Groups, Updates, and Profiles
WHAT AND WHY
Over the past few months across Yahoo!, you may have noticed a new feature called "Updates", which is a way to share what you're doing on Yahoo! with your connections and to see what your connections are up to on Yahoo! as well.
Yesterday, this feature was introduced to Yahoo! Groups giving users the option of sharing their activity on Groups into their Updates feed on http://profiles.yahoo.com For example:
* A user posting pictures to a quilting group could share these pictures with their friends as well.
* A user who has posted to a travel group about the best rides at Disney World could let their connections know about this review in case they also had Disney plans.
* A user who has posted an answer to a tax question on an accounting group with public archives could in essence publish their answer to all their connections or anyone who comes across their profile.
For members, Updates is a way to offer more exposure to the content they have created and to effortlessly share with friends.
For moderators, Updates can drive new members and increase the level of activity in their groups.
* Updates allows an easy way to share your group updates with all your connections (ie. Updates are shown to your connection across Yahoo properties such as Yahoo Mail, Yahoo IM, Yahoo Profiles).
* Currently only photo updates are being published. In the upcoming weeks more update types such as message posts, polls, links etc. will be published. When you opt-in to this feature all your update types will be published as they become available.
* Updates is a feature that is fully opt-in per user per group (ie. you can opt-in in one group while remaining opted-out in another).
* Updates is defaulted off for all groups. No updates will be shared unless you explicitly opt-in.
* Updates is not supported for Closed groups, Adult (age restricted) groups, or users using an Alias (alternate profile for their group). In other words, it's not possible to opt-in for these groups.
* For groups that require membership to view content, only updates (ie. thumbnail, photo name etc.) to the content being posted will be sent and non-members will still be required to join the group before being able to view the content in detail (ie. full size photo etc.).
* You can delete any specific update you have published directly on your http://profiles.yahoo.com page
HOW IT WORKS
See the blog post, which include lots of useful screenshots:
FEEDBACK & HELP
Please leave your feedback on the blog as comments or, if you have ideas for improvements, post to the Suggestions Board:
If you believe you are experiencing a bug, contact Customer Care:
If you want advice or to discuss with other moderators, try one of the groups about Groups:
But please do NOT reply to this email. While we do try to read the messages to the Moderator Central Owner address, you generally will NOT get a response.