21323Crazy as it wants to be
- Mar 15, 2014"the alligator is considered in the fish family”"reptiles that could presumably be consumed on Lenten Fridays include turtles, snakes, and tortoises. The bishops indicate that foods such as chicken broth, meat gravies or sauces, “as well as seasonings or condiments made from animal fat are technically not forbidden”ALLIGATOR OK TO EAT ON LENTEN FRIDAYS, ARCHBISHOP CLARIFIES
Catholic News Agency, Carl Bunderson, February 15, 2013
http://www.catholicnewsagency.com/news/alligator-ok-to-eat-on-lenten-fridays-archbishop-clarifies/******"moral theologians have traditionally taught that we should abstain from all animal-derived products (except foods such as gelatin, butter, cheese and eggs, which do not have any meat taste)."
[If taste is the determinant, what about mock meats that tastes like meat?]
QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT LENT AND LENTEN PRACTICES
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops