Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

[Fwd: 2002 Mythopoeic Award winners]

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    Message 1 of 1 , Aug 3, 2002
      > PRESS RELEASE: August 3, 2002
      > 2002 Mythopoeic Award Winners
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature:
      > Lois McMaster Bujold, THE CURSE OF CHALION (HarperCollins/Eos, 2001)
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature:
      > Peter Dickinson, THE ROPEMAKER (Random House/Delacorte, 2001)
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies:
      > Verlyn Flieger and Carl F. Hostetter, eds., TOLKIEN'S LEGENDARIUM:
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies:
      > G. Ronald Murphy, THE OWL, THE RAVEN, AND THE DOVE (Oxford University
      > Press, 2001)
      > The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      > fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      > adults published during 2001 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      > Inklings.".Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      > earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if
      > they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year
      > its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's
      > Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to
      > picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of THE HOBBIT
      > or THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the
      > same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a
      > borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the
      > committees.
      > The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      > on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions
      > to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during
      > the last three years (1999-2001) are eligible, including finalists for
      > previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy
      > Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the
      > Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
      > fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
      > Studies award.
      > The winners of this year's awards were announced at the banquet during
      > Mythcon XXXIII, which was held in Boulder, Colorado, from July
      > 26-29th, 2002. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is
      > available on the Society web site:
      > http://www.mythsoc.org/awards.html
      > A complete list of finalists for the awards, text of recent acceptance
      > speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      > section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      > contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486,
      > San Francisco, CA 94132-0486. E-mail: emfarrell@....
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.