- Jan 12, 2005View SourceI guess it depends on WHY you are a vegetarian. For me, I don't eat meat, poultry or fish b/c I don't like the consistency or taste of the foods, so the 'veggie ' versions of these items do not really appeal to me b/c they have similar taste and texture to the real deal.
If one is a vegetarian for animal rights reasons, then eating the fake stuff is 100% Kosher....it tastes like meat, looks like meat, but no animal lost its life or suffered.
In a message dated 1/12/2005 9:49:11 AM Eastern Standard Time, phoenixpiano@... writes:
THAT'S not exactly Kosher.
I'll never understand why some "vegetarians" will look for products that are like meat. Doesn't sound like a real vegetarian to me.
The idea of putting something in my mouth with a consistency/taste/smell of meat, well, JHC, what else can I say other than make way while I run for the barf bucket.