Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

2005 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    Date: Sat, 21 May 2005 18:33:15 -0700 From: Eleanor Farrell PRESS RELEASE - May 20, 2005 2005 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Mythopoeic
    Message 1 of 1 , May 21, 2005
      Date: Sat, 21 May 2005 18:33:15 -0700
      From: Eleanor Farrell <emfarrell@...>

      PRESS RELEASE - May 20, 2005
      2005 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature
      Kage Baker, The Anvil of the World (Tor)
      Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell (Bloomsbury USA)
      Elizabeth Hand, Mortal Love (HarperCollins)
      Patricia A. McKillip, Alphabet of Thorn (Ace)
      Gene Wolfe, The Wizard Knight, consisting of The Knight and The Wizard
      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature
      Kevin Crossley-Holland, Arthur Trilogy, consisting of The Seeing Stone,
      At the Crossing Places, and King of the Middle March (Scholastic/Arthur
      A. Levine Books)
      Nancy Farmer, Sea of Trolls (Atheneum)
      Monica Furlong, Trilogy consisting of Wise Child, Juniper, and Colman
      (Random House)
      Garth Nix, The Abhorsen Trilogy, consisting of Sabriel, Lirael: Daughter
      of the Clayr, and Abhorsen (Eos)
      Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky (HarperCollins)
      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies
      Jane Chance, ed, Tolkien the Medievalist (Routledge, 2003)
      Janet Brennan Croft, War and the Works of J.R.R. Tolkien (Praeger
      Publishers, 2004)
      Matthew Dickerson, Following Gandalf: Epic Battles and Moral Victory in
      The Lord of the Rings (Brazos Press, 2003)
      Doris T. Myers, Bareface: A Guide to C.S. Lewis's Last Novel (University
      of Missouri Press, 2004)
      Anne C. Petty, Tolkien in the Land of Heroes (Cold Spring Press, 2003)
      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies
      William Patrick Day, Vampire Legends in Contemporary American Culture:
      What Becomes a Legend Most (University Press of Kentucky, 2002)
      Jerry Griswold, The Meanings of Beauty and the Beast (Broadview Press, 2004)
      Stephen Thomas Knight, Robin Hood: A Mythic Biography (Cornell
      University Press, 2003)
      Teya Rosenberg, ed, Diana Wynne Jones: An Exciting and Exacting Wisdom
      (Lang, 2002)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during 2004 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if they
      stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year its final
      volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature
      honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books
      for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles
      of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult
      Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best
      suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions
      to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during
      the last three years (2002-2004) are eligible, including finalists for
      previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy
      Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the
      Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
      fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
      Studies award.

      The winners of this year's awards will be announced at the Tolkien 2005
      conference (incorporating Mythcon XXXVI) in Birmingham, England, from
      August 11-15, 2005. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is
      available on the Society web site:


      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486,
      San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.