Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

[Fwd: Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Finalists]

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    Message 1 of 1 , May 25, 2004
      > PRESS RELEASE: May 24, 2004
      > 2004 Mythopoeic Award Finalists
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature
      > *Lois McMaster Bujold, Paladin of Souls (Eos)
      > *Kij Johnson, Fudoki (Tor)
      > *Ursula K. Le Guin, Changing Planes (Harcourt)
      > *Patricia A. McKillip, In the Forests of Serre (Ace)
      > *Robin McKinley, Sunshine (Berkley)
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature
      > *Kate DiCamillo, The Tale of Despereaux (Candlewick Press)
      > *Clare Dunkle, The Hollow Kingdom (Holt)
      > *Cornelia Funke, Inkheart, translated from German by Anthea Bell (The
      > Chicken House)
      > *Shannon Hale, The Goose Girl (Bloomsbury USA)
      > *Terry Pratchett, The Wee Free Men (HarperCollins)
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies
      > *Jane Chance, ed., Tolkien the Medievalist (Routledge, 2003)
      > *Matthew Dickerson, Following Gandalf: Epic Battles and Moral Victory
      > in The Lord of the Rings (Brazos Press, 2003)
      > *John Garth, Tolkien and the Great War: The Threshold of Middle-earth
      > (Houghton Mifflin, 2003)
      > *Don W. King, C.S. Lewis, Poet: The Legacy of His Poetic Impulse (Kent
      > State University Press, 2001)
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies
      > *Mike Ashley, Algernon Blackwood: An Extraordinary Life (Carroll and
      > Graf, 2001)
      > *Francis Bridger, A Charmed Life: The Spirituality of Potterworld
      > (Darton Longman & Todd, 2001)
      > *William Patrick Day, Vampire Legends in Contemporary American
      > Culture: What Becomes a Legend Most (University Press of Kentucky,
      > 2002)
      > *John Lawrence & Robert Jewett, The Myth of the American Superhero
      > (Eerdmans, 2002)
      > *Margaret Mackey, ed., Beatrix Potter's Peter Rabbit: A Children's
      > Classic at 100 (Scarecrow, 2002)
      > *Jennifer Schacker, National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in
      > Nineteenth-Century England (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2003)
      > The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      > fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      > adults published during 2003 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      > Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      > earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if
      > they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year
      > its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's
      > Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to
      > picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit
      > or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the
      > same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a
      > borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the
      > committees.
      > The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      > on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions
      > to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during
      > the last three years (2001-2003) are eligible, including finalists for
      > previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy
      > Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the
      > Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
      > fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
      > Studies award.
      > The winners of this year's awards will be announced at the banquet
      > during Mythcon XXXV, to be held in Ann Arbor, Michigan, from July
      > 30th-August 2nd, 2004. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is
      > available on the Society web site:
      > http://www.mythsoc.org/awards.html
      > The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      > speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      > section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      > contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486,
      > San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.