Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

25344Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced

Expand Messages
  • Oberhelman, D
    Jun 11, 2014

      The Mythopoeic Society                                

      PRESS RELEASE: June 9, 2014


      2014 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Announced:


      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

      Yangsze Choo, The Ghost Bride (William Morrow)

      Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane (William Morrow)

      Max Gladstone, Three Parts Dead (Tor)

      Mark H. Williams, Sleepless Knights (Atomic Fez Publishing)

      Helene Wecker, The Golem and the Jinni (Harper)


      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

      William Alexander, Ghoulish Song (Margaret K. McElderry)

      Holly Black, Doll Bones (Margaret K. McElderry)

      Joseph Bruchac, Killer of Enemies (Tu Books)

      Sara Beth Durst, Conjured (Walker Children’s)

      Robin McKinley, Shadows (Nancy Paulsen Books)


      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

      Mark Atherton, There and Back Again: J.R.R. Tolkien and the Origins of the Hobbit (I.B. Tauris, 2012)

      Robert Boenig, C.S. Lewis and the Middle Ages (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012)

      Jason Fisher, ed., Tolkien and the Study of His Sources: Critical Essays (McFarland, 2011)

      Alister McGrath, C.S. Lewis—A Life: Eccentric Genius, Reluctant Prophet (Tyndale House, 2013)

      Corey Olsen, Exploring J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012)


      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

      Umberto Eco and Alastair McEwan, trans., The Book of Legendary Lands (Rizzoli Ex Libris, 2013)

      Sandra J. Lindow, Dancing the Tao: Le Guin and Moral Development (Cambridge Scholars, 2012)

      G. Ronald Murphy, Tree of Salvation: Yggdrasil and the Cross in the North (Oxford Univ. Press, 2013)

      Michael Saler, As If: Modern Enchantment and the Literary Prehistory of Virtual Reality (Oxford Univ. Press, 2012)

      David Sandner, Critical Discourses of the Fantastic, 1712-1831 (Ashgate, 2011)


      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2013 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.


      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2011–2013) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.


      The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon 45, to be held from August 8-11, 2014, at Wheaton College, Norton, Massachusetts. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site: http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/


      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator: David D. Oberhelman, awards@...



    • Show all 5 messages in this topic