Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

24659Re: [mythsoc] Call for Nominations: 2014 Mythopoeic Awards

Expand Messages
  • Doug Kane
    Nov 13, 2013
    • 0 Attachment
      This was meant to be a private message.  Sorry about that!

      From: Doug Kane
      Sent: Wednesday, November 13, 2013 9:02 PM
      Subject: Re: [mythsoc] Call for Nominations: 2014 Mythopoeic Awards


      Greetings, David.  Allow to nominate for the Inklings Studies Award, for the last time, Jason Fisher's worthy Tolkien and the Study of his Sources (McFarland 2011). 

      Sent: Tuesday, November 12, 2013 3:36 AM
      Subject: [mythsoc] Call for Nominations: 2014 Mythopoeic Awards


      Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2014 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 10, 2014; please send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during in 2012 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia.  Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award.  The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published from 2010 through 2012 are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      Winners of the 2014 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 45th Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 45), to be held August 8-11, 2014 at Wheaton College, Norton, Massachusetts..

      Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

      David Oberhelman
      306 Edmon Low Library
      Oklahoma State University
      Stillwater, OK 74078
      Email: awards@...

      For a list of previous winners and more information, please visit the Mythopoeic Awards section of the site

      No virus found in this message.
      Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
      Version: 2014.0.4158 / Virus Database: 3629/6814 - Release Date: 11/06/13

      No virus found in this message.
      Checked by AVG - www.avg.com
      Version: 2014.0.4158 / Virus Database: 3629/6814 - Release Date: 11/06/13

    • Show all 3 messages in this topic