Loading ...
Sorry, an error occurred while loading the content.

Re: Patanjali Post Thoughts/No Thoughts/Bb

Expand Messages
  • satkartar7
    Hi Bobby, ... I like your webpage. Broad and succinct at the same time. Ashtanga takes in and organizes all of yoga and makes each limb more understandable by
    Message 1 of 6 , Apr 2, 2003
      Hi Bobby,

      > K: I am glad you brought up, that all
      > limbs of Ashtanga or Raja yoga should
      > be practiced. I know someone who
      > does only 1 limb: observing the
      > non-violent diet. Stops at second
      > limb because being deceitful is
      > failing Niyama and doesn't do the
      > rest at all and says she is an
      > Ashtanga yogi for 20 years
      > Bobby: Hi Karta:

      I like your webpage. Broad and
      succinct at the same time.

      Ashtanga takes in and organizes all
      of yoga and makes each limb more
      understandable by giving the larger

      It is like the musical octave where
      each note must have its observance
      for the fullness to resonate.

      As above, so below.

      Karta: yes, thanks Bobby,

      I do see it as whole too, it ALL
      has to be true, come together and
      resonate with the high notes too.

      And there are no short-cuts as to leave
      out to observe any of the limbs eg. ethics and replace it with deceit from at the limb of Niyama

      awareness-peace-love, Karta

      Bobby G.

      "satkartar7" <mi_nok@y...> wrote:
      > 8 Limbs Ashtanga Yoga limbs (sanskrit:
      > ashtau-eight, anga-limb) and is
      > structured around an experience of
      > supreme happiness, clarity and insight
      > samadhi, the 8th limb of Yoga.
      > This experience is inherent in every
      > human being and is accessible to
      > everyone. Around this central
      > experience are grouped seven
      > preliminary steps or limbs to
      > prepare and open us to this force
      > of freedom, truth and love that is
      > our true nature.
      > Every memory, thought, emotion and
      > sensation clouds and covers the
      > freedom inside of us.
      > The yogis discovered we need to
      > become empty before we can return
      > to our core. This experience of
      > emptiness is called dhyana, the
      > 7th limb of yoga. It is translated
      > as meditation.
      > Experiencing meditation is like
      > becoming aware of the vast empty
      > spaces between our thoughts and
      > desires. Discovering that emptiness
      > brings tremendous freedom as we
      > no longer need to be slaves to
      > our thoughts. Freedom comes when
      > we start to use our mind like a
      > tool rather than it using us as an
      > executor of all its crazy ideas.
      > Instead of identifying ourselves
      > with the mind we recognise we are
      > the self, this presence, this
      > awareness deep within us.
      > The yogis realised that in order to
      > stay in meditation a very strong
      > focus is needed. It is the nature of
      > the mind to attatch itself to
      > every object that arises. You might
      > sit to meditate when suddenly a
      > thought, memory or desire pops up
      > and immediately you are hooked into
      > it. Staying focused on one object
      > of choice without interruption for
      > an extended period of time is
      > single pointed awareness. This is
      > dharana, the 6th limb of Yoga.
      > Pratyahara, the 5th limb, is
      > turning inside, leading an internally
      > motivated life as opposed to
      > constantly being driven by our
      > senses. Focusing the mind becomes
      > possible when we become detached
      > from our desires and from our
      > aversions.
      > To release attachment one needs to
      > learn to observe and alter the
      > patterns of our breath.
      > This is perhaps on of the greatest discoveries the yogis made. They
      > recognised that breath and thought
      > move together. If you are angry or
      > depressed or desire something so
      > much that you suffer, you can alter
      > your breath pattern in a specific
      > way and the source of your
      > unhappiness can leave your mind
      > like a cloud disappearing on the
      > horizon. This is the 4th limb of
      > yoga, pranayama. Breath control
      > is only possible when the body is
      > light and strong.
      > The yogis found a way to first
      > purify and strengthen the body
      > and nervous system through series
      > of specific postures. These asana
      > comprise the 3rd limb of yoga.
      > Before asana is practised and to
      > stabilise its benefits certain
      > personal observances are adopted.
      > They form the 2nd limb, nyama and
      > are cleanliness, contentment,
      > simplicity, self study and the
      > acceptance of a Supreme Being.
      > Yama, the 1st limb instructs us on
      > our social responsibilities and
      > therefore helps us to live in
      > harmony in our communities and
      > pursue our goals. They are non
      > -violence, truthfulness, to not
      > steal, sexual restraints and non
      > greed.
      > "Practising all the aspects of Yoga
      > destroys the impurities so that
      > the light of Knowledge and
      > discrimination shines."
      > Patanjali's Yoga Sutra II.28
      > above from:
      > !.YAMA: attitudes toward our enviroment
      > 2.NIYAMA: attitudes towards selves
      > 3.ASANA: practice of body exercises
      > 4.PRANAYAMA: breathing exercises
      > 5.PRATYAHARA: restraint of senses
      > 6.DHARANA: right understanding
      > 7.DHYANA: attention, meditation
      > 8.SAMADHI: complete intergration
      > awareness-peace-love, Karta
      > from my page:
      > <http://santmat-meditation.net/iam>
    Your message has been successfully submitted and would be delivered to recipients shortly.