Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

612007 Mythopoeic Awards Announcement

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    Dec 18, 2006
      2007 Mythopoeic Awards Announcement

      Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate
      books for the 2007 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on
      any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make
      nominations.) Deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations
      (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 15, 2007;
      send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below)
      via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors or publishers may not
      nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the
      Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society
      does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies "the
      spirit of the Inklings". Books not selected as finalists in the year
      after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series
      are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes
      eligible the year its final volume appears.

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for
      younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning
      readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia.
      Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature
      award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for
      will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make
      significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books
      first published during the previous three years are eligible, including
      finalists for previous years.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to
      scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or
      to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of
      eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

      Winners of the 2007 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 38th
      Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 38), to be held from August 3-6,
      2007, at the Clark Kerr Conference Center in Berkeley, California.

      Please contact Eleanor Farrell, the Awards Administrator, to nominate
      books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic
      Awards process.

      Eleanor Farrell
      Mythopoeic Awards Administrator
      P.O. Box 320486
      San Francisco, CA 94132-0486
      E-mail: emfarrell@...