Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

51[Fwd: 2005 Mythopoeic Awards]

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    Aug 19 8:12 AM
      -------- Original Message --------
      Subject: 2005 Mythopoeic Awards
      Date: Thu, 18 Aug 2005 19:18:07 -0700
      From: Eleanor Farrell <emfarrell@...>

      The Mythopoeic Society
      PRESS RELEASE: August 15, 2005

      2005 Mythopoeic Award Winners
      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature
      Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell (Bloomsbury USA)

      Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature
      Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky (HarperCollins)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies
      Janet Brennan Croft, War and the Works of J.R.R. Tolkien (Praeger
      Publishers, 2004)

      Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies
      Stephen Thomas Knight, Robin Hood: A Mythic Biography (Cornell
      University Press, 2003)

      The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      adults published during 2004 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if they
      stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year its final
      volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature
      honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to picture books
      for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles
      of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult
      Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best
      suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

      The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books
      on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions
      to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during
      the last three years (2002-2004) are eligible, including finalists for
      previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy
      Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the
      Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and
      fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
      Studies award.

      The winners of this year's awards were announced at the Tolkien 2005
      conference (incorporating Mythcon XXXVI) in Birmingham, England, on
      August 14, 2005. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is
      available on the Society web site:

      The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box 320486,
      San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....