Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

FWD: 2001 Mythopoeic Awards

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    ... From: emfarrell@earthlink.net Date: Mon, 1 Jan 2001 14:51:35 -0800 Announcement: 2001 Mythopoeic Awards Members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to
    Message 1 of 1 , Jan 1, 2001
      ----- Forwarded Message Starts Here -----

      From: emfarrell@...
      Date: Mon, 1 Jan 2001 14:51:35 -0800

      Announcement: 2001 Mythopoeic Awards

      Members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to join the committees which
      choose the Society's annual Fantasy and Scholarship Awards, and/or to
      nominate eligible books. Nominations (no more than five books for each
      award, please) and requests to serve on the selection committees should be
      sent by February 28, 2001 to the awards administrator, Eleanor M. Farrell,
      P.O. Box 320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy
      novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published
      during 2000 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". Reissues
      (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no earlier edition was a
      finalist. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own;
      otherwise, the series is eligible the year its final volume appears. Last
      year's winner was _Tamsin_ by Peter S. Beagle.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for
      younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning
      readers), in the tradition of _The Hobbit_ or _The Chronicles of Narnia_.
      Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature
      award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for
      will be decided by consensus of the committees. Last year's winner was _The
      Folk Keeper_ by Franny Billingsley.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on
      Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to
      Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last
      three years (1998-2000) are eligible, including finalists for previous
      years. Last year's winner was _Roverandom_ by J.R.R. Tolkien, edited by
      Christina Scull and Wayne G. Hammond.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to
      scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to
      more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of
      eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award. Last year's
      winner was _Strange and Secret Peoples: Fairies and Victorian
      Consciousness_ by Carole G. Silver.

      Volunteers for the committees must state their willingness to read all the
      finalists, and also state whether or not they are willing to be included on
      an address list to be distributed among the committee for purposes of
      discussion. For each committee, Eleanor will be sending out lists of
      nominees in early March, from which you must pick five books that you would
      like to see as finalists. Your choices must be returned to Eleanor by May
      15; she will then tabulate the vote and inform the committee of the five
      finalists. These five are the books you must read (or re-read) by the final
      voting deadline of July 15. Please volunteer, and come to hear the winners
      announced at the banquet during Mythcon XXXII, to be held in Berkeley,
      California from August 3-6, 2001.
      A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web


      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line

      Eleanor M. Farrell
      Mythopoeic Awards Administrator
      E-mail: emfarrell@...
      P.O. Box 320486
      San Francisco, CA 94132-0486
      MythSoc web site: http://www.mythsoc.org


      ----- Forwarded Message Ends Here -----
      Joan Marie Verba verba001@...
      Mythopoeic Press Secretary, Mythopoeic Society
      List Administrator for DocEx, Mythsoc,
      MNSCBWI, and MNSCREENW lists
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.