Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

2002 Mythopoeic Awards - Call for Nominations & Volunteers

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    2002 Mythopoeic Awards - Call for Nominations & Volunteers Members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to join the committees which choose the Society s
    Message 1 of 1 , Dec 11, 2001
      2002 Mythopoeic Awards - Call for Nominations & Volunteers

      Members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to join the committees
      which choose the Society's annual Fantasy and Scholarship Awards,
      and/or to nominate eligible books. Nominations (no more than five
      books for each award, please) and requests to serve on the selection
      committees should be sent by February 28, 2002 to the awards
      administrator, Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486, San Francisco, CA
      94132-0486, emfarrell@.... You must be a current member of
      the Mythopoeic Society to nominate books or serve on the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during 2001 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if
      they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year
      its final volume appears. Last year's winner was _The Innamorati_ by
      Midori Snyder.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books
      for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for
      beginning readers), in the tradition of _The Hobbit_ or _The
      Chronicles of Narnia_. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same
      as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a
      borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of
      the committees. Last year's winner was _Aria of the Sea_by Dia

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to
      books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant
      contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first
      published during the last three years (1999-2001) are eligible,
      including finalists for previous years. Last year's winner was
      _J.R.R. Tolkien: Author of the Century_ by Tom Shippey.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given
      to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings
      tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
      fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the
      Inklings Studies award. Last year's winner was _King Arthur in
      America_ by Alan Lupack and Barbara Tepa Lupack.

      Volunteers for the committees must state their willingness to read
      all the finalists, and also state whether or not they are willing to
      be included on an address list to be distributed among the committee
      for purposes of discussion. For each committee, Eleanor will be
      sending out lists of nominees in early March, from which you must
      pick five books that you would like to see as finalists. Your choices
      must be returned to Eleanor by May 15; she will then tabulate the
      vote and inform the committee of the five finalists. These five are
      the books you must read (or re-read) by the final voting deadline of
      July 15. Please volunteer, and come to hear the winners announced at
      the banquet during Mythcon XXXIII, to be held in Boulder, Colorado
      from July 26-29, 2002.

      A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the
      Society web site:

      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line

      Eleanor M. Farrell, Awards Administrator
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.