Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Fwd: 2000 Mythopoeic Awards

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    ... From: Eleanor Farrell Date: Sun, 5 Dec 1999 17:45:33 -0800 2000 Mythopoeic Awards ... Members of the Mythopoeic Society are
    Message 1 of 1 , Dec 5 10:21 AM
      ----- Forwarded message begins here -----
      From: Eleanor Farrell <emfarrell@...>
      Date: Sun, 5 Dec 1999 17:45:33 -0800

      2000 Mythopoeic Awards

      Members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to join the committees which
      choose the Society's annual Fantasy and Scholarship Awards, and/or to
      nominate eligible books. Nominations (no more than five books for each
      award, please) and requests to serve on the selection committees should be
      sent by February 29, 2000 to the awards administrator:

      Eleanor M. Farrell
      P.O. Box 320486
      San Francisco, CA 94132-0486
      E-mail: emfarrell@...

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy
      novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published
      during 1998 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the Inklings". Reissues
      (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no earlier edition was a
      finalist. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own;
      otherwise, the series is eligible the year its final volume appears. Last
      year's winner was _Stardust_ by Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for
      younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning
      readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules
      for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award.
      The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be
      decided by consensus of the committees. Last year's winner was the _Dark
      Lord of Derkholm_ by Diana Wynne Jones.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on
      Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to
      Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last
      three years (1996-1998) are eligible, including finalists for previous
      years. Last year's winner was _C.S. Lewis: A Companion & Guide_ by Walter
      Hooper. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is
      given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings
      tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The
      period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.
      Last year's winner was _A Century of Welsh Myth in Children's Literature_
      by Donna R. White.

      Volunteers for the committees must state their willingness to read all the
      finalists, and also state whether or not they are willing to be included on
      an address list to be distributed among the committee for purposes of
      discussion. For each committee, Eleanor will be sending out lists of
      nominees in early March, from which you must pick five books that you would
      like to see as finalists. Your choices must be returned to Eleanor by May
      15; she will then tabulate the vote and inform the committee of the five
      finalists. These five are the books you must read (or re-read) by the final
      voting deadline of July 15. Please volunteer, and come to hear the winners
      announced at Mythcon XXXI, to be held in Hawaii from August 18-21.

      ------ Forwarded message ends here ------

      * Joan Marie Verba verba001@... *
      * Mythopoeic Press Secretary *
      * List Administrator for Doctor's Exchange list, Mythopoeic Society list* *
      * MNSCBWI list, MNSCREENW list *
      * http://www.sff.net/people/Joan.Marie.Verba *
      * http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/FTL_Publications *
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.