Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

2006 Mythopoeic Award winners

Expand Messages
  • Eleanor Farrell
    2006 Mythopoeic Award Winners Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Neil Gaiman, Anansi Boys (William Morrow) Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children s
    Message 1 of 1 , Aug 11, 2006
    • 0 Attachment
      2006 Mythopoeic Award Winners

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

      Neil Gaiman, Anansi Boys (William Morrow)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature

      Jonathan Stroud, The Bartimaeus Trilogy, consisting of The Amulet of
      Samarkand, The Golem's Eye, and Ptolemy's Gate (Hyperion)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

      Wayne G. Hammond and Christina Scull, The Lord of the Rings: A
      Reader's Companion
      (Houghton Mifflin, 2005)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

      Jennifer Schacker, National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in
      Nineteenth-Century England
      (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2003)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during 2005 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      Inklings". Books are eligible for two years after publication if not
      selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books
      from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the
      series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The
      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for
      younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning
      readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia.
      Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult
      Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is
      best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to
      books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant
      contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first
      published during the last three years (2003-2005) are eligible,
      including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship
      Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on
      other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general
      works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is
      three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      The winners of this year's awards were announced at Mythcon XXXVII in
      Norman, Oklahoma, on August 6, 2006. A complete list of Mythopoeic
      Award winners is available on the Society web site:

      www.mythsoc.org/awards.html

      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box
      320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.