(UK-US/tx) Confused By Veggie Foods ; Family Life
Q What does 'vegetarian' or 'suitable for vegetarians' mean?
A There isn't a single legal definition of the word 'vegetarian'. This
means there isn't one set of rules about when a food can be called
So what a 'vegetarian' food does or doesn't contain could vary from
product to product.
If a food is labelled vegetarian, this usually means that the food
doesn't contain any meat or animal-derived additives such as gelatine
(a gelling agent derived from animal ligaments, skins, tendons, bones
etc.) In the case of cheese, it usually means that animal-derived
rennet hasn't been used to make it.
Sam Montel is the Food Standards Agency's online nutrition expert and
a registered public health nutritionist.
She will be answering a different question about healthy eating every
week. To find out more about food, visit the Food Standards Agency's
website at www.eatwell.gov.uk
----- http://www.animalconcerns.org/ -----
More News Headlines! New Links -- 100 most recent links!
Events, E-Mail Lists, Jobs, Organizations, and Message Boards (Forums)
SEARCH for the item on Animalconcerns.org!
Animal Concerns News Service (RSS Feed):