J.R.R. Tolkien Companion and
      (Houghton Mifflin, 2006)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies
      Simon Blaxland-de Lange, Owen Barfield: Romanticism Come of Age: A
      Biography (Temple Lodge, 2006)
      Jerry Griswold, The Meanings of Beauty and the Beast (Broadview Press,
      Charles Butler, Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the
      Children's Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne
      Jones, and Susan Cooper (Children's Literature Association & Scarecrow
      Press, 2006)
      G. Ronald Murphy, S.J., Gemstone of Paradise: The Holy Grail in
      Wolfram's Parzival
      (Oxford University Press, 2006)
      Milly Williamson, The Lure of the Vampire: Gender, Fiction and Fandom
      from Bram Stoker to Buffy (Wallflower, 2006)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during 2006 that best exemplifies the spirit of the
      Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not
      selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from
      a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series
      becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic
      Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger
      readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in
      the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for
      eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award.
      The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will
      be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions
      to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during
      the last three years (2004�2006) are eligible, including finalists for
      previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy
      Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the
      Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
      fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
      Studies award.

      The winners of this year's awards will be announced during Mythcon
      XXXVIII, to be held from August 3-6, 2007, in Berkeley, California. A
      complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society
      web site:


      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell,

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.