Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

2004 Mythopoeic Award finalists announced

Expand Messages
  • Eleanor Farrell
    PRESS RELEASE: May 24, 2004 2004 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature *Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls (Eos) *Kij
    Message 1 of 1 , May 25, 2004
      PRESS RELEASE: May 24, 2004

      2004 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature
      *Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls (Eos)
      *Kij Johnson, Fudoki (Tor)
      *Ursula K. Le Guin, Changing Planes (Harcourt)
      *Patricia A. McKillip, In the Forests of Serre (Ace)
      *Robin McKinley, Sunshine (Berkley)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature
      *Kate DiCamillo, The Tale of Despereaux (Candlewick Press)
      *Clare Dunkle, The Hollow Kingdom (Holt)
      *Cornelia Funke, Inkheart, translated from German by Anthea Bell (The
      Chicken House)
      *Shannon Hale, The Goose Girl (Bloomsbury USA)
      *Terry Pratchett, The Wee Free Men (HarperCollins)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies
      *Jane Chance, ed., Tolkien the Medievalist (Routledge, 2003)
      *Matthew Dickerson, Following Gandalf: Epic Battles and Moral Victory
      in The Lord of the Rings (Brazos Press, 2003)
      *John Garth, Tolkien and the Great War: The Threshold of Middle-earth
      (Houghton Mifflin, 2003)
      *Don W. King, C.S. Lewis, Poet: The Legacy of His Poetic Impulse
      (Kent State University Press, 2001)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies

      *Mike Ashley, Algernon Blackwood: An Extraordinary Life (Carroll and
      Graf, 2001)
      *Francis Bridger, A Charmed Life: The Spirituality of Potterworld
      (Darton Longman & Todd, 2001)
      *William Patrick Day, Vampire Legends in Contemporary American
      Culture: What Becomes a Legend Most (University Press of Kentucky,
      *John Lawrence & Robert Jewett, The Myth of the American Superhero
      (Eerdmans, 2002)
      *Margaret Mackey, ed., Beatrix Potter's Peter Rabbit: A Children's
      Classic at 100 (Scarecrow, 2002)
      *Jennifer Schacker, National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in
      Nineteenth-Century England (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2003)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during 2003 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if
      they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year
      its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's
      Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to
      picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit
      or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the
      same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a
      borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of
      the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to
      books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant
      contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first
      published during the last three years (2001-2003) are eligible,
      including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship
      Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on
      other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general
      works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is
      three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      The winners of this year's awards will be announced at the banquet
      during Mythcon XXXV, to be held in Ann Arbor, Michigan, from July
      30th-August 2nd, 2004. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is
      available on the Society web site:


      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box
      320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....

      [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.