Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

562006 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    Jun 5, 2006
    • 0 Attachment
      The Mythopoeic Society
      PRESS RELEASE: June 5, 2006
      2006 Mythopoeic Award Finalists

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
      Margaret Atwood, The Penelopiad (Canongate)
      Lois McMaster Bujold, The Hallowed Hunt (Eos)
      Neil Gaiman, Anansi Boys (William Morrow)
      Tanith Lee, Metallic Love (Bantam Spectra)
      Tim Pratt, The Strange Adventures of Rangergirl (Bantam Spectra)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature
      Holly Black, Valiant (Simon & Schuster)
      Diane Duane, Wizards at War (Harcourt)
      Clare B. Dunkle, By These Ten Bones (Henry Holt)
      Jonathan Stroud, The Bartimaeus Trilogy, consisting of The Amulet of
      Samarkand, The Golem's Eye,
      and Ptolemy's Gate (Hyperion)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies
      Marjorie Burns, Perilous Realms: Celtic and Norse in Tolkien's
      Middle-earth (University of Toronto Press, 2005)
      Verlyn Flieger, Interrupted Music: The Making of Tolkien's Mythology
      (Kent State University Press, 2005)
      Verlyn Flieger, ed., Smith of Wootton Major: Expanded Edition by J.R.R.
      Tolkien (HarperCollins, 2005)
      Wayne G. Hammond and Christina Scull, The Lord of the Rings: A Reader's
      (Houghton Mifflin, 2005)
      Alan Jacobs, The Narnian: The Life and Imagination of C.S. Lewis
      (HarperSanFrancisco, 2005)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies
      Jerry Griswold, The Meanings of "Beauty and the Beast" (Broadview Press,
      Deborah O'Keefe, Readers in Wonderland: The Liberating Worlds of Fantasy
      Fiction from Dorothy to Harry Potter (Continuum, 2003)
      David R. Loy and Linda Goodhew, The Dharma of Dragons and Daemons:
      Buddhist Themes in Modern Fantasy (Wisdom, 2004)
      Jennifer Schacker, National Dreams: The Remaking of Fairy Tales in
      Nineteenth-Century England
      (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2003)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during 2005 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      Inklings". Books are eligible for two years after publication if not
      selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from
      a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series
      becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic
      Fantasy Award for Children's Literature honors books for younger readers
      (from "Young Adults" to picture books for beginning readers), in the
      tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for
      eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award.
      The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be
      decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions
      to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during
      the last three years (2003-2005) are eligible, including finalists for
      previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy
      Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the
      Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
      fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
      Studies award.

      The winners of this year's awards will be announced during Mythcon
      XXXVII, to be held from August 4-7, 2006, in Norman, Oklahoma. A
      complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society
      web site:


      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486,
      San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....