Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

33[Fwd: 2002 Mythopoeic Awards finalists announced]

Expand Messages
  • Joan Marie Verba
    May 19, 2002
      > 2002 Mythopoeic Award Finalists
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Adult Literature
      > *Lois McMaster Bujold, The Curse of Chalion (Morrow/Avon)
      > *Neil Gaiman, American Gods (William Morrow)
      > *Sarah A. Hoyt, Ill Met by Moonlight (Ace)
      > *Ursula K. Le Guin, The Other Wind (Harcourt Brace)
      > *Tim Powers, Declare (William Morrow)
      > Mythopoeic Fantasy Award, Children's Literature
      > *Peter Dickinson, The Ropemaker (Delacorte)
      > *Diane Duane, The Wizard's Dilemma (Magic Carpet/Harcourt)
      > *Eva Ibbotson, Island of the Aunts (Puffin)
      > *Gail Carson Levine, The Two Princesses of Bamarre (HarperCollins)
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies
      > *George Clark and Daniel Timmons, eds., J.R.R. Tolkien and His
      > Literary Resonances (Greenwood)
      > *Verlyn Flieger and Carl F. Hostetter, eds., Tolkien's Legendarium:
      > Essays on the History of Middle-earth (Greenwood)
      > *Candice Fredrick and Sam McBride, Women Among the Inklings: Gender,
      > C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Charles Williams (Greenwood)
      > *Don W. King, C.S. Lewis, Poet: The Legacy of His Poetic Impulse
      > (Kent State University Press)
      > Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies
      > *Graham Anderson, Fairytale in the Ancient World (Routledge)
      > *Elizabeth Wanning Harries, Twice Upon a Time: Women Writers and the
      > History of the Fairy Tale (Princeton)
      > *G. Ronald Murphy, The Owl, the Raven & the Dove: The Religious
      > Meaning of the Grimms' Magic Fairy Tales (Oxford University Press)
      > *Christine Poulson, The Quest for the Grail: Arthurian Legend in
      > British Art 1840-1920
      > (Manchester University Press, dist. St. Martin's Press)
      > The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the
      > fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for
      > adults published during 2001 that best exemplifies "the spirit of the
      > Inklings". Reissues (such as paperback editions) are eligible if no
      > earlier edition was a finalist. Books from a series are eligible if
      > they stand on their own; otherwise, the series is eligible the year
      > its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's
      > Literature honors books for younger readers (from "Young Adults" to
      > picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit
      > or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the
      > same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a
      > borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of
      > the committees.
      > The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to
      > books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant
      > contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first
      > published during the last three years (1999-2001) are eligible,
      > including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship
      > Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on
      > other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general
      > works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is
      > three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.
      > The winners of this year's awards will be announced at the banquet
      > during Mythcon XXXIII, to be held in Boulder, Colorado, from July
      > 26-29th. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on
      > the Society web site:
      > http://www.mythsoc.org/awards.html
      > The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance
      > speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line
      > section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please
      > contact the Awards Administrator: Eleanor M. Farrell, P.O. Box
      > 320486, San Francisco, CA 94132-0486, emfarrell@....
    • Show all 2 messages in this topic