Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

2003 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    Message 1 of 1 , May 20, 2003
      Eleanor Farrell wrote:
      > PRESS RELEASE: May 18, 2003
      > 2003 Mythopoeic Award Finalists
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature
      > *Ted Chiang, Stories of Your Life and Others (Tor)
      > *Nina Kiriki Hoffman, A Fistful of Sky (Ace)
      > *Ellen Kushner and Delia Sherman, The Fall of the Kings (Bantam Spectra)
      > *Patricia A. McKillip, Ombria in Shadow (Ace)
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature
      > *Holly Black, Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale (Simon & Schuster)
      > *Michael Chabon, Summerland (Miramax)
      > *Nancy Farmer, House of the Scorpion (Atheneum)
      > *Neil Gaiman, Coraline (HarperCollins)
      > *Vivian Vande Velde, Heir Apparent (Harcourt)
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies
      > *George Clark and Daniel Timmons, eds., J.R.R. Tolkien and His
      > Literary Resonances (Greenwood, 2000)
      > *Michael D.C. Drout, ed., Beowulf and the Critics by J.R.R. Tolkien
      > (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2002 )
      > *Don W. King, C.S. Lewis, Poet: The Legacy of His Poetic Impulse
      > (Kent State University Press, 2001)
      > *Peter J. Schakel, Imagination and the Arts in C.S. Lewis: Journeying
      > to Narnia and Other Worlds (University of Missouri Press, 2002)
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies
      > *Graham Anderson, Fairytale in the Ancient World (Routledge, 2000)
      > *Francis Bridger, A Charmed Life: The Spirituality of Potterworld
      > (Darton Longman & Todd, 2001)
      > *Thomas C. Peters, The Christian Imagination: G.K. Chesterton on the
      > Arts (Ignatius Press, 2000)
      > *G. Peter Winnington, Vast Alchemies: The Life and Work of Mervyn
      > Peake (Owen, 2000)
      > The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      > fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      > adults published during 2002 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      > Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      > earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if
      > they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year
      > its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's
      > Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to
      > picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit
      > or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the
      > same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a
      > borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of
      > the committees.
      > The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to
      > books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant
      > contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first
      > published during the last three years (2000-2002) are eligible,
      > including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship
      > Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on
      > other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general
      > works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is
      > three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.
      > The winners of this year's awards will be announced at the banquet
      > during Mythcon XXXIV, to be held in Nashville, Tennessee, from July
      > 25-28th. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on
      > the Society web site:
      > http://www.mythsoc.org/awards.html
      > The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      > speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      > section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      > contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box
      > 320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.