Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

24512Re: [mythsoc] 2013 Mythopoeic Award Winners Announced

Expand Messages
  • Alana Joli Abbott
    Jul 14 8:34 PM
      Congratulations to the winners! I hope everyone who attended the awards ceremony had a lovely time. :)


      On Sun, Jul 14, 2013 at 10:42 PM, Oberhelman, D <d.oberhelman@...> wrote:



      PRESS RELEASE: July 14, 2013


      2013 Mythopoeic Award Winners


      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

      Ursula Vernon, Digger, vols. 1-6 (Sofawolf Press)


      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

      Sarah Beth Durst, Vessel (Margaret K. McElderry)


      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

      Verlyn Flieger, Green Suns and Faërie: Essays on J.R.R. Tolkien (Kent State Univ. Press, 2012)


      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

      Nancy Marie Brown, Song of the Vikings: Snorri and the Making of Norse Myths (Palgrave Macmillan, 2012)


      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2012 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings.” Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility.  Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.


      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams

      that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2010–2012) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.


      The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon 44 in East Lansing, Michigan, on July 14, 2013. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:




      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also

      listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator:


      David D. Oberhelman

      306 Edmon Low Library

      Oklahoma State University Library

      Stillwater, OK 74078




      Alana Joli Abbott, Freelance Writer and Editor (http://www.virgilandbeatrice.com)
      Author of Into the Reach and Departure http://tinyurl.com/aja-redemption
      Author of interactive novel Choice of Kung Fu http://tinyurl.com/aja-cog 
      Contributor to Haunted: 11 Tales of Ghostly Horror http://tinyurl.com/haunted-aja
      Contributor to Tales of Rosuto Shima http://tinyurl.com/aja-talesrs
      For updates on my writings, join my mailing list at http://groups.google.com/group/alanajoliabbottfans
    • Show all 2 messages in this topic