Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

216232011 Mythopoeic Awards -- Call for Nominations and Volunteers

Expand Messages
  • Oberhelman, D
    Dec 1 3:29 PM

      2011 Mythopoeic Awards Announcement


      Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2011 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.)  The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 10, 2011; please send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail.  Authors or publishers may not nominate their own books for any of the awards.  Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards.  The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.


      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”.  Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year.  Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.


      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia.  Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award.  The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.


      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship.  For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years.


      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy.  The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.


      Winners of the 2011 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 42nd Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon XLII), to be held July 15-18, 2011 at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, NM.


      Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.


      David Oberhelman

      306 Edmon Low Library

      Oklahoma State University

      Stillwater, OK 74078

      Email: awards@...


      Web: http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

    • Show all 2 messages in this topic